We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #77 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed Nov 8-10, king room. Priority status acknowledged at check in and upgraded to high floor. Service at check in very good as was all service throughout our stay. Location very good for public transit to anywhere.We bused to the wharf and walked to Union Square.Free wifi in the room a bit sporadic but a Starbucks about 50 feet down the street. For those not tethered to social media with the need to advise the world of their every move its not a deal breaker ! Room was on the small side but was clean,had little fridge and a decent flat screen with HBO. Bathroom small but clean.

Room Tip: higher the better and off Van Ness
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Vicky H,

It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team makes every effort to supply excellent service to our guests and to ensure the rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for your positive comments. I will certainly share them with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Higher rate for the room but lower service level. Staff are very pushy for tips specially in the restaurant. Room was just ok even though we were on the top floor. Excellent elevators for fast service. Staff would hide the newspapers under the counter and only give out if you asked for one. We find better results from the express locations. Front desk staff were very productive but not friendly or helpful. Don't recommend this one.

Stayed: November 2012
2  Thank RalphCramdonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear RalphCramdonCanada,

I can certainly understand your concerns. We will definitely share your comments with the restaurant and front desk staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very functional and comfortable hotel. Handily located for public transport with bus stops outside on routes to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. Also out to Golden Gate Bridge with one easy change. California Street Cable Car stop just aroung corner. Buy a MUNI Passport for $21 whiich allows 3 days travel on all public transport incuding cable cars. Available from the very helpful Concierge in the shop. For breakfast try the Village Cafe just around the back of the block. Looks a bit rough and ready but provides excellent choice at value prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear JackPoulton,

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco. Our location is perfect for accessing public transportation to see the city. Buying the MUNI pass was a great idea. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice rooms and nice views, room was clean, very busy check in, the main reason we stayed here was the location, 2 blocks from where our sons live, also can walk to many great places to see-
Grace Cathedral, from there see the small but very cool Cable Car museum.
There was an odd smell coming from the sink, close the drain, fill the sink, shut the bathroom door,
and all is good. My husband never noticed but it bothered me. Otherwise I would have given a higher rating. Bedding was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Sharon D,

It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from our hotel are great. The housekeepers strive to supply clean rooms and your experience is proof of that. The smell from the sink is disconcerting. There must be some problem with the trap. If you can reply with the room number you staying in, I can make certain this is taken care of for the next guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice and modern hotel with a great view of the city even though the windows hadn't been cleaned for ages. The room was very comfortable and clean and the only negative thing was the elevators making a quite loud and annoying sound which made it hard to sleep so ask for a room as far away from those and you should be fine.

1  Thank Johannes v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Johannes v.

Thank you for your comments. I agree, the views from this hotel are amazing. I am happy to announce that the windows are being cleaned and will be finished in a few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. Somewhat worn down and old, but clean. My room did not have a view of the bridge. My main complaint is that the location is very bad for walking around SF. There is a trolley line nearby (California St), but it is $6 per trip, so it got quite expensive. The hotel is not near any of the tourist attractions or Union Square.

The free wireless was plenty fast for email and web browsing. There is a charge for faster internet, but I didn't need it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Kelly B,

I am happy to report that the hotel is being updated and upgraded beginning in December. If you have a chance to visit us again, I am certain you will be surprised and pleased. I agree, the cable car can get expensive. If you visit the city again, purchase a MUNI pass. You receive unlimited rides on all buses, trolleys and cable cars (not BART), $14 for one day, $21 for three days and $27 for seven days. This pass opens up access to the entire city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed for 3 nights, 5th floor next to very noisy lift system, a lot of rooms in hotel are next to the lifts!!, if you get one - change it. Shabby hotel in great need of renovation. Room space adequate if a little scarce - telly didn't even work, not much space to put things. Bathroom ok and water hot. We had a poor view from our window, noisy location but we were in a city location which gave us excellent tram system access. Location a little on the rough side, places to eat nearby, get on and use tram, 3 day pass excellent value at $20. Used the naff pool once and once only, it is outside and cold, supposed to be heated! However towels are supplied free of charge. In a nutshell I wouldn't use this hotel again. However wow what a city San Fran is, loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear micwic,

It is disappointing to hear that your stay with us do not go well. I am very sorry about that. I hope you will have a chance to visit San Francisco again. The hotel is being updated and upgraded beginning in December. We are all excited about the positive changes that will be occurring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#103 of 229 in San Francisco
1,029 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4,009 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,768 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing