We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel - no complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #79 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - no complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here while in San Francisco for 5 days.

Hotel was very good. We were placed on the 22nd floor which offered a great view.

The location is excellent. You can easily travel to parts of SF with Bus stops right outside the hotel and a Cable car stop on California Street (which is next to the hotel). Buy a Muni Pass and travel the buses and cable cars as single trips on a cable car are $6 one way, but a 7 day pass is only $27. You can buy these from the Hotel's gift shop.

Breakfast was good. Offering Continental as well as hot (though 5 days of Scarmbled eggs got boring).

There is a pool on the 6th floor, but we never used it.

Rooms were well sized and clean. Beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a high floor when booking. Away from the street noise and much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFreeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear MrFreeperson,

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in San Francisco. That we supplied you with a comfortable and clean room is good to hear. Our housekeepers take pride in their work. I will make sure to show them your comments, as well as the restaurant staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    804
    408
    103
    60
See reviews for
423
587
120
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
durham, england
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour and we loved it. We were on the 21st floor and over looked the road but were not troubled by road noise at all and enjoyed seeing the city lit up at night from our window. The room itself was comfortable with the choice of soft or firmer pillows and we slept well. Location was good within easy reach of local buses or the famous cable cars. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on restaurant, there were several eating places nearby. All in all loved San Francisco and were happy with this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear littlemillie,

That you were happy with the hotel and loved the city is what we strive for. San Francisco is such a unique city, it sounds like you made the most of your time here. Hope you have the opportunity to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stayed this summer. I lived in San Francisco for 17 years and If I have not seen it all, I'll tell you I have seen a lot and this is the closest to perfection as you're going to get (for such a reasonable price of course).
The rooms have a nice scent, clean, modern, spacious and AMAZING VIEWS!!! Yes, it could be a bit noisy during business hours -but what do you expect for this city period??? I think it's part of the charm. As I mention earlier, this hotels offers great views, there is no physical posible way to have real awesome views unless you're within and or in the middle of the real action.
In my opinion this is a perfect location in many aspects. Beginning with the "troley" which is located literally around the corner, not one block, around the corner. If you're more advetures you may also catch the "muni" public transportion location in the front and across the street from hotel block. Van Ness is a great Street full of lots of wonderful endless intertainment such as restaurants, coffee shops, movie theater, museam, boutiques, music, etc... you named it and it's there or close enough to it.
Taxis are always there when needed. We call front desk and 10 minutes later we had a cap waiting for us at 3:30 AM
The only down side it's the parking price, quite expensive but you can always park at one of the many parking garages around that offer all day parking from a 1\3 of the price that you paid at the Holiday Inn garage.

Room Tip: Receptionist at the front desk are very pleasant and accomodating... We asked to be placed on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49EVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear 49EVW,

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay both in the city and the hotel. I will make certain the front desk staff sees your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The view from my room is a gas station. Need I say more? The street noise is 24/7 and quite loud. The room is very small. Closet space is at premium and I don't what we would do if my wife was here. I had to put the suitcase in the middle of the room since there is no room to put it. The room itself is nothing to brag about, quite shabby really.

The hotel is very big and always busy. You can't take the elevator to your room without stopping 2-3 times to pick up more passengers.

Service at the front desk was quite good but that does not offset the rest. I would not come back to this hotel if I could help it.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing Van Ness
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveydave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear daveydave12,

I am glad to hear that the front desk staff was good. I am sorry to hear that the rest of your experience with us was not. Some good news, the hotel is being updated and upgraded beginning in December. If you have an opportunity to stay with us again or to stop by next time your in the city, I am confident you will be pleased with the result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake charles louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway for a two day meeting that was held off site. The property is located on Van Ness St. and only a block from Polk St with lots of great restaurants.
The view was a city view however the windows were really dirty which I understand they were in the process of cleaning. Parking garage was easy to navigate and they did not have valet parking available.

Room Tip: i would definitely ask for a room on an upper floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graciegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear graciegirl,

Thank you for your comments. Yes, the views are fantastic and will be even better in a few weeks when all of the windows have be cleaned. It is surprising how long it takes to do this building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Arrived at 2100hrs after a long flight to be told that our non-smoking room that we had booked was no longer available & we were told only smoking rooms available take it or leave it. This is an old time Holiday Inn hotel from the 70's in desperate need of some renovation, carpet was stained and worn, and furnishings were tired and old fashion. Major construction work going on nearby (24hrs per day except Saturday night) which kept us awake. Asked to be moved but told that all rooms have same issue!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelexpert186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear travelexpert186338,

I do not believe you have placed your review for the correct hotel. The Holiday Inn Golden Gateway is a 100% non-smoking and there is no construction work taking place near the hotel. Please feel free to contact me, (Director of Rooms) to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed here twice for work this year. I had lots of free time during these trips, so this was a perfect location for me. I did not experience the outside noise like other reviwers did and I was not on a high floor.

The good -
Starbucks next door (in Wells Fargo Bank)
California St Cable car starts on corner
Bus stop right out front
Gift Shop sells multi-day MUNI passes (great way to see the city)
Great location to easily access other parts of the city
Plenty of restaurants around the corner on Polk St
Rooms have been very clean
Beds are super comfy
Coffee maker (that is NOT in the bathroom - which is really gross)
Mini fridge
Great city views
Parking garage with no charge for in & out access
Friendly staff at front desk
Free internet
Nice soap, shampoo, & conditioner
Strong shower pressure

The bad -
No in-room safe
No microwave to go with the mini fridge
Hotel & room decor is dated
Only one plug on desk lamp, none near bed
Parking cost $40 + tax per day...in line with the area, but still expensive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WifeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear WifeyG,

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The positives clearly outweighed the negatives. To address some of those concerns, beginning in December of this year the hotel is going to be updated. We will be putting safes in every room and additional plugs will be added. Next time you stay with us you may be able to experience one of these new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#87 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing