We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden oldy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Golden oldy.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here 3 nights as part of our West coast holiday. The hotel is in a great location, the cable car starts and ends just 50 yards away. The hotel is very clean and staff were helpful. The rooms were clean but a little old fashioned. We were on the top floor and the views out over San Fran were fantastic. The downside to our room as stated in other reviews was that we were near the elevators which you could hear all of the time, it sounded more like gusts of wind as the elevators went up and down and it does become a small irritation. I did mention it to reception and the lady did say they disable some of the elevators after 10pm. It's cheap and cheerful and served our needs, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear jam79,

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff. They really do care that the guests have a clean room and enjoy themselves while visiting the city. We will share your comments with them.
Some good news, the hotel will be undergoing a renovation at the end of this year. I hope you will have a chance to visit us next summer, we are confident that you will be pleased with the result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    839
    426
    105
    63
See reviews for
442
614
125
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first stop on our California trip, and yes the hotel is getting tired, and yes the windows were in need of a good clean to make the best of the city views from the upper floors, but the location is pretty good if you want away from Fishermans Wharf, and the cable car stop is great although it is the end of a line and the cars got pretty infrequent from early evening on, so we often walked rather than waited for a car coming home. Some good local places to eat, lots of good value breakfast choices nearby, and very pleasant and helpful staff on reception -and if you shop around you may find some rates that make this overall a good choice for a few nights in a wonderful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the side away from Van Ness - you can watch for the cable car coming down C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent the last four nights of a 3 week road trip in this hotel. Whilst it is a little way from Downtown, this hotel was perfect for our stay. Several great breakfast places close by and starbucks just next door to start the day. Swimming pool not really used as too cold and not the best location. Staff were friendly especially in the shop in the lobby. Rooms were spacious and the bathroom was clean and sizeable. Shuttle arranged to the airport was on time but a little fast on the way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Day 7 of our USA roadtrip. We arrived today in San Francisco to the Holiday Inn. The hotel is in a good location but is at the top of a hill so those who don't like to or can't walk should maybe consider another hotel. However, we found it to be brilliant. We had an upgraded room very high up with the most amazing views of Alcatraz and much more. The room was a good size and very well equipped. The hotel staff were polite, courteous and very welcoming. We found the underground carpark to be an added bonus. In terms of location Union Square is about ten minutes downhill. Fisherman's Wharf is about five minutes bus ride and the bus stops right outside the hotel. We were room only and the breakfast was expensive but there is deli about two blocks away which served coffee, croissants etc. Overall we found the Holiday Inn, Van Ness Avenue to be a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor on a corner so that you can get great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveJacqM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Room is crowded for a king bed and bathroom small. Old wood wardrobe in the corner not able to hang up long evening gown without touching floor. The hotel is showing its age. The worst thing was the loud traffic noise - I'm sure the windows are single pane. In this day and age the noise in the rooms is unacceptable as windows are capable of blocking out sound. Disappointing and will look for alternative next time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Philip D,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the outside noise had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is my third stay at this hotel. It is adjacent to the cable car stop on California St , and as it is the terminus for the line there is no problem with queues as with the lines from Fishermans Wharf area. Great view towards the bay if you are on the front and views over Nob Hill from the back of the hotel. Front can be noisy from the traffic and beware the rooms next to the lift shafts as there is a constant hum from the elevators. Buy a MUNI ticket from the gift shop for unlimited travel across San Francisco- helpful staff. Have never eaten in the hotel as there are a number of inexpensive restaurants and cafes on Polk St to the rear of the hotel , would especially recommend the Village cafe for breakfast. One thing to be aware of is the vagrants who seem to hang out in this area.

Room Tip: avoid room ending 06-09 , they are next to the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here as part of a group. The rooms were clean and tidy except for the first one. The toilet cistern hummed constantly and even though a plumber tried to fix it the noise was unacceptable. The Hotel changed the room to an equivalent without a problem. The location is very good, near to cable cars and lots of cafes and restaurants. Make sure you get a Passport day pass for the buses, trams and cable cars. Save lots of money that way. Reception could have a bit of a queue as they did seem a bit slow.

Room Tip: The ice making machines are in the corridors and could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
913 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing