We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,084)
Filter reviews
2,084 results
Traveler rating
475
954
466
112
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
954
466
112
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van ness cable car polk street around the corner california line california st outdoor pool fisherman's wharf corner room public transport muni pass high floor day pass great view of the city union square stayed here for nights golden gate
Filter
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 2,084 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This could be a good hotel if it had an update. It has single glazing so every police/fire/ambulance in San Francisco can be heard through the night. The fridge had to be switched off as it was noisy. The room was a decent size and clean but just looked dated. The positives are that it is next to a cable car route and the bus stops outside. There are a lot of homeless people in the area but they do not cause a problem or risk - feel sorry not fear. There are good bars and restaurants nearby if you do not want to go far to eat.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stoneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I've been there for ten days and it was OK. The stuff friendly and the rooms are clean. The (not included) breakfast is very American (lots of fat and sugar) and expensive. The whole furniture and the building itself needs a makeover, the last happened in the 70s apparently. But nevertheless for a couple of days this is a nice and not too expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Room in the upper floors have a very good view, specially on the north side.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnCycle_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This could be a good hotel if it had a update. It has single glazing so every police/fire/ambulance in San Francisco can be heard through the night. The fridge had to be switched off as it was noisy. The room was a decent size and clean but just looked dated. The positives are that it is next to a cable car route and the bus stops outside. There are a lot of homeless people in the area but they do not cause a problem or risk - feel sorry not fear. There are good bars and restaurants nearby if you do not want to go far to eat.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RichardRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything balances out. The good points for this hotel is the location (right beside the last stop for one of the cable car lines and quite a number of descent coffee shops and restaurants in the area), relatively clean, good sized rooms with unobstructed views of the city and the staff was moderately efficient and pleasant.

There are quite a number of vagrants who hang around the block or immediate vicinity. But this was true for most of downtown SF, at least this is what we observed during our visit. Both Union square and the wharf had its share of beggars, etc. The hotel has an "old" feel to it. Just manage expectations if you decide to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to take advantage of the view and have a quieter rest.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank All_Day_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I had one of my worst night in this hotel. It was so noisy from the street and the windows are not "noise-cancelling". And paying 43$ per day for the parking didn't help the mood. Luckily I didn't pay the full price for the room because I would have been very mad.
But the staff at the bar was very nice and we enjoyed walking from there to all different places and coming back with the cable car.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ormonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear ormonan,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am particularly appreciative that you mentioned our staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noises. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews