We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Good location but very tired hotel””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
uk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
““Good location but very tired hotel””
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This could be a good hotel if it had an update. It has single glazing so every police/fire/ambulance in San Francisco can be heard through the night. The fridge had to be switched off as it was noisy. The room was a decent size and clean but just looked dated. The positives are that it is next to a cable car route and the bus stops outside. There are a lot of homeless people in the area but they do not cause a problem or risk - feel sorry not fear. There are good bars and restaurants nearby if you do not want to go far to eat.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    839
    426
    105
    63
See reviews for
442
614
125
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I've been there for ten days and it was OK. The stuff friendly and the rooms are clean. The (not included) breakfast is very American (lots of fat and sugar) and expensive. The whole furniture and the building itself needs a makeover, the last happened in the 70s apparently. But nevertheless for a couple of days this is a nice and not too expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Room in the upper floors have a very good view, specially on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnCycle_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This could be a good hotel if it had a update. It has single glazing so every police/fire/ambulance in San Francisco can be heard through the night. The fridge had to be switched off as it was noisy. The room was a decent size and clean but just looked dated. The positives are that it is next to a cable car route and the bus stops outside. There are a lot of homeless people in the area but they do not cause a problem or risk - feel sorry not fear. There are good bars and restaurants nearby if you do not want to go far to eat.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything balances out. The good points for this hotel is the location (right beside the last stop for one of the cable car lines and quite a number of descent coffee shops and restaurants in the area), relatively clean, good sized rooms with unobstructed views of the city and the staff was moderately efficient and pleasant.

There are quite a number of vagrants who hang around the block or immediate vicinity. But this was true for most of downtown SF, at least this is what we observed during our visit. Both Union square and the wharf had its share of beggars, etc. The hotel has an "old" feel to it. Just manage expectations if you decide to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to take advantage of the view and have a quieter rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All_Day_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I had one of my worst night in this hotel. It was so noisy from the street and the windows are not "noise-cancelling". And paying 43$ per day for the parking didn't help the mood. Luckily I didn't pay the full price for the room because I would have been very mad.
But the staff at the bar was very nice and we enjoyed walking from there to all different places and coming back with the cable car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ormonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear ormonan,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am particularly appreciative that you mentioned our staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noises. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Totally enjoyed our stay...cable car right outside the hotel...make sure you get a "corner" room...ours was 2501...breathtaking views...Anthony at the front desk is a complete joy...don't let other reviews sway you...the staff is very courteous and helpful ...

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jayboynbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Hotel is a bit pricey for what you get but i understand that San Francisco is a expensive city. Having said that, the service could have been better. It seems like the hotel is older but have gone thru some renovations recently. Front desk staff was not too friendly and the housekeeping staff didnt speak any english so it was tough to ask for certain things during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Tyler Z,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service our staff provided. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
913 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 228 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing