We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, need to work on deep cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, need to work on deep cleaning”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Loved the priority club upgrade to king size bed and room with fridge as well as the location of the hotel. When we first checked into the room we noticed the bathroom was not cleaned very well. There were stains on the toilet. It also appears that the cleaners were too short to reach the top of the walls as the top corners were dirty enough that when a wet finger was drawn through the area it left a line in the "scum". The vent was also full of dirt. The stairway exit had the same garbage in it for a week!
A good deep cleaning would do wonders.
Fitness center could definitely be larger given the size of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papabear192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    1,643
    891
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,131
1,300
106
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford,Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

After a disastourous check in I.E.given the wrong room so woke a person up tring to open the room door.But apart from that everything was fine,great location.within walking distance from the wharfe.I can thoroughly recomend the Alcatraz tour well worth the money, very well organised.plus the cable car ride.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Our room turned out to be in the 'Beach' Annex and despite some previous comments, it is about 200 yards and 5 minutes or so away from the main building. I didn't however, appreciate having to trek back there to check out at the end of our stay - how about manning the desk in the annex building folks?

The overall feel of the decor and furnishings is somewhat dated, the hallway lighting fixtures are pretty tired for one thing. Our room though was more than adequate, bedding and bathroom linens etc were well up to modern HI standards, even if the fixtures weren't. Some periodic external noise (hey this is a big city) but we enjoyed our stay and found the location to be perfect - a few minutes walk from the Cable Car and the streetcars.

Essentially we slept and recovered from long days out enjoying the stunning and captivating city. Our encounters with the staff were uniformly positive and even though there were some aspects that weren't up to a higher standard, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel at the right price.

One excellent touch that was appreciated was the EZ board computer that allowed us to log in and print our airline boarding cards on the morning of our departure.

I think there have been experiences at this hotel with questionable hi speed internet access - just to advise that I had a brain fade and forgot about the WLAN button on my notebook and could not get a signal. The HI Front Desk redirected me to their free helpdesk (the service provider) who were highly efficient and personable and were able to get my connection up and running. I had no problems over the three days getting an excellent wifi connection with consistent quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf for 3 nights. On arrival there was no booking confirmed for us - this was promptly resolved by Mary on Reception who was fantastic. Check-in process was faultless and very professional.

Frustration 1 - After parking our car in the garage, we had to walk around the corner to the Flagship building to get to our accommodation - this was OK, but a little strange.

Frustration 2 - You have to use your guest room card to access the guest lifts in the flagship building. This is fine and understandable, however most of the time the card would not open the lift, and we would have to wait for another guest to come down in the lift to be able to catch it back up - which somewhat defeats the idea of the card security system they have in place.

The bedroom itself was fine - once we could get in!!!

Frustration 3 - the room card would activate our lock to open the door, but the lock was clearly faulty, and would sometimes let us in first or second try and on other occasions we would have to swipe it 30-40 times to be able to get access to our room. I did report this to Reception before we left, so hopefully the next guest doesn't have the same issue as we did!

Two large beds - with a choice of soft or firm pillows (very nice!). Spacious bathroom and internet access if you obtained the code from reception. Standards of cleanliness were good also.

All in all the stay was a pleasant one, and the hotel is in such a good location to visit Pier 39 and catch a tram. It's in walking distance of Lombard Street and Alcatraz departures from Pier 33. The area has a lot of good restaurants, bars and diners.

The staff we came in to contact with were all very friendly and helpful - but special thanks must go to Mary on Reception for sorting out our accommodation / booking confirmation so efficiently and professionally. Thanks Mary!

I would consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Part of our holiday consisted of four nights at the Holiday Inn, Fishermans Wharf. The hotel is ok and functional for our needs but is in need of some updating. It does not follow suit of some other Holiday Inn's in other parts of the world. Our room was a decent size with a comfortable beds but just lacked some inviting modern furnishings.

The hotel reception staff were quite helpful and assisted us in printing off some emailed material for us. We did encounter some night time noise from the occupants in the room above. Due to a disrupted nights sleep and the possibility of more, we mentioned this to reception but were advised they could do nothing but move us!! We only had one night left so decided to stick with our room. It does seem that the area becomes a party town on the weekends which is fun to experience but may impact on you if you are wanting a relaxing quiet stay.

The location is good for Fishermans Wharf, the piers and nearby activities, and other tourist attractions. It is possible to explore further afield on foot (which may involve some of those hills!!) ie walking to China Town, Union Square etc, but it does take considerable time and not for the less active person! A good option is to use the open top hop-on hop-off bus 2 day bus tour which has a couple of stops near to the hotel. This makes exploring the entire area, inc Golden Gate bridge very accessible, interesting and easy.

** Top tip for breakfast is the nearby Beach street Grill/Cafe ** It is only streets away and does not not anything special from the outside but it is pure indulgence for a fab breakfast and an extensive menu. The staff are so amazingly friendly and chatty but not too intrusive. Constant coffee top ups too, with 'Peets coffee' which we discovered is just the best! The cafe was used by locals and had a nice relaxing atmosphere. You must give it a try!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWEnglandTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed here and it was a very pleasant hotel. I just want to advise others who are doing a train trip around the US not to be afraid of using public transport. I caught the street car from fisherman wharf to the BART where I caught a train to West Oakland CA and bus to the approx 100 metres from the train station. Admittedly West Oakland isn't the best area but if you make that trip during the day you can save a few dollars. All up, it cost something like $3.50 instead of a $40-$50 taxi ride. Well worth it and I was solo female travelling alone.

As for the hotel, it was well placed, easy location for cable cars, street cars or walking distance. Rooms were excellent, quiet. I didnt use the restaurant but they're having to compete with excellent eateries outside the hotel. You're spoilt for choice especially if you want seafood chowder...excellent!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monday161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro New Orleans
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a good value and great location. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the location was excellent. The only issue I had was that my husband and I were traveling on our anniversary and the hotel was not able to get us a King bed. So we had a room with two doubles - not very romantic. One night I awoke to my husband sleeping in the other bed...it's our anniversary and we're sleeping in separate beds! But other than that, I think it's a good value and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chercaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3,896 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing