We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base hotel, loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #85 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 28, 2005

The Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf is a great little hotel within walking distance to nearly all the main attractions in San Francisco....Alcatraz, Golden Gate etc
There are lots of shops and restaurants near by and this hotel is such a good base for anyone wishing to explore San Francisco.
Hotel staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough to help us. Theres a great Dennys Diner at the Holiday inn just a few mins round the corner and its open 24hrs which is great when youve got jet lag!!
I would highly recommend this hotel and its such good value for money.

12  Thank Todd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,164 - 3,170 of 3,915 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2005

We stayed three nights on the fifth floor which they gave us without asking for being Priority Club members. There was some street noise as our room faced an alley. There was a limited view of the bay.
Other than the street noise the room was very quiet.

We had a lot of trouble with the front desk and later heard someone else having problems also. AAA book advertised free parking in November, which the front desk did not want to give us. After talking for several minutes they xeroxed the ad and gave us the free parking but said the ad had expired even though it clearly stated Nov.-Jan.31, 2006. and that they were doing us a favor. At $32 a day for parking we felt justified in pressing the issue.

The following day we realized we were being charged a different rate than was quoted by phone when we made the reservation. The difference was only $7.00 but the lower rate included a free buffet breakfast. The desk clerk (a different one than the previous day) did not want to give us the lower rate, but after several minutes she took the AAA book and xeroxed the same page which had the lower rate and free breakfast and changed the rate and gave us breakfast coupons. The breakfast menu is expensive but for $4.00 extra with the coupon you get the full buffet with omelets cooked to order etc.

After checking out we realized we had left a windbreaker jacket on the bed. We called but Lost and Found didn't have it. It either wasn't turned in or someone along the line kept it. This was quite annoying as it wasn't an expensive jacket but was brand new. Good location but unfriendly front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank coldsprings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2005

We arrived at the hotel for our one day tour of the wharf and were informed that there was a computer glitch and even though we had reservations and had already paid and had an itinerary # they had no room. They then told us we would be transferred to the Holiday Inn downtown. We only had one day there and wanted to be WALKING distance to the Wharf. They sent us several miles away. The room was dinky, located next to an elevator where you can hear everyone getting off. I called and requested a change due to location and size of bed with no help. They said this was what we requested. We had a tiny full size bed, not the queen I'd requested,the flattest pillows I have ever seen, and everything was 1980's decor. A man with a key walked in on us after arrival. A group of loud foreigners were next door and up until 1:30AM. I called the front desk to request ear plugs but surprise no help. I know I didn't ask for a small bed, flat pillows, a dated noisy room miles from my destination. and a group of loud partiers. Holiday Inn needs to take better care of consumers they screw up on. Our $ was refunded but our one day ruined. Beware travelers!

7  Thank Hessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

We stayed here in September 2005 for 3 nights as part of Virgin's "King to the Road" tour.

The location was pretty good, only 5 min walk to the seafront. The rooms were clean, fairly big with 2 double beds, tv, air con. The bathroom was tidy and sufficient for 2 people. The only bad thing about the room was the smell of cigarettes coming under the door from the corridor. We were on the ground floor, and all rooms were non-smoking however we were at the end next to a fire exit where people smoked all night!

Our car parking pass never worked once to get in/out of the car park. We got a free t-shirt and some 2 for 1 drink vouchers when we checked in, was was quick and easy.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monopot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2005

We stayed for 6 nights late August/early September. We asked for and got a free upgrade to an executive room on the fifth floor. There were 2 free internet PCs available for general use (often with a queue to use them, but worthwhile).
Our room was large with a nice view of the bay and the bridge. There was some noise from the night-club opposite, but we chose to leave our window open.
The breakfast buffet in the hotel was adequate but rather expensive so we crossed the road for breakfast every day which was much better and very convenient.
The room was clean and very well equipped with fridge and tea/coffee making.
With perfect weather we had an excellent time and loved the city and the Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My family and I stayed here as part of a tour of three cities including New York !!!! and this hotel was the middle part of our trip. The room was as described in another review tatty and not very clean and that best describes the room we were given. Our room also backed onto the service delivery area where not only did we hear traffic we also had no view and staff wandering past intermittently meant that we had to keep the curatins. The staff at breakfast hovered when it came close to 10.45 ie closing time at 11am awaiting the check being cleared thankfully the kids ate free but this was more expensive that in San Diego where we later stayed. The location is the best thing about this hotel and thats it !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePhotographer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in late September. Our room was on the executive floor and had view of Alcatraz in the distance. The room was comfortable, with queen beds and a microwave. However, the room could have been better cleaned, and it was not double glazed, so there was a certain amount of noise from air conditioning units and the road (despite being on the fifth floor).

We did not eat at the hotel, mainly because the restaurant was expensive and always empty. We had vouchers for free tea/coffee at breakfast time. When we tried to redeem these, we were told that they only had fruit tea, and a limited selection of pastries. These were not significant issues due to the location, which had numerous other alternatives nearby.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is approximately five minute walk from fishermans wharf, pier 39, the cable car terminal and very near to a tram stop. In the evenings the location allowed us a great variety of restaurants within a short walk. It was possible to reach China Town, Little Italy, and a range of seafood restaurants on the bay.

The parking at the hotel was $32 + tax per day. This was expensive, but expected in a good location in a big city. On the fifth floor corridor there were a couple of PCs with free Internet access.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UK_ANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,460 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 231 in San Francisco
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 231 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $181 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing