We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Nearby Hotels
$488
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$223
$201
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$245
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$338
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$390
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$458
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,977)
Filter reviews
3,977 results
Traveler rating
754
1,805
969
280
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
1,805
969
280
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingdenny's restaurantsecond buildinggreat locationbeach streethollywood cafecable carghirardelli squarefishermans wharfwithin walking distancef lineshort walktwo double bedsstayed here for nightsthe golden gate bridgetwo blocksstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,220 - 3,225 of 3,977 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My family and I stayed here as part of a tour of three cities including New York !!!! and this hotel was the middle part of our trip. The room was as described in another review tatty and not very clean and that best describes the room we were given. Our room also backed onto the service delivery area where not only did we hear traffic we also had no view and staff wandering past intermittently meant that we had to keep the curatins. The staff at breakfast hovered when it came close to 10.45 ie closing time at 11am awaiting the check being cleared thankfully the kids ate free but this was more expensive that in San Diego where we later stayed. The location is the best thing about this hotel and thats it !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePhotographer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in late September. Our room was on the executive floor and had view of Alcatraz in the distance. The room was comfortable, with queen beds and a microwave. However, the room could have been better cleaned, and it was not double glazed, so there was a certain amount of noise from air conditioning units and the road (despite being on the fifth floor).

We did not eat at the hotel, mainly because the restaurant was expensive and always empty. We had vouchers for free tea/coffee at breakfast time. When we tried to redeem these, we were told that they only had fruit tea, and a limited selection of pastries. These were not significant issues due to the location, which had numerous other alternatives nearby.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is approximately five minute walk from fishermans wharf, pier 39, the cable car terminal and very near to a tram stop. In the evenings the location allowed us a great variety of restaurants within a short walk. It was possible to reach China Town, Little Italy, and a range of seafood restaurants on the bay.

The parking at the hotel was $32 + tax per day. This was expensive, but expected in a good location in a big city. On the fifth floor corridor there were a couple of PCs with free Internet access.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UK_ANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2005

I spent 2 nights at Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf last week, the last 2 days of a roadtrip that took me to a handful of similar Holiday Inn properties.

Our room rate of $196.00 midweek was expensive, so I was expecting reasonable service and a comfortable room. In reality, the room and the service level was significantly worse than at a $60 Holiday Inn Express in other cities.

The first (non-smoking) room that we were given - as Gold-level priority club members - was tatty and stank of smoke, and looked out onto a bank of noisy air-conditioning units. We immediately asked to be moved to a cleaner, quieter room, which we were given. There was nothing wrong with the room, but it looked a bit worn and tired, and really was nothing special at all.

Front-desk staff were arrogant, curt, and verging on rude. We used some $10 restaurant vouchers we had to have breakfast in the hotel, which was a mistake! We were sat at a table and offered coffee, and all of the coffee cups were dirty - they had 1/2" of milky brown water in the bottom, and bits of food stuck around the mug as if they'd been rinsed off in dirty water. The cutlery was the same - my fork had a bit of dried egg inbetween the prongs!

Anyway, we ordered our breakfast, waited 25 minutes, and eventually 3 of our 4 breakfasts arrived. My omlette didn't. I could see the waitress standing by the kitchen door chatting to another member of staff. I waited and waited, and eventually asked for the manager who came and apologised, and my omlette turned up about 5 minutes later, by which time the rest of my family had finished and was ready to leave.

Breakfast for 4 of us - which was 4 coffees and 4 omlettes / eggs & bacon etc - came to $80, the biggest rip-off and the worst service that I have every experienced in any hotel. Fortunately, the manager took $40 off after I'd complained about the service.

Parking at the hotel is perfectly ok, but at $32.00 + tax per day it isn't cheap. I noticed that there were some public parking lots near the cruise ship terminal for $10 a day which would have been a better bet.

All in all, the hotel was poor value for money. Overpriced, complacent, and poorly-trained staff. Our total bill for 2 nights' accomodation, tax and parking (without the breakfast) came to almost $600. The next night we stayed in a Holiday Inn Express near the airport for $69.00 which was twice as good.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brian_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2005

On arrival at the Hotel we were given a ground floor room, which backs on to a wall and the delivery area. The deliveries arrived at 4.30am each morning along with the noise of banging doors and shouting, this lasted for over an hour. The noise of the outside fan was not great either. On asking to change rooms, this took them 3 days to come back to us, for which was then a waste of time moving.
The room we had was dark given the location within the hotel and we had to leave lights on at all times of the day. The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the door out.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdaz107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2005

We stayed in this hotel for three nights en-route from Hawaii to the UK.

We were located on the 3rd floor in the annex building. The room was spacious and comfortable, and our bathroom was huge! We got a free newspaper delivered every morning.

The best thing about this hotel is it's location - it's opposite Fisherman's Wharf and all the attractions around the bay, e.g. Ghiardelli Square, Pier 39, tourist ferries around the bay / Alcatraz, etc. We walked to Lombard Street (up an impossibly steep hill) and back in approx. half an hour. The terminus of the 'F line' tram to the Ferry Building / Market Street (where all the main shops are) / Castro district was literally across the road - it's only $1.50 each, which includes a free transfer within 90 minutes. The terminus of the Powell / Hyde cable car was also only a few minutes walk (I'd recommend getting there early to avoid the queues. We got there at 9.30am and got straight on. It's expensive though - $5 each per journey.)

The only downside to the hotel was the noise from the street. My advice if you're staying here is to ask for a quiet room (there were some rooms overlooking a central 'courtyard', which may have been quieter) or bring earplugs! We also encountered lots of noise from hotel staff, e.g. banging doors, so don't expect a lie-in!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank U2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews