We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #90 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Over priced hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My family and I stayed here as part of a tour of three cities including New York !!!! and this hotel was the middle part of our trip. The room was as described in another review tatty and not very clean and that best describes the room we were given. Our room also backed onto the service delivery area where not only did we hear traffic we also had no view and staff wandering past intermittently meant that we had to keep the curatins. The staff at breakfast hovered when it came close to 10.45 ie closing time at 11am awaiting the check being cleared thankfully the kids ate free but this was more expensive that in San Diego where we later stayed. The location is the best thing about this hotel and thats it !!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePhotographer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    1,703
    921
    264
    157
See reviews for
1,185
1,355
109
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UNITED KINGDOM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in late September. Our room was on the executive floor and had view of Alcatraz in the distance. The room was comfortable, with queen beds and a microwave. However, the room could have been better cleaned, and it was not double glazed, so there was a certain amount of noise from air conditioning units and the road (despite being on the fifth floor).

We did not eat at the hotel, mainly because the restaurant was expensive and always empty. We had vouchers for free tea/coffee at breakfast time. When we tried to redeem these, we were told that they only had fruit tea, and a limited selection of pastries. These were not significant issues due to the location, which had numerous other alternatives nearby.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is approximately five minute walk from fishermans wharf, pier 39, the cable car terminal and very near to a tram stop. In the evenings the location allowed us a great variety of restaurants within a short walk. It was possible to reach China Town, Little Italy, and a range of seafood restaurants on the bay.

The parking at the hotel was $32 + tax per day. This was expensive, but expected in a good location in a big city. On the fifth floor corridor there were a couple of PCs with free Internet access.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UK_ANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2005

I spent 2 nights at Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf last week, the last 2 days of a roadtrip that took me to a handful of similar Holiday Inn properties.

Our room rate of $196.00 midweek was expensive, so I was expecting reasonable service and a comfortable room. In reality, the room and the service level was significantly worse than at a $60 Holiday Inn Express in other cities.

The first (non-smoking) room that we were given - as Gold-level priority club members - was tatty and stank of smoke, and looked out onto a bank of noisy air-conditioning units. We immediately asked to be moved to a cleaner, quieter room, which we were given. There was nothing wrong with the room, but it looked a bit worn and tired, and really was nothing special at all.

Front-desk staff were arrogant, curt, and verging on rude. We used some $10 restaurant vouchers we had to have breakfast in the hotel, which was a mistake! We were sat at a table and offered coffee, and all of the coffee cups were dirty - they had 1/2" of milky brown water in the bottom, and bits of food stuck around the mug as if they'd been rinsed off in dirty water. The cutlery was the same - my fork had a bit of dried egg inbetween the prongs!

Anyway, we ordered our breakfast, waited 25 minutes, and eventually 3 of our 4 breakfasts arrived. My omlette didn't. I could see the waitress standing by the kitchen door chatting to another member of staff. I waited and waited, and eventually asked for the manager who came and apologised, and my omlette turned up about 5 minutes later, by which time the rest of my family had finished and was ready to leave.

Breakfast for 4 of us - which was 4 coffees and 4 omlettes / eggs & bacon etc - came to $80, the biggest rip-off and the worst service that I have every experienced in any hotel. Fortunately, the manager took $40 off after I'd complained about the service.

Parking at the hotel is perfectly ok, but at $32.00 + tax per day it isn't cheap. I noticed that there were some public parking lots near the cruise ship terminal for $10 a day which would have been a better bet.

All in all, the hotel was poor value for money. Overpriced, complacent, and poorly-trained staff. Our total bill for 2 nights' accomodation, tax and parking (without the breakfast) came to almost $600. The next night we stayed in a Holiday Inn Express near the airport for $69.00 which was twice as good.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brian_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Birmingham - UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2005

On arrival at the Hotel we were given a ground floor room, which backs on to a wall and the delivery area. The deliveries arrived at 4.30am each morning along with the noise of banging doors and shouting, this lasted for over an hour. The noise of the outside fan was not great either. On asking to change rooms, this took them 3 days to come back to us, for which was then a waste of time moving.
The room we had was dark given the location within the hotel and we had to leave lights on at all times of the day. The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the door out.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdaz107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2005

We stayed in this hotel for three nights en-route from Hawaii to the UK.

We were located on the 3rd floor in the annex building. The room was spacious and comfortable, and our bathroom was huge! We got a free newspaper delivered every morning.

The best thing about this hotel is it's location - it's opposite Fisherman's Wharf and all the attractions around the bay, e.g. Ghiardelli Square, Pier 39, tourist ferries around the bay / Alcatraz, etc. We walked to Lombard Street (up an impossibly steep hill) and back in approx. half an hour. The terminus of the 'F line' tram to the Ferry Building / Market Street (where all the main shops are) / Castro district was literally across the road - it's only $1.50 each, which includes a free transfer within 90 minutes. The terminus of the Powell / Hyde cable car was also only a few minutes walk (I'd recommend getting there early to avoid the queues. We got there at 9.30am and got straight on. It's expensive though - $5 each per journey.)

The only downside to the hotel was the noise from the street. My advice if you're staying here is to ask for a quiet room (there were some rooms overlooking a central 'courtyard', which may have been quieter) or bring earplugs! We also encountered lots of noise from hotel staff, e.g. banging doors, so don't expect a lie-in!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank U2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2005

Great location, quick & easy check-in by friendly desk staff. The room was clean and the ultra-friendly maids were efficient.
If only the Holiday Inn chain would put small fridges into their rooms. Wildly trying to keep ice in a bucket to keep medications cool, doesn't cut it.
I was most disppointed - and angry - towards one male concierge (didn't catch his name unfortunately). He was rude and refused to help me book a city walking tour - i tried twice too. The numbers wouldn't work for me and I missed doing a tour.
Overall though, this is a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oahu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2005

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. We upgraded to the 5th floor (Exec level) and would recommend this to others. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated. Maid service was prompt and thorough each day. Bathroom is small but well equipped and attractively decorated.
The staff was helpful and pleasant, except for the concierge. He was on duty each morning we were there, but chose not to be helpful the two mornings we asked him a question. Both days he handed us a map and a look that clearly said you're grown ups, figure it out for yourself. So, unless you want a map you can give him a miss.
If you're visiting San Francisco to enjoy the sites, this is a super hotel to choose.
During your trip, consider visiting Alcatraz--it's quite an experience for young and old. The audio tour is enjoyable and informative. Lombard Street is a fun sight to see, and the views of San Francisco Bay are breathtaking. Golden Gate park is a real treat to walk around. In the park, be sure to visit the Conservatory of Flowers or the Japanese Tea Garden. There is a new museum opening within the park (DeYoung) so that will be worth a visit. I believe it opens in October.
We have a couple of awesome breakfast spots to recommend: Dotties True Blue Cafe on Jones Street. There will most likely be a wait but that's not what you'll remember afterward. Excellent food and service and just a neat place to eat a very hearty breakfast. The other place is The Pork Store--it's at Haight & Ashbury. Again, expect a wait but then expect a fab breakfast in a fun atmosphere. The host (of sorts) was a gem. He checked in with everyone and had a running joke going with each table it seemed.
We dined in style at Aliotos one evening and so enjoyed the fresh seafood. Prices were fair for the experience.
Fun place to visit in the evening is The Cannery (next to The Argonaut). There's live music around 6pm--we enjoyed two really good bands. It's a courtyard area with a couple of bars so it's an ideal place to sit with your cold drink, listen to the bands and people watch.
Lots more to see and do and recommend--that's why we'll be going back soon.
Forgot to mention the good breakfast spot across from the hotel. Its called Pergaminos. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 229 in San Francisco
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing