We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #89 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
buffalo ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We just returned from a 4-day stay in San Francisco. I booked a package through Travelocity which included the Holiday Inn at the Fisherman's Wharf. The location could not have been better. An easy walk to all the attractions. I was pleasantly surprised that the Holiday Inn was well above mediocre. Very comfortable beds, nice linens, and good service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    1,716
    926
    266
    159
See reviews for
1,204
1,358
109
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed here a few times now because of its excellent location next to Fisherman's Wharf and a short walk from the old tram terminus. Clean and comfortable with good amenities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyline2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

My boyfriend and I were tired from a 7 hour drive to San Francisco, so we were perturbed at check-in when we were told that we were being assigned to the Beach building. A bit frustrated, we had to exit the building where we checked in and walked, with our luggage, to another building less than a block away. When we reached our room, we realized that the front desk person didn't ask if we wanted 2 full size beds or 1 queen size bed. We were disappointed to got 2 beds. The room overall is like any other Holiday Inn hotel - it was fine, not the best.

The staff could have been a little more helpful and friendlier. The best thing about this place was the location. It was great to have the hotel right on/close to the wharf after a day of walking. We were always so happy to see the hotel at the end of the day. Because of the location, I would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at the Beach Street property and were allocated a room on the 5th floor. We had stayed in this same hotel 5 years previously and did notice some changes. Whilst the staff were very efficient and welcoming and the rooms were clean and comfortable, the windows did not seem to fit properly and the wind came whistling through; those of you who have experienced a foggy San Francisco evening will know just how cold it can be. The location of the hotel is very good, you can walk to most attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Crowded area in summer (fisherman warf). The hotel is pretty old and was very noisy during all night long - people and bikes yelling, etc....
Bad value. I d rather stay downtown.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The hotel consists of a main building where all facilities are located and a seperate block where only facilities consists of an overpriced "Denny's " cafe on ground floor..We were initially allocated a ground (first) floor room in seperate ' Beach St ' block which resembled a dungeon with windows at knee level to people walking along North Point St a few yards away..I immedietely complained and we were re allocated to a third floor room overlooking Jones St..The room was well appointed with a very comfortable king size bed and the location of the hotel is excellent..Travelling with Virgin Holidays parking in underground car park was 16$ per night but everyone else was paying 42$ !!!!....Overall super location, hotel very clean and staff helpful but try for a room in main building or a high floor in Beach St annexe otherwise you could be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This was our second visit to this hotel. Its in a great spot at Fishermans Wharf with easy access by car for getting out and abouut rather than being in the heart of downtown.

Our room was in the beach street annex. Although still a good standard room and the inclusion of a second lobby and concierge tries to make it feel part of the main hotel it doesn't quite work. Its a stroll across the street to the main hotel and its restaurant, pool and shop. You can't help but feel like the poor relations particularly as the annex has a Denny's in the entrance way and is adjacent to the Holiday Inn Express. You sort of feel thats the standard of where you are staying. We should probably have complained but once unpacked it was too much trouble to think about moving again. But I think we would think twice about returning as a result.

The hotel really is the best location though for anyone wanting to spend signficant time aound the Fishermans Wharf area. Right in the heart of the the main attractions with Pier 39 a short stroll and both the Hyde and Mason st cable cars very close.

So, in summary, highly recommended but only if you ensure you are in the main building.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halesowen_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,139 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing