We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent the weekend here for the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spent the weekend here for the second time”
Reviewed May 11, 2005

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend for the 2nd time. For the price, the room is acceptable (SF is a pricey city). We usually find that we do a ton of walking there, and sleep well regardless were we stay. We got a double room this time and took our 16 yr old son. The location is ideal for a fun family trip, or a weekend away from rainy Seattle with the wife. Fisherman's warf and Pier 39 are great spots for the kids. We spent a whole day there doing the tourist thing. Sure, the rooms could be nicer or larger. But we were only there to sleep. If you stay in Fisherman,s warf, try the breakfast at peragamo's across the street. They claim to have the best waffles, and they might be. They have the greatest host, Rueban. If your lucky he will grace you with a song and will always make you feel welcome. Breakfast there is a part of our stay everytime. another tip. If you are planning to rent a car, it'll cost you 35/day to park. They have a fantastic metro system here. The historic streetcar stop is a 1/2 block away, next to a walgreen's{unload your digital camera here,and save your pics on CD for a couple bucks!}. The streetcar will take you to market streek, you can get anywere from there in a few minutes. "Famous" trolly stop 2 blocks. Save that money on parking, take the transit. spend that cash on a boat tour of the bay 2 blocks away you can take a boat around alkatraz and under the golden gate for 10 each. look for a wooden boat captined by Maury. We had a blast and he was cool

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank spreadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    1,683
    910
    261
    154
See reviews for
1,166
1,336
108
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2005

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start of a 2 week flydrive and was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews on this site. We checked in and the receptionist drew us a map of where our room was-which turned out to be across the road in a different building. Nevertheless, the room was large and clean and was all we needed for our stay. The location was fantastic and we didn't use our car at all during our stay here. Had breakfast in the restaurant once, it was adequate but we found better food and prices elsewhere in Fishermans Wharf. Would recommend this hotel for a short stay but wouldn't choose this for a weeks holiday.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 5, 2005

hi we 4 adults stayed at the hoilday in for 3 nights,we had paid £50 each to upgrade from downtown to stay in fishermans wharf and it was the best £50 that we had spent.hotel had good big rooms with everything in them tv ,shampoos,safe,coffee maker we got a free morning paper each day.the staff were friendly and helpful.the pool area was very clean and well layed out.out and about was very good all shops and food outlets near by.dennys was open 24hr and was just at the corner ,they served up good food and the portions were big free refils on soft drinks and coffee which was good.we would definetly go back and stay there if we were in town again.so go on try it, ignore the bad reviews. we did its a fab hotel.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2005

This hotel was fine, no problems at all. We had two rooms, a double and a twin on fourth floor. Hotel is normal Holiday Inn standard, staff helpfull and friendly. Hotel is clean and tidy and in a great position in Fishermans Wharf. We were able to walk to everything in the area and had easy access to transport to City & Bay - all buses, trams, trolly, cable car & boat.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone, or any family. Hotel bar is OK, had free drink every night as Priority member, suggest you look for food outside hotel as local choice is fantastic.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank AussieMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We were expecting the worst with this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor prior to travelling, but had a nice surprise. We were also roomed in the 'annexe' building on the next street, only a couple of minutes walk from main hotel. We checked in and were offered help across the road with our luggage. Were on the 4th floor in a twin room which had two double/queen sized beds. The en suite was large with bath and shower. There were coffee making facilities, air con, tv, optional 'pay per view' movies and nintendo if you wanted them, and a free newspaper every day. There was also free internet access for as long as you wanted (as long as no one was waiting) in the Holiday Express hotel a few doors down, you just had to show your Holiday Inn key card. We were a five minute walk from a sandy bay, with free museum and great views of the golden gate bridge. Trams went further into the city regularly and there were a multitude of great eating places 5/10 minutes walk away. All the staff and house keeping were polite and helpful. Although on the ground floor there is a 24 hour 'Dennys' restaurant there was never any excess noise, even from the street outside! We would definately stay there again. Also would recommend Pier 39 for unusual shopping, boat trips and eateries and the Bay Shuttle door to door airport service, which you can reserve online with no fee before you travel !!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank chicago29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Stayed here for one night after flight from UK. Had to queue for approx 20 minutes just to check-in (similar experience for check-out also!) The porter staff were not very helpful and just seemed to stand around - they certainly didnt offer the usual US standards of friendliness and helpfulness. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and the food ok.

The room had two double beds, the bathroom was tiny and the view was of the hotel roof! A number of lightbulbs were out of action and the hairdryer in the bathroom also didn't work.

The advantage to this hotel was its location. Very handy for all Fisherman Wharf attractions and tourist shops. The Cable Car terminal is also just a couple of streets away.

The hotel looked a little tired and perhaps is due for a refurb. Ok as a place to rest a weary head, but wouldn't want to stay for any longer than one night!

Helpful?
1 Thank HarperG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2005

having read all the reviews on this hotel we were ready to change our booking but having just spent 3 nights there staying in the main building we were quite satisfied. great position walking distance to most places, our room at the back of hotel no view but quite quiet except for when the bins are emptied at 4am. Reception staff very efficient quick check in and out. All in all not bad for the money and for a couple of nights a good place to stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,980 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 228 in San Francisco
3,976 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing