We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location & Comfy Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #89 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
romeoville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location & Comfy Beds”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and were a little worried about some of the reviews after finding out the hotel name. Many people commented on the inconvenience of staying in the annex building. That is were we stayed and it was comfortable, quiet, and clean. We found no problem with that at all! We had a nice size bathroom and the beds were great! Free wireless is a real bonus and my laptop fit in the room safe, which gave me a great sense of security while out during the day. Cannot say anything bad about this hotel. We had a great experience. The location was perfect. Easy to walk to the Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, cable cars, and all attractions.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy57Romeoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    1,716
    926
    266
    159
See reviews for
1,204
1,358
109
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I chose this hotel after DAYS of discussions with a travel agent friend and after reviewing maps of San Francisco hotels/neighborhoods until my eyes crossed. Package prices via Priceline were so similar, I didn't want to miss staying at a high-end 5* hotel when it was only dollars more per night. In the end, I chose this Holiday Inn for several key reasons:

Free Wifi: The prices I read for in-room Wifi at some other hotels were amazingly expensive and I didn't want to spend any of my vacation money that way.

Location: You're three blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a few blocks from the the trolley cars, and there's a bus stop just outside of the hotel door on the street. Even though you are in the heart of the tourist area, we never heard a noise except for the morning garbage truck previously mentioned in other reviews - and after the first morning, we never heard it again.

Fridge at no charge: The hotel provided a free small refrigerator as we needed it for medication. The fridge was delivered to the room and working within five minutes of our check-in.

Large room: We stayed on the 4th floor and the room was huge. It featured a king-size bed, lovely sofa-bed, desk, two nightstands, a dresser, and an entry hall closet area.

Other noteworthy items: free in-room safe, coffeemaker & coffee, pool, nice toiletries, thick towels (and plenty of them), iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and a plush bed we just wanted to sink into.

We rented a car for one day (to see Napa Valley & Muir Woods) and because of the expensive hotel parking fee, we returned the vehicle that night instead of paying to park it at the hotel. If you must have your own vehicle and must park it at the hotel, be prepared for the price, because it is going to cost you some money. Thankfully mass transit is a breeze in San Francisco, so we did not need a car to see the city.

One day house-keeping forgot to replenish our coffee supply so on our way out, I mentioned it to the woman at the restaurant/bakery counter in the lobby, and she gave both of us free Starbucks. That's the kind of customer service that makes a huge difference! The concierge was friendly when arranging our transportation to the airport for the return flight and he even matched the price of a competitor. Every employee we met was friendly and willing to assist so we have no personnel complaints at all!

You can stay at more expensive hotels that charge for every little thing and you can stay at less expensive hotels that may give you pause upon arrival. We're happy that we stayed where we did b/c it was comfortable, clean, and fell nicely in the middle of the hundreds of San Francisco hotels at which I looked.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank childfree_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Facilities good, free internet on fifth floor with access to printers. Room on 4th floor comfortable but noise from street below, especially in the early hours when the garbage truck came round. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking expensive, even with concession, but secure. Didn't eat there but plenty of breakfast places close by. Other guests say rooms by pool where quieter. Overall a good location. Fridge available on request, we needed this for medicines so no charge to us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I had read the reviews on trip advisor and was quietly confident! Once we had got rid of the very rude and unhelpful man who checked us in and wouldnt go out of his way for anybody with regards to rooms and spoke to a guy called "Gerry" I had every reason to be. He was so helpful and clearly happy in his job. This hotel is in such an excellant position to everything. The main front road along all the piers, the cable car turnaround, local bus stops outside. Its just perfect and not noisey at all. The rooms are fantastic and the beds really are toooo comfortable, i never wanted to really get up. The rooms are cleaned so well, new towels everyday and everything renewed. There is an in room safe. The shower pressure is great and the bath is nice too when you want to rest your weary feet!!!Walgreens and Safeway are all a short walk away. My only negative is there is no fridge in the room. The gym is excellant and has everything you need but unfortunately children were using it without supervision, despite a notice saying over 18s only. I did report to the front desk, its only a matter of time before there is an accident in there. But this hotel is excellant. You really couldnt ask for any more. A MUST is the mexican restaurant in the "Cannery" accross the road almost. Try it, you wont be disapointed. Service and food faultless.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed here with husband and children for three nights. The location was great, only short walk to all the piers. Was also within walking distance of Little Italy, Ghirardelli Square, and Chinatown.
When booking our room we were told it would have two queen beds and a sofa. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find two double beds and no sofa. The room was also small for a family, and would have been better suited to two people. Our room was across the street from the main section, on Beach St. It was extremely noisy at night. The cable cars, buses, and people were right under our window which made it hard to fall asleep, and got us up early. We are from a major city so we are used to loud noise, but this was ridiculous. Also, the bath towels always had a weird smell to them, even though we got fresh ones everyday. Parking was expensive but we were aware of that beforehand. We were not in the room often and only used it to sleep and for a quick rest stop.
All in all, you get what you pay for. This hotel really does have a great location, and we got a pretty good price, especially for San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

On first review, it’s a Holiday Inn… nothing special, nothing spectacular, just a Holiday Inn. However, it is far, far more than this. The Hotel is located very centrally in Fishermans Wharf, which is the main touristy area, with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. Also, it’s about a 10 minute walk to the Italian district and 20 minutes to china town, with lots of fantastic restaurants. Furthermore, it’s about a 1 minute walk to Denny’s (within the second building) and Starbucks, so you don’t have to pay silly money for the hotels breakfast.

The hotel itself is split into two, a main building with reception on Columbus Avenue, and a second building which we stayed in on Beach Street, again with a small reception. Probably best to phone the hotel first to find out which building you will be in as there is quite a walk between the two. Not easy with heavy cases.

The rooms are large, mine had a king sized bed, sofa and desk, as well as a large bathroom. They are very well decorated, the bedding is simple & clean and the towels plentiful.

Security is good with lifts (or elevators) locked by room key, one-way emergency exits and safes in each room. One issue if you drive there is parking, it’s really, really expensive!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to go to San Francisco for a vacation or even a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn 12 years ago on our first visit to San Fransisco with Virgin Holidays and we in the Annexe. We were back in May 2009 and got a room in the main hotel as requested.

12 years ago one of the big plus points was the free parking so what a contrast to find that parking would be $41 a night. To be fair we had spotted this before booking so had arranged for the hire car to be returned on the day after arriving as we knew public transport was plentiful and reliable. We tried returning the car on the day we arrived but got to the Dollar office 30 minutes after it had closed so ended up scouting around the area for cheaper overnight parking. The best we found was $28.

The room we had was on the 4th floor and it was huge. There was a king size bed and a sofa bed for our son. Our bed was extremely comfortable and a pillow menu offered. We did have to phone for bedding for the sofa bed but it was delivered within minutes.

The room did not have a fridge or a safe or much hanging space for towels even though the hotel heavily promoted their reuse.

We didn't eat in the hotel, although there was a very reasonably priced pasta and salad promotion posted in all the lifts.

My son tried the pool but said it was very cold.

We spoke to the concierge about a transfer back to the airport at the end of our stay since we were without a car. He advised us to take a taxi since the fare would be less expensive than using one of the shuttle services because there was 3 of us. He was right too.

Karen, Ian and David, Leeds, UK

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,141 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing