We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cochranton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, great location”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was wonderful. It was just a short walk from several area restaurants and local attractions. It is not necessary to bring a car to this hotel as there are several options for transportation in the area. While there is nothing fancy about this Holiday Inn it met our needs and was reasonably priced for the area. We arrived for a convention at 10:00 am and we were permitted to check in, which was a huge bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the location. See you again soon at the Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    1,683
    911
    261
    155
See reviews for
1,167
1,337
108
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Known locally as the Holiday Inn on Columbus - not to be confused with the Holiday Inn Express which is almost next door.

A good hotel that I would rate at 4/5. Strong points were the great location if visiting SF on vacation, an excellent firm bed in our room, very generous room size (King Suite), very clean, and good staff. We were also able to check in at 1000 on day of arrival and out at 1300 upon departure. Points that prevented a perfect score (but which wouldn't stop me from recommending the property) were; inconsiderate noise coming from service alley at night, restaurant a little pricey, the free WiFi was very slow and was clearly an inadequate system for the demand placed upon it. This feature may result in the property being unsuitable if you require hotel supplied internet access for work purposes. Also be aware that few rooms at any hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf neighbourhood have harbour views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZFrontiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello and thank you so much for staying with us. I am so glad you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

No complaints here! They allowed us to park our car several hours before checkin and told us to bring our luggage into the bellhop and leave nothing in the car. The location is perfect and the hotel is very clean and well taken care of. Parking is a bit expensive but worth not having to worry.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello thank you so much and I am so glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Rooms are pretty standard, but the location is excellent, can walk to everything. Great AC in rooms and many in second building have a nice view of the wharf. The only odd thing was the hotel has two buildings on neighboring blocks. They had to wheel our luggage and belongings on the public streets between buildings which was odd to us. Parking was also challenging, but that is the norm in SFO.

Room Tip: ask for a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaFiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello and thank you so much for staying with us and posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed our location and hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

If you are planning on doing touristy things and want to be within walking distance then this is the place you want to be! Not the nicest hotel but nice enough. I was lucky enough to book this hotel through Hotwire and got a great discount! Can be kind of loud at night but didn't bother me much. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your thoughts on your stay and I am so glad you enjoyed our location. Thanks again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn - not super nice, but will do the trick. The best part is the value for the location. Most hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area are quite pricey. You are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, museums, and the waterfront.
We took the subway here to avoid the $40+ per night parking fee. Later we rented for the remainder of our trip and it saved us quite a bit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello sambrown50,

Thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thougths. I am glad you had a great stay and you did take our suggestion that you dont need a car when staying in the City. Thanks again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived, checkin was smooth but the guy behind the desk was dour and very rude.
When I got to the room it was noisy, and I mean it was like buses were passing the bottom of the bed, mostly because they were! I calked and asked for a room move and was grilled on whether I'd touched anything in the room...I'd been there a whole 5 minutes. The second room was worse so driven slightly by the tiredness from a long drive, I asked to see the manager. He was really nice but explained about a wedding taking place and that there were no other rooms available. However, after pushing him again, he all of a sudden found me one in quiet of the ground floor which looked out into the courtyard in the middle of the building. The fact that I had to keep the curtains closed as there were people walking past all day, wasn't too bad as it was QUIET.
The charge to park PER NIGHT is $50... That's insane given that if I had my way, I wouldn't even have paid that to stay in that hotel per night, it's tired and you don't even get breakfast for the overly inflated rate. What a complete rip off. There's parking in the surround areas, albeit still a little expensive but nothing like these chancers.
The location is the only plus point but I would recommend doing your homework and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atc54m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Atc54m,

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. I am sorry that the hustle and bustle of our very busy but yet central location was a bother. I am glad we were able to room move you. It is true parking is at a premium when coming to the City. We do keep this at a value for our area. Again thank you for staying and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,985 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3,977 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing