We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff, got our booking wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #88 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Arrived after a marathon 16 hour journey with our family of 5 to be told we had been booked onto a king room- that is, 1 bed for 5 people (despite the booking clearly indicating 2 adults and 3 children would be in our party). A 2 double bed room was finally found but my son still had to sleep on the floor on a mound of pillows. Not really what I expect for $305. The hotel manager reasoned that this was because we had booked through another booking agent (?) I'm not sure who is really at fault here, but it wasn't a great start to our holiday. On the plus side the room was pleasant and clean with comfortable beds, and the location was great.
The staff didn't seem too interested in helping us out with our shuttle transfers either, a fairly easy task I would have thought, and in the end we sorted it out ourselves with a single phone call.
In summary, a nice enough hotel, just don't expect to be treated like royalty.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Stormie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Stormie C. Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we apologize for what happened why you were staying here with us. We will retrain our desk staff to be more helpful and we should be more pleasant and helpful to guests. If you happen to come to San Francisco again next time, please feel free to reach us to our Manager On Duty before you arrive and we will try our best to block a nice room for you. Again, we hope you would give us another opportunity to improve and see you again in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,813)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,663 - 1,669 of 3,814 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a Holiday Inn, but don't let that put you off. the rooms are very nice, comfortable, the breakfast was very good (maybe a little expensive) but there was so much choice, you could even make your own fresh waffles! Underground parking, it is right in the centre, lots going on around, even though we had a car, we did walk to a lot of places. I would definitely stay here again if I was lucky enough to go back to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Sam L and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and glad that you enjoyed the breakfast here with us. Our breakfast is full of choices for our guest to choose from. We are located in the center of Fisherman Wharf and lots of sightseeing places are within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you also next time when you come to San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a good hotel in an excellent area to see and experience all of the sights of San Francisco. Clean and comfortable rooms. I would definitely stay here again if I get to visit San Francisco again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kyej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Kyej77, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and thank you for your feedback from your stay here with us. We will forward the feedback to our housekeeping department. We look forward to seeing you next time also when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband & I stayed here back in November 2011. The location is perfect within Fisherman's Wharf. It was a clean room and that's all we cared about as we were sightseeing more than anything. There was also an enterprise close by so we were able to rent a car and drive over the Golden Gate Bridge. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello Ohio12334,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself as well as our location. We do hope to see you soon at a Holiday Inn soon and untill then warm regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This Holiday Inn is at most average, seems old and smells like the Denny's downstairs. It is very unpleasant to check in in the main building and then walk to the other block to get your room. The only plus side would be that is right in Fisherman's Wharf, although i prefer the hotels on Union Square and Nob Hill area. Here is too noisy and too crowded.
Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedicecoconute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Sedicecoconute,

I am dissapointed that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We do have bell service at both buildings that will assist when needed. There is actually a front desk at our Wharf building that could be utilized to check in and check out. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the challenges you encountered while with us.

I will share your comment with the staff and Management at the hotel. I do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve next time you visit San Francisco. If you have any additional feedback, let us know.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location to the wharf!! Parking is $40.00 per night. No coffee pot in room. No coffee in lobby. Starbucks coffee at counter of restaurant. Room clean. Staff friendly. Convenient to trolley, some rooms are noisy from street traffic. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the park side. Homeless sleep on park benches and rooms are not sou...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver L, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Andrea,

I am happy to hear that yu enjoyed the location of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room. We pride ourselves in providing clean and confortable rooms. The price of the parking is competative with the other hotels in the area. We don't have coffee pots in the rooms but instead we have a coffee maker designed to make coffee directly into the cup. Guest finds this more convenient.

I am glad to hear to you will continue to stay with us when travelling to San Francisco. I look forward to your next visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in dec 13, hotel was newly renovated, clean and a great location only minutes walk from fishermans wharf. Denny's 247 dinner at the bottom of one of the buildings, good food around. Would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Tom D and thank you for your feedback. We are currently doing refresh on our hotel and i believe one of our 2 buildings the wharf building which Tom D stayed at is the one we have done refresh on. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time again when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,225 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $162 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing