We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So happy we stayed here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So happy we stayed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

To preface my review, I must explain that we came to this hotel at the last minute, after leaving a terrible Union Square hotel. The Holiday Inn was so comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly, it was centrally located to all the sites at Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero, and we were over the moon happy to stay here. Had a fantastic night's sleep, had no issues finding great food options even for the children, and the area felt extremely safe even after dark.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Canwi,

Thank you for the wonderful comment about your visit with us. Yes, we have great location and friendly employees. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to all of our guest and also providing clean and comfortable room. Plese continue to keep us in mind when you travel to San Francisco.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    1,632
    886
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,121
1,289
105
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

San Francisco is very beautiful and the Fisherman Wharf attractions are in extreme demand. Therefore this hotel can easily abuse their guests with little consequences. As a Platinum guest there was no recognition for the expensive prepaid nonsmoking suite with a harbor view. The room was a heavily perfumed smoke standard, non-suite room. The view faced an internal concrete wall. Consequently, a decision was made to terminate the several night stay early. However, the hotel manager threatened to retain all the nights' charges upon an early check out. I recommend to use the other full service Holiday Inn one block away. They have unadvertised suites and the facilities are much nicer.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms face an internal concrete block wall while the Wharf and Alcatraz Island view is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Tim L,

Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you encountered while visiting our hotel. I very dissappointed to hear that the room given to you was not to your satisfcation. The hotel is in the process of refreshing all of our guest rooms with new carpets, new armoire, etc. We value you as a platinum member and would like to invite you back when we complete our refresh. Our refresh is scheduled to be completed in February of 2014.

Please feel free to contact me with any addiotional comment you may have.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. Great service, great location. Within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square.
The rooms are very clean and tidy. Hotel comes with free breakfast & Wifi. Laundry services are available in the new extension so a little walk to get this done.
Good restaurants close by. We walk everywhere and with the help of a map found everything we wanted to see.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Nicki F,

Thank for the kind comment you posted.

I am very happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed her visit. Yes, the free wifi is great to have to check your e-mail, etc most specially now a days that majority of hotels charge for it. I will share the nice compliment about the cleanliness of the room with our housekeeping staff.

Please continue to keep us in mind when travelling to San Francisco.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights before joining a cruise. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and Denny,s Diner staff were also excellent although this was not part of the hotel but situated in the hotel building as a separate enterprise. The main hotel restaurant was in another building and we did not use it simply for convenience. This particular Holiday Inn has two accommodation buildings and you can check in at either, so it helps to know in advance which one you are in so that the taxi can drop you off at the right place from the beginning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandybags_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sandybags_13,

Thank you for the wonderful comment about the hotel and the staff when you visited our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit staying at the Wharf building. Yes, there is a front desk at the wharf building is ready to assist when needed.

I will share this great comment with the staff and rest of the Management Team. Please continue to keep us in mind when looking for a place to stay in San Francisco.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was a nice hotel although it can be quite confusing as there are two areas to this hotel, one being the main hotel and the other the "new extension" which is across and down the road from the main reception area. There is a reception in both locations however so if you know where you are actually staying you can do straight to the correct location unfortunately for us we had the main reception address only so were dropped off there and had to drag our luggage over to the other portion of the hotel. As for location couldn't ask for a better location for all the Fisherman Wharf attractions. We had dinner at Denny's in the hotel for the first night and then went to the hotel in the other section of the hotel the following night. We didn't have meals included in our package but there were plenty of choices to eat and there was a supermarket across the road if you want to pick up something to eat in the room. The city of San Fran is within easy reach as the tram cars run from almost outside the hotel and the trolley cars (both lines) are within walkable distance.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are away from the roads which make them quieter however there is only the view as the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koleenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Koleenos and we are glad that you were having fun in San Francisco. We do have the Denny restaurant in our wharf building and the Bristol Bar and Grill in our columbus building for our guests to choose from. We are located in a good location exactly in Fisherman Wharf and lots of sightseeing places around us all within walking distance. Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco and thank you again for staying with us.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel, clean and pleasant. Staff were very helpful. It's location is great for Fisherman's Wharf. We didn't eat in the hotel at all as there are plenty of lovely restaurants nearby that we wanted to try and we were only there for 5 nights. There is a lovely coffee shop inside that we did use a lot. It isn't a luxury hotel and we weren't expecting that but it is perfectly located place to stay if you want to spend time in Fisherman's Wharf. Easy access to transport to go to see other parts of San Francisco too.. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Nikki J and we are glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. Our staff were all friendly and helpful and thank you for using the Cove(our coffee shop) a lot. We hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco and looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel was everything I expected from a Holiday Inn, clean, good facilities etc. The only disappointment for us was the laundry facilities were not available, although we could have gone across to the other building this felt like a bit of hard work with a couple of bags of laundry to do.

The location was great for getting around, easy walk to Fishermans wharf etc. We walked pretty much everywhere from here, whenever we got a bit tired it was easy to find public transport of some kind to get us about.

Our first night we were all pretty tired after travelling so decided to eat at the hotel - fabulous meal! Very pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was included and was the usual buffet fare. Kids ate free however this had the catch that they have to order from the special kids menu or pay $9.95 to eat the buffet. This was a bit tricky for us but ok for others I guess, my kids don't want a full cooked breakfast, just come cereal, toast and fruit. They could order cereal and a banana but the cereal is the sugary stuff that does not fill anyone up. A bit of flexibility for kids would go along way I think.

Would stay here again, good clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesSanFrancisco, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kaz0908,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visiit with us despite the one of our laundry facility being out of order. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconcenience this may have caused. Our Engineering is workingon gettting our laundry facility back on line. We always pride ourselves with providing our guest clean rooms.

I will share this wonderful comment with the staff and rest of the Management staff. Please continue to keep us in mind when travelling to San Francisco.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing