We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel isn't amazing but the location definitely makes up for it. We stayed there for 3 nights and literally only went back to the hotel to sleep and change. It's so easy to get to everything from fishermans wharf. Hotel parking was $40 a night but it was cheaper to park in the multi story across the road which came in at $90 for the 3 nights, much cheaper!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco danware and our hotel location is really great. We are close to pier 39 and a lot of sightseeing places are within walking distance as well. Hope to see you again in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 3,876 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not what I expected from a Holiday Inn Express, Staff was ok, some good some bad. The room was tiny with a view of other rooms of the hotel, near but not at the Wharf. Lots of street noise. To use a pool or other services you had to go to one of the Holiday Inns next door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler1Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hello traveler1Durham,

I do thank you for staying with us and am sorry you did totally love your stay with us. I do hope you try us again as we are about to get a bit of a face lift in the next few months. Until then safe travels and warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we stayed 4 nights, after a sleepless night next to the family from hell we were moved to another room on the business floor which was very quiet and had a better view over the bay.
the staff were helpful and my only complaint is the incredibly high cost of parking $45 a night
we did mange to get one night refunded as we said we had only arrived at 11 p.m.I would recommend not having a car whilst staying in San Francisco as they have a shuttle service to the airport and you don,t need a car anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary54Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hello Rosemary54Cambridge,

I thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am glad we were able to recover a bit from your uncomfortable situation with your first room. I am also glad you found our staff helpful as we really do try to help our guest as much as possible. Thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location for the wharf and all it brings to explore the city. Clean room and general areas. Staff seemed friendly. Used pool area once. We were in the second part of hotel on lowest floor onto s main dtreet but not to noisy. All in all nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutleythemaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hello mutleythemaddog,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay as we really do work hard to provide you with a great hotel that guests love. Hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

At first glance this is a run of the mill hotel, it's not fancy but it's clean and very central. We found the staff here very nice, welcoming and helpful.

We were on the 4th floor and I couldn't sleep on the first night as there was a loud humming sound every 10 minutes, I think it was a vent of some sort. I requested to move and they upgraded us to the business level on the 5th floor and the room was much better, it also had a microwave. The pool is heated, however the gym is well not a gym at all. We went to a 24/7 gym just around the corner.

The hotel is extremely central and most, if not all tours leave from just around the corner. We booked 4 open top bus tours and all were great, however there is no need to do the night tour, its exactly the same as the day tour. It would have been nice if it was darker because we would have seen the lights of the city and bridge.
Also if you plan to head up to Union Square for dinner in the evenings just jump on the tour bus, they all go to Union Square and you've already paid anyway. You can also ride the bus all day for $2.00 and if you are waiting for a Tram and the line is busy, just walk up to the next tram stop. Some of those tram lines can take 2 hours and generally there are only a few people waiting at the next stop.

We had breakfast in the hotel once and once was enough. It was nice, but $50.00 for breakfast is a bit steep. The Hollywood Café is just down the road (go out main doors of the hotel, go right and its about a block down). The food there is amazing and great prices. Get there early, as it gets packed. We also loved the food at the Cheesecake Factory at Union Square, its on the rooftop of Macys and the views are amazing.

There is a Trader Joe's about 5 minutes walk away. We went there and stocked up with water, fruit and nuts for snacks. We also bought oatmeal which we had most days for breakfast. 27cents for a bottle of water is better that $3.00!


Alcatraz is a must and was fabulous. Book in advance as it sells out fast. And wear comfortable shoes and take a jacket, it gets cold and its a long enough walk uphill to the prison when you get off the boat.

Room Tip: Email ahead and ask to be in the main building. Also ask to be on a higher floor and if you do not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilyb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello Lilyb1972,

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as sharing your thoughts on your last stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed it as we work hard to try to provide a great experience. I do hope to see you soon at a Holiday Inn and thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location was great but it can be very noisy (street noise) and our room air conditioner rattled. Also, the rooms are not very quiet, you can hear conversations and televisions from rooms on either side and you can also clearly hear people using bathrooms in other rooms (NOT GOOD!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We might stay here again but we would ask for a quieter room area and we would make sure the room heating/air conditioning unit was quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_McCready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello Ben_McCready,

Thank you so much for sharing you thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am also glad you found our staff friendly as well. We hope to see you again soon at a Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

First of all, be prepared to walk around a block and half, suitcases, stroller and kids to get to your room, depending where you've been placed. The pool is in the main building so don't waste your money thinking the kids will enjoy that! The overall appearance is oldish and a bit worn out. We walked in from an afternoon of walking to find around 75 people with suitcases waiting for 2 tiny elevators. When we tried to take the stairs, we found out the doors are locked on each floor. Front desk responded with an uninterested ah well.....I'd look for something else. There's lots to choose from in that area and I know you can do better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniep265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hello Melanie265,

I am so sorry we did not wow you on your last stay with us here. I am sorry and do want to thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
4,207 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $134 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing