We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in ok location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in ok location”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was basic and not too clean. The location was ok if you want to visit fishermans wharf. If I went back to San Francisco i'd rather stay closer to the city center. The area around the hotel looked a little dated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil_Hanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Neil Hanvey

Thank you so much for the recent review. I am glad you took a liking to the area. we hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    1,643
    891
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,131
1,300
106
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel could not be better placed for tourists to visit The Fisherman's Wharf area of San Francisco. You are only a couple of minutes away from the attractions on the bay. Walking distance to Pier 39 and the ferry to Alcatraz. The hotel itself is clean and functional. The staff are not the friendliest but are proficient at what they do. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is split into two, fortunately we were in the main block if you are in the annexe be prepared to walk ....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hello NomadicWolves ,

I am so glad you posted your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Yes the location can not be beat you truly "minutes away from the attractions on the bay". I will pass on comment about the cleanliness of the room to our housekeeping staff as the truly are great. Thanks so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the end of May and the hotel is very clean and convenient to Fisherman's Wharf. I was very happy to stay in the main building. I would not have liked wheeling my luggage over to the second building and although I did not stay there it just did not give me the feeling of safety that the main building did. I did have breakfast at the Denny's when I first arrived and the restuarant was very busy and the coffee cups that they brought our coffee in had coffee stains on both cups as if they had never been washed. Very nasty!!! I did not go back. The coffee shop in the main building was very clean however as stated by others a little expensive but the convenience makes it ok. I did have a problem with my bill and I have to say the customer service was very poor. I called the front desk when I got home they said they would call me back. That never happened. I called accounting , no response. I called front desk again and finally talked to the manager that seemed irritated that I even called. When I asked why accounting didn't even call back a week later I was told he was sick. Wow one person for the entire operation. If you are lucky enough to stay in the main building and have no problems this hotel is just fine for location and cleanliness. I would have returned but after such a lack of customer service when I returned home to find a mistake on my bill I will go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear rainbow92,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, CA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was picked mainly for location as we wanted to stay on Fisherman's wharf due to friends 'word of mouth'. We were a little surprised by the quality of furnishings as we did not expect much from this hotel, but it was really lovely.

When you enter main reception, its quite open, high ceilings, and tastefully decorated.
The room we stayed in was in the other building which were new and separate from the main building. We stayed on the top floor, which to memory was either 3rd or 4th level, which had great views of the city. The rooms were elegant, and colour palette was great. The kids (which are young) loved the bath.
I loved the pillows as they gave you options with comfort level being 'soft, medium, or firm', thought that was a nice touch. Good night sleep can make or break a trip, so its a nice detail.
Shopping close by if you want fruit or food, Starbuck's walking distance, fresh fish and chip's down the street, trams outside of hotel. Heaps of things close by for the kids. Kids loved the submarine tour and the old amusement museum, which all 5 min walk. A relatively quiet location.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms would definitely have best views. Either facing out to sea or city both nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaxlentash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, This is wonderful, like music to our ears that your stay was wonderful not only for the adults but the most important people the kids. I am very pleased with this feed back and I must agree when said the hotel had great location and great views when on the upper floors. With all this postive feed we hope that your next trip in San francisco is planed with you allowing us to service you and your family with another great stay.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

To start with let me point out its not the Radisson or the Ritz.
It's a holiday inn in a Fantastic location . The rooms are clean and tidy with a nice big bed. Only small set back was it was a little noisy outside with people walking on the footpath but to be perfectly honest after a hard days trawling around San Francisco I had no trouble sleeping .
It is literally 3 minutes walk to the shops and restaurants around the wharf.
Things to do :
Hire a bike for the day . Lots of companies to chose from I used Blazing saddles and with the voucher it was $31 for a full day which was excellent value. Even if your not a cyclist you can plod around at your own pace and can easily make Sausalito and the edge of muir woods . Sausalito is a lovely small picturesque coastal town . The biggest tip I can give you is cycle over to the ferry terminal and pick up a token as soon as you get there. It's easy to do its on the Main Street and this guarantees you a place with your cycle at a specific time to get back. You can still get on without one but if the last ferry was full you will have to cycle back !!
Purchase a Muni pass for $22 each for 3 full days which gives you unlimited access to the cable cars ,electric trams and buses a must for getting around. A single ticket/ride can cost you up to $6.
Alcatraz a really good tour for $30 including the ferry crossing and audio tour. Fantastic value for money and you can stay as long as you want over in Alcatraz.
Top tip take a warm clothes as The weather can be the same as at home !!! Once the fog comes in it can get chilly so be warned .(lots of people walking around after they have had to buy I love San francisco hoodies and coats as it was so cold on the evenings )
Lots of small kiosks down at the wharf selling fresh fish at really good prices just shop around.
Apart from that loved the place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Victormeldrewlmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Fishermen’s Wharf San Francisco, as we strive to make you feel home away from home. This I must agree with you on is that this hotel does have great location for visitors like your self, you don’t have to go far and everything is near for your convenience. It is always a wonderful sound in our ears when we here how wonderful of a stay it was for our guests. Thank you for much for your feed back all is very much appreciated.
Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel could not be better placed for tourists to visit The Fishermans Wharf area of San Francisco. You are only a couple of minutes away from the attractions on the bay. Walking distance to Pier 39 and the ferry to Alcatraz.
The hotel itself is clean and functional. The staff are not the friendliest but are proficient at what they do. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel.
The hotel is split into two, I stayed in an annex across the street from the main hotel. The lower floor faces the street and can be noisy from passing traffic and pedestrians.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the lower floor in the annex if you need a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your review Zeke G. I to find the location great as well as finding our rooms clean. I hope to see you again soon and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Besides the great location, this hotel is average. It is walking distance to everything. The rooms are small and have little, if any noise insulation. I heard the trolleys, dump trucks, and buses all night long. Parking is $50 per night, you can park across the street for $25 all day, overnight, and go in & out as you please.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor and bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank that1dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hello Jennifer S,

Thank you so much for your post. I also must agree this is a great base to launch a San Francisco trip. I will also be sure to share with housekeeping on our clean rooms. Safe travels and and hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3,897 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing