We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better options available!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better options available!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here since sfo was booked up! Rooms we were promised were no given to us we were sent with baggage to the next block. Fought our way back to the main block. Front desk manager extremely unhelpful and unfriendly. And we had 3 rooms!!
Day 1: Ac stops working at 1 am. Front desk says manage till the morning!! Our room included a buffet breakfast.
Day 2: breakfast is supposedly on till 11 but they run out of food by 10.30.
Day 4: we come down for breakfast at 9. And hello! They still out of most items!! Their excuse? It's a restaurant we run out of food sometimes!! I mean is there no communication between front desk and kitchen? Are they not informed that the hotel is at full capacity??? Pathetic!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheetaldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello Sheetaldc,

I thank you for informing us of the issues during your last stay. It is reviews like this that help us improve and strive to provide the best service possible. Thanks to you we have placed measures that will insure that occurrences like your do not take place. I do hope you do not take this just as an apology post but as and invitation to join us again and give us the opportunity to discuss the changes we have made as well as provide you with the proper service. Please feel free to reach me for the arrangements and until then safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    1,632
    886
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,121
1,289
105
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. So much to do in the area!

The room was just a regular room, did the trick.

The concierge did not help us at all. Any question we asked we did not get an answer, instead we received rude snap backs. This hotel provided adequate lodging but seemed over priced.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskatoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Alexis W,

I thank you so much for your recent thoughts on your stay. I am glad that you found our location to our liking. I also agree that there is so much to do in this area it is great. I also thank you for letting us know about the troubles with the concierge as I will be sure to speak the the outsourced service we use. It is reviews like your that help us monitor and work on providing the best service possible. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Some of the reviews I read before visiting this hotel could be off putting but I found it to be clean ,comfortable and restful. The staff were very helpful and the location was second to none for everything on the tourist hit list. The only downer was the lack of coffee tea making facilities in the room. There was a small perculator type machine that did not compare with other hotels I have visited.
We had a great time in San Francisco and the highlight was a visit to Haight Ashbury when the Golden Gate Marathon was on. Given that this area was the centre of the Summer Of Love phenomenon of 1967 we were entertained by thousands of hippy wannabees dressed for the race. Great fun.
If I return to this wonderful city I would certainly return to this hotel

Room Tip: Reserve a room in the main hotel otherwise you might be shunted to the Express across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john fegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello John Fegan,


I would like to take this time to thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, as we are very pleased to have you as our guest and always want to make you feel home away from home. We would like to also thank you for allow us to serve you before you consider another hotel do to some of the reviews about our location. I am glad that we were able to show you that we are here for our guest and we do strive to do better and make it a great place to stay. Glad to here that you were able to take full advantage of all of the attractions in the main local area. We hope that you return to us if ever in the area. Once again thank you for choosing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived from the UK slightly rattled after spending nearly 2 hours clearing immigration. Check in was fast & friendly and we were allocated a king size room in the other building. It's not just across the road, it's a good 200m walk out the entrance, down the road, cross at the lights & then down a side road, next door to the Holiday Inn Express. No grand entrance like the main building, a side door down steps which also serves as the entrance to Denny's or you can drag your cases even further round the next corner and have a flat accessible entrance through the garage. You need your room key card to access the lifts and toilets on the ground floor. Our room was at the end of the corridor, nothing special not what I expected for a Virgin 4V. The view was awful we were on the 2nd floor overlooking the hotel next door & the bin area with overflowing bins! I thought about asking to change rooms but came to the conclusion none of them had great views, mainly overlooking the buildings next door. Being at the end if the corridor we didn't experience much noise from other rooms or doors banging and the nose from the main road (North Point st.) wasn't too bad. Talking about noise, the air conditioning unit was extreme, lucky we didn't really need it. There was no way we'd be able to sleep with that going, the hotel did openly offer ear plugs. Room wasn't overly big, enough room for super king size bed, which was very comfortable, 2 heavy dark wood bed side cabinets & the air conditioning unit. Flat screen tv sat on dark heavy wood chest of drawers. 1 cup coffee machine with very weak coffee bags, desk & desk chair. Safe had a key in a lock, not digital. Hanging rail, no wardrobe & we had to ask for more hangers. Bathroom small and dated. Bath towels not sheets but plenty of them. Shower was good and everything was kept clean. We did try out the pool area which was in the other building on the ground floor next to the car park. Pool towels were rolled up on the sunbeds, the same towels as in the bathroom so not that big. The area is not serviced, we were the only ones there. Went into main building to get a drink but neither the coffee shop nor bar were open. We were told the coffee shop didn't open until 4.30pm. We didn't try the bar or restaurant in the main building but did end up in Denny's a couple of times for breakfast more for its convenience than anything else. We did also try Jacks & Darrens Cafe which were both cheaper than Denny's. Location wise the hotel is only 1block from the front and Fisherman's wharf, handy for public transport & the site seeing buses.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jayne W,

Thank you for your comprehensive review regarding your stay with us. Also, thank you for pointing out the convenience of our location and I am glad you had a smooth check in.

However, I am disappointed to hear your troubles with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and discomforts caused by some items in your room including the air conditioning system and some bathroom amenities.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by hotel's management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We hope that you give us another chance so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We checked into our room and it was located on the ground floor. This meant we had a back door which led out to the streets of San Francisco. When we got into the room I checked the door to make sure it was secured. The back door was unlocked, so I attempted to lock it. The lock was broken. There was also a bar to secure the door, so I tried to put the bar across the door. This was also broken. Essentially we had a back door that would not lock. I wouldn't feel comfortable staying anywhere with a door that doesn't lock, but especially not in a big city.

We went to the front desk to request another room. The individual we spoke with (I assume he was a manager) first asked if we could just "deal with it" for one night. I was a bit surprised this would be his first response. We told him we were only staying one night and that it was not safe to be in a room that did not lock. He seemed reluctant to move us because the hotel was at 100% capacity and it was rather late at night. He did end up moving us to a different room, but I'm sure someone else got stuck in that room with a door that didn't lock.

Otherwise the hotel was fine for a budget hotel. I certainly would not pay full price to stay here (we got a deal through hotwire). It is not worth $200/night in my opinion. I know they charge that because of the location, but I expect a little more for that kind of money.

Room Tip: If you are on the ground floor, check your back door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyena531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello hyena531,

I want to thank you for posting your thoughts on the recent stay you had with us. I do apologize for the issues you had with lock on your door. I am glad we were able to room move you and that you found value in the accommodations. I do hope you stay with us again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We got the last room when we arrived in San Fran, all we wanted to do was be able to park the truck and secure our stuff before touring the area. This hotel offered us just that! Front desk lady was super friendly. No view from our room but we did not seem to experience the noise issue others had mentioned. Being able to walk to transportation, fishermans wharf etc was fantastic. Parking was expensive but just made that part of the cost for being in a popular area, we were only one night $40 per night would add up after a few nights. Room was clean, beds comfortable Nothing fancy but ...it worked great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aloettemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Aloettemom,

Thank you so much for your recent post about our property. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable as well as our staff friendly. It is true that parking is at a premium but we do try to accommodate everyone who comes in a bit earl. Again thank so much and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great Location for Fisherman's Wharf, Good, Clean, Decent size room, let down by charging $40+tax per night for parking
Told that this was the "going rate" however we saw another hotel down the road which offered free WIFI and FREE parking
To add insult to injury, the car park is under the main hotel and our room was in the Beach Building which is 2 blocks away

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisg8468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Chrisg8468,

I am so glad you found your accommodations as well as our location great. Unfortunately parking is at a premium here in the "City" and we do have parking packages where the charge is included in the rate. I do hope you safe travels and look forward to hopefully seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing