We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not get a better location in SFO” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
gloucestershire uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Could not get a better location in SFO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our room 1428 was in the beach building which is across the road from the main building, This isn't a problem though as it has it's own front desk and 24 hr Dennys restaurant. We used the restaurant twice and while it could do with a bit of a referb the food and service were absolutely fine but like the rest of San Fran a bit on the pricey side. All of the hotel staff from the maids to the front desk went out of their way to be friendly and polite and our room was clean and comfortable. It had a coffee maker with coffee and condiments replaced daily as were the toiletries and lots of towels which were replaced when needed. We had a large queen bed and a flat screen tv with about 35 channel plus pay per view. There was an iron and board. a hairdryer and safe in the room.
We paid an extra five dollars a day and had a fridge put in the room then bought breakfast items from the nearby Safeways which saved us quite a few $$. Now to this hotels biggest plus the location. You have a walgreens right outside the front door ideal for picking up odd items like milk or water then next to that is the F-line trollycar stop which runs in a loop from 6am till 2am it stops at Fishermans wharf, Alcatraz landing, The ferry building, Union square, castro (it stops at other places too but I cannot remember them all) and back again. You can buy a seven day pass from walgreens for $28 per person it gives you unlimited travel on San Fran Muni transport including the F-line it really is great value. Fishermans wharf is a 5 minute walk and pier 39 is only 10-15 minutes. I have to say we really enjoyed this hotel and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a fridge for $5 a day and have breakfast in you room you will save quite a bit of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Steve,


I would like to take this time to thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, as we are very pleased to have you as our guest and always want to make you feel home away from home. I am very happy to here that you enjoyed your location and were please with all the near by attractions and local stores that are here for you convenience. We do hope that you visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    1,632
    886
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,121
1,289
105
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

After checking in we were directed to the building around the back and across the road, but
all was fine, room was very clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. Location is very good as close to all attractions and restaurants. Breakfast in Denny's which is in hotel was good but just around the corner is Darrens which is cheaper and much better choice (Blueberry Stack) is Yummy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Julia,


I would like to take this time to thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, as we are very pleased to have you as our guest and always want to make you feel home away from home. I am very happy to here that you enjoyed your location and were please with your Blueberry stack at Darren's around the corner. Again thank you and hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice place to stay, walking distance to Fishermans Wharf, Cable Cars etc. Room was comfortable, stayed on the ground floor but weren't really disturbed by traffic. We didn't travel to the other side of the world to sleep in anyway. The $40 a night for car parking was a bit of a shock. Not sure if thats average for the area. Pizza shop nearby was good. Recommend Boudin's Bakery for breakfast too. Great sour dough and walking distance from hotel, an ideal stop on the way to ferry for Alcatraz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Peter W,


Thank you for choosing to stay with The Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf. We are glad to here that you found almost everything to a conveniences such as Boudins. We do hope to see you in the future and once again thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Preparing for my arrival to SF - Fisherman's Wharf area, a lot of the reviews for the hotel rooms were complaints about the noise. So people want to stay in this area, but don't expect some noise at night??? I totally enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn. Rooms were very clean. My bed was so comfortable. Nice quality linens. Did I hear a cable car at 10pm - yes but I didn't hear traffic or loud noise in the middle of the night. I was never awaken by anything that was going on outside. Actually, everything in that area seems to quiet down around 9:30 pm. I was close to everything. If I ever return to SF for vacation again, I would stay at the Holiday Inn again. All staff was very nice and always willing to take the time to answer any questions I had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello L c,


I would like to take this time to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am very happy to here that you were satisfied with our property and our guest services as we strive to make you feel home away from home. We hope to see you again soon, and again thank you again for choosing The Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Quite expensive but then we were in one of the best cities in the world. Well located near fisherman s wharf .we had a very spacious room staff were helpful and we managed to spend some time by the pool in April which was a bonus. Car parking on site for $40 which seems to be the norm. We left the car and used the tour bus and taxis. Would have liked to try breakfast but quite expensive at a set price, rather than per item. Pergamos is opposite says its world famous not sure why but its what I'd call cheap and cheerfull. Would certainly consider staying here again. Wasn't sure why we paid over $200 per night when on our return two weeks later it was $159. Didn't stay again as we opted for something more central near Union Square. But if you want to be near the water then this was fine.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Tricia B,

Thanks so much for your post on Trip Advisor. Wow at the pool in April in San Francisco you truly picked the right time to be here. I thank you for you response about our " spacious room and helpful staff". We hope to see you again. Warm regards and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our party of six - 3 adults and 3 teenagers found this hotel in the best location to get to so many attractions - all within walking distance, saving the cost of taking a cab. We had two adjoining rooms looking over the pool. The rooms have the average hotel decor but both were always clean with ample towels for 6 females. The Concierge was very helpful, especially with his recommendation of Victor for the airport transfer. The only disappointment with the hotel was the overpriced restaurant, especially for breakfast. Once was enough, quickly found another place near by for half the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCanGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Fishermen’s Wharf San Francisco, as our staff and team strive to make you feel home away from home. This I must agree with you on is that this hotel does have great location for visitors like your self, you don’t have to go far and everything is near for your convenience. It is always a wonderful sound in our ears when we here how wonderful of a stay it was for our guests. Thank you for much for your feed back all is very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

i arrived here on the 16th February 2013 and left on the 23rd February 2013. For a 'few day stay' hotel the facilities are quite good. I went to the pool twice and used the mini gym once. The fridge and coffee maker was a good idea so your water and orange juice doesn't go hot. The only down side is that the safe was a little too small and the room was a bit too small, but you get what you payed for and overall it was a nice stay with a good view of Alcatraz Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah-izobel-wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Fishermen’s Wharf San Francisco, as we strive to make you feel home away from home. This I must agree with you on is that this hotel does have great location for visitors like your self, you don’t have to go far and everything is near for your convenience. It is always a wonderful sound in our ears when we here how wonderful of a stay it was for our guests. Thank you for much for your feed back all is very much appreciated. Please remember we are always here to serve you.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing