We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #92 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our party of six - 3 adults and 3 teenagers found this hotel in the best location to get to so many attractions - all within walking distance, saving the cost of taking a cab. We had two adjoining rooms looking over the pool. The rooms have the average hotel decor but both were always clean with ample towels for 6 females. The Concierge was very helpful, especially with his recommendation of Victor for the airport transfer. The only disappointment with the hotel was the overpriced restaurant, especially for breakfast. Once was enough, quickly found another place near by for half the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCanGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Fishermen’s Wharf San Francisco, as our staff and team strive to make you feel home away from home. This I must agree with you on is that this hotel does have great location for visitors like your self, you don’t have to go far and everything is near for your convenience. It is always a wonderful sound in our ears when we here how wonderful of a stay it was for our guests. Thank you for much for your feed back all is very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    1,632
    886
    257
    147
See reviews for
1,121
1,289
105
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

i arrived here on the 16th February 2013 and left on the 23rd February 2013. For a 'few day stay' hotel the facilities are quite good. I went to the pool twice and used the mini gym once. The fridge and coffee maker was a good idea so your water and orange juice doesn't go hot. The only down side is that the safe was a little too small and the room was a bit too small, but you get what you payed for and overall it was a nice stay with a good view of Alcatraz Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah-izobel-wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Fishermen’s Wharf San Francisco, as we strive to make you feel home away from home. This I must agree with you on is that this hotel does have great location for visitors like your self, you don’t have to go far and everything is near for your convenience. It is always a wonderful sound in our ears when we here how wonderful of a stay it was for our guests. Thank you for much for your feed back all is very much appreciated. Please remember we are always here to serve you.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my fifth or sixth stay at the Holiday Inn and i usually choose it mainly for it's location (1300 Columbus) which is handy for both North Beach (my favorite part of San Francisco) and the Hyde St Pier area. The hotel is very popular with tourists and can very busy. If the Fisherman's Wharf area (which seems to get tackier each year) is not your cup of tea you'd probably be best off staying downtown! Rooms here are what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn, fairly large and spacious, clean and good quality. Request a room on the 5th Floor (Business Level) or the 4th Floor (Priority Club) if you can.

Room Tip: 5th Floor (Business Level) or 4th Floor (Priority Club)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, Thank you for sure great positive feed back, we appreciate the honesty when responding, its feed back like yours that help new San Francisco visitors make a good decision when getting ready to book a hotel room. We are most happy when we have learned that we have pleased our guest to the best of our ability. Once again we thank you for staying with us and the feed back is appreciated.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had three adult females so we selected a "junior suite" with two double beds. Room info indicated one in our group could quote "kick back on a sleeper sofa". The sleeper sofa turned out to be a vinyl futon which really was not designed to be used as a bed. We had to request bedding which could not be attached or tucked in, thus the one guest spent the night with pillows and sheets slipping off with each turn. The double beds were okay comfort wise, but the room overall seemed in desparate need of a refreshing. The bathroom was too small, even if there had been only two of us. A wet bar type sink in the main room along with a mirror nearby served as her grooming area for one of us. Noise was a big problem here - we overlooked an alley between buildings and construction noise seemed to go on day and night. We also had a very unsettling encounter with another guest in the underground parking garage. Best thing this hotel has going for it is its location - it is well within walking distance of Ghiradelli Square, Fishermans Wharf, etc. So if you're not there for the hotel amenities, this hotel would work for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenB832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello AileenB832,

I thank you for your recent review on your last stay with us.I am so glad you found our location to your liking. Safe travels and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A great location and very convenient to the tourist area at Fisherman's Wharf. We found some very good and fine restaurants. Great view of the harbor and Alcatraz island. Tour boats leave from here. Even saw the seals sunning on a special platform just for them. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, Thank you for such great positive feed back, this is always a joy to here. We as a team and staff strive for these feed backs it makes us feel as we have done our jobs. Once again thank you so much for staying with us and the great feed back.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

On the last part of our American honeymoon we were very much looking forward to spending time in San Franisco and knowing the brand holiday inn we thought we where in safe hands. How wrong we where! 1st we where kept waiting 45 minutes for our room with no apology ask 6 times if we really wanted a double room with 1 bed for 2 men and the room we where offered was without a doubt the worst room I have even seen. The bathroom was disgusting and clearly had not been clean since the last guests had left. Our new room wasn't much better. Wall paper hanging off the walls and celiling dirty marks all over the walls.
A total waste of money and very very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear hulljack,

Congratulations!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments here on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize for the fact that you were not satisfied with the services and quality of our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

NSW Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in April and overall hotel was comfortable. Checked in at main building but room was in wharf building so had to walk over with luggage. Room was big enough and beds were comfortable. Had to turn off air conditioner because it was so noisy and we couldn't sleep with it on. There is no fridge which I like in a room. Free wifi was good and fast and the location is fantastic, right near Fisherman's Wharf and not far from the cable car stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dare2Dream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Dare2Dream1,

I want to thank you for your recent post upon your stay. I am so glad you found the rooms comfortable and spacious and that the free Wi-Fi was "good and fast". It is true we do not have fridges in all the rooms but they are available upon request. Thanks again and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing