We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay at ground floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“do not stay at ground floor!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I got a room on the ground floor, just of a back street, and a big wall across it.
In the middle of the night, ten young people were just standing there shouting. early morning, cars were running their engines. Terrible.
40$ + VAT per day for parking...
Not a good place for a business trip.

Room Tip: Do not take any room number 1xx, on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nir1703,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience the room assigned to you may have caused. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    1,644
    894
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,134
1,302
107
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

When I go to San Fransicso I expect to pay more for my hotel but the Holiday Inn is not worth any extra money. Where do I start?? The front desk staff was very slow with check in. When I did check in, I asked for a quiet room. The clerk offered me a room in the newest part of the hotel across the street. The pool is the main area of the hotel. I really did not feel comfortable trying to cross a street in a wet swimming suit to get back to our room so I opted for a room in the main section. The clerk assured me my room was quiet because of another building between my room and the street. My room was on the first floor. The room had a very large glass window that looked out into a alley(oops the front desk forgot to tell me about the alley between the two buildings). The alley was ok during day light but at night cars were driving up and down all night and people were in that alley all night long. It was down right scary to realize the only thing between me, my family and what ever was in the alley was a thin piece of glass. The beds were cozy but the porcelin in the bathroom was cracked. The room was dated. We checked out the pool, it was clean but the water was cold and no hot tub?? so I decided a warm bath would be nice. As I ran the water in the tub, the tub water was turning gray from grease left in the tub. It took 3 or 4 bathtub fulls of water to get the water clean enough to step into. The drain was broke of course so the water disappered quickly. The next morning we decided to ask the conciegre about some trips around the city. We tried several times during the day to get his attention away from his phone and his laptop. He never ever looked up at us to acknowledge us. After about 5 different times of trying to talking to him during the day we gave up. We had the same problem with the guy at Starbucks in the lobby. He looked at us and turned around and walked in to the back of the store. We went to the Starbucks around the corner from the hotel and it was wonderful. If there was good part of this hotel it was the bell staff. They were friendly and right there to call a cab for us and help us with bags. One night in this joint was way to much for me.

Room Tip: Maybe the new section of the hotel is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassngal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on the customer service we provide. We will pass your kind words on to the bell staff, and we will address your concerns immediately.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were walking distance to many amazing sights! Staff went above and beyond to help us in any way! Loved it here! There was a small park across the street for our puppy. Shops and restaurants all walking distance. The bus tours started a block over... Tons of exciting action to be seen right from the hotel. We had an amazing view of Alcatraz. The concierge helped us get tour tickets.. Bellman gave us a hand with parking and our room. The lady in the restaurant gave us tips on how to save money with our kids! Everyone was super helpful and friendly. The on site store was a bit pricey, but a Walgreens was just down the street. We had never been to sanfrancisco before, and we're extremely happy we chose the holiday inn for our first trip. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Day, We are so delighted to here that you had such a wonderful stay, its comments like yours that lets us know that we are doing our jobs thank you for that. I am pleased to here that you were able to take advantage of all the attractions in the area, most with in walking distance. We hope that you return to San Francisco in the near future and aloow us once again to wow you during your stay. Once again thank you for choosing is to stay with and allowing us to give you that home away from home feeling.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location, just a 5 minute walk to Fisherman´s Wharf and Pier 39. The hotel was able to accommodate a last minute change in our reservation which was greatly appreciated. The staff was helpful. The room was very clean. Thank you Minnie! There is a nice restaurant across the street where we had a delicious breakfast and the Hollywood Cafe down the street was very good too. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure your reservation is in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good Day, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us during your visit to San Francisco. We strive to deliver the home away from home feeling for each guest, so to here such wonderful feed back is great to here and we are happy to here that you were able to take advantage of our location by visiting the local attractions and restaurants that are with in walking distance. We hope the in your future visits to San Francisco you allow us to service you with our great customer service.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on a trip over from the UK. Check-in was efficient and we were pleased to receive a priority club gift.
The room was spacious and the wifi worked well.

Useful to have a fridge in the room. Excellent housekeeping and a very comfy bed.

Next time we're in San Francisco we will say here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Jester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good Day, We would like to take this time to thank you choosing to stay with The Holiday Inn Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco, and also thank you for such good feed back this is always a great thing for us as is let us know we are doing our jobs once again thank you. We are happy to know that you were well taken care of and for you to return is always a plus and great to here. Once again that you for staying with us and we hope to service you in the near future.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel and staff are well up to expectations.Rooms are a very good size and beds comfortable.Ours was a super king size and very comfortable.
Rooms on Priority Club floor have small refrigerator as Standard.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Shower is in the bath and my only slight negative is that as a tall person the Showerhead is only at chest height.
My wife likes the bathroom mirrors which allow her to easily see the back of her head when drying her hair.

Room Tip: Priority Club membership helps to get superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good Day, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco, as we strive to give our guest the home away from home feeling. We appreciate the feed back it’s always good to here what our guest think about us as a hotel and as a team. We hope to service you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel March 2013 and found it to have everything we needed and to be close to everything. The service was great, including the room service meal which was not expensive. The hotel also provided a coffee machine and coffee and a small fridge in the room. My stay included access to free wifi. Be aware when you book that you are booking the correct hotel as the holiday inn express is in the same street. This hotel is located on 1300 columbus and from my room on the fifth floor I could see Alcatraz.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor facing waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good Day, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco, we are pleased to here that we met your every need as we strive to give our guest the home away from home feeling. We appreciate the feed back it’s always good to here what our guest think about us as a hotel and as a team. We hope to service you again in the near future. We are also happy to know that you were able to get a great view which is a great thing here in San Francisco. Once again thank you so much for staying and we hope to provide you with our service in the near future.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing