We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was a good choice, great location very close to fisherman wharf and tourist shops. The staff was very friendly during our stay, gave us much info about what to see and do. We stayed here only for 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    1,642
    890
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,130
1,299
106
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Fisherman’s Wharf for five nights in late January and early February. The hotel has an excellent location on the corner of Columbus Avenue and Northpoint Street. You can easily walk just a few blocks up Northpoint to reach one of the city’s famous cable cars lines (Powell-Hyde Line) and/or visit The Ghiradelli Chocolate Factory. If you walk down Columbus Avenue, you’re quickly in Little Italy which, in addition to great restaurants, has a beautiful park (Washington Square) with a lovely Catholic Church across from it. Just beyond Little Italy is Chinatown with its great restaurants and hustling, bustling street markets. To get to Fisherman’s Wharf and The San Francisco National Maritime Park, walk down Leavenworth or Hyde (or any other parallel street). Also, some rooms (like ours) afford good views of Alcatraz. Otherwise, you’ll have a great view of the island as you walk toward the sea. Also, if you’re interested in enjoying the nightlife on Chestnut Street, there’s a bus which runs to the area (no. 30) and the bus stop is on Northpoint just before Hyde Street.

The hotel itself is very nice. It is five stories tall (that’s why some rooms have great views). We stayed on the 5th floor, The Priority Club Floor. The room was spacious and included a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee maker with an excellent coffee/tea selection. There are three elevators so access to all floors is very fast. In the lobby of the hotel there is a Concierge’s Desk where you can obtain maps, get assistance with tour bookings, etc. There also is a Starbuck’s which is open in the morning and then again in the evening.

We booked a room which included a continental breakfast. It was far above the standard continental breakfast in the US. It was a self-service buffet which had a variety of breads, several different cold meats (i.e., ham, turkey, roast beef) and several cheeses (i.e., cheddar, swiss). There was also hot and cold cereal, yogurts, sweets (i.e., muffins, donuts, breads, etc.) and fresh fruit. Starbuck’s coffee was served in a thermal carafe and the waiters always provided a “to go” cup. For about an additional $5, you could also have eggs and/or breakfast meats cooked-to-order. We didn’t opt to do so because there was more than ample food on the buffet.

If you’re a shopper and want to venture away from the tourist places near Fisherman’s Wharf, walk down Northpoint (in the opposite direction of Hyde Street), you’ll reach Northpoint Mall. It has a variety of shops including a great Safeway. Nearby are a Trader Joes, Ross and Cost Plus.

In summary, we think the Holiday Inn Fisherman’s Wharf is a great place to stay in San Francisco! In addition to being able to walk to many sightseeing spots, you can take affordable mass transit to all other parts of the city (i.e., Embarcadero Center & Ferry Building; Finance District, etc.). We highly recommend the hotel and we’ll use it again when we next visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location of the hotel is amazing. Its in the beautiful fishermans wharf, also safe and clean location. Also, in the corner theres a wallgreens, a starbucks, food. And most important, just across the street you can take the bus for almost everywhere.

The room is great, really comfortable, absolutely clean.

Amazing experience :)

Room Tip: I chose the side building, where theres a dennys, wich was better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked the hotel via priceline for $80/night, and I don't know if that had anything to do with it, but we were put in a room in the secondary building across the street. The room was on the first floor, facing an alley - it was really loud during the night, but we had thankfully brought earplugs - you can also request complimentary ones at the front desk. The bed was comfortable though, and the shower was very nice. Almost all TV channels didn't work, and the internet was incredibly slow and wouldn't work for longer stretches of time, so I guess it wouldn't be the best hotel for people here on business. We didn't make use of any of the amenities such as the gym or pool, so I can't review those, but despite everything, it was affordable for SF standards and you really cannot beat the location. The 24h Denny's in the lobby was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are bound to have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tanya R,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the shower.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the internet connection, television and the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the location is great, very closed to pie 39, lots of restaurants nearby. but the parking is tooooo expensive, $40/day. the room and service is good, but can't tell differences with holiday inn express next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Fisherman’s Wharf for five nights in February and were pleasantly surprised. We booked the room through Hotwire for only $80 a night, and, even with taxes and fees, the total cost per night was only about $100 – a steal for a three-star hotel in such a great location.

We arrived a few hours early, but our room was ready and check-in was quick and smooth. We had a room on the second floor with two double beds facing the pool side of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean, and the beds were nice with a choice of soft or firm pillows. Everything in the room worked, including the TV, the (free) Wi-Fi, and the hairdryer. The room was quiet – we were not aware of any noise from the window side or the hallway during our stay (it might not have been so quiet in the summer, but no one was using the pool in the winter!). Each day, the housekeeping services did a nice job of tidying our room up. There was a little business center near the elevator on the second floor, and we used the internet there to print our boarding passes, all free and easy. In fact, there were only two (slight) negatives about our stay: 1) the ice machine was out of ice on our floor, but it was easy to get to the next floor and get ice there, and 2) on our first night we caught the smell of pot in our room (clearly, coming from another room), but this smell went away in a few minutes and we never smelled it again.

As others have mentioned, the location of this hotel is superb. You are only two blocks walk from Fisherman’s Wharf and all its attractions: the Bay and Alcatraz tours, many other city tours, the sea lions at Pier 39, the Aquarium, and, of course, all that yummy seafood and sourdough bread. You are also within a couple of miles of the Presidio, Coit Tower, and Chinatown. Several bus routes pass close to the hotel, and the bus system in San Francisco is great, only $2 will take you anywhere you want to go. We took the bus out to Lincoln Park, with its gorgeous ocean views and fantastic Legion of Honor fine arts museum. And the cabs in Frisco are surprisingly reasonable. For only $15 one -way, we went downtown on a cab and caught a symphony concert. In fact, I was glad we did not have a car in Fisherman’s Wharf – not only is a car not necessary, but parking throughout Frisco is a hassle and expensive.

I reviewed two local restaurants (Codmother’s and Tarantino’s) separately here on Tripadvisor. We also ate breakfast at three other close-by places during our stay: 1) Denny’s (just OK), 2) Hollywood Café (pretty good), and 3) Joannie’s Happy Days Diner (excellent).

All-in-all, we thought the Holiday Inn Fisherman’s Wharf was an excellent hotel for the money, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't bring your car here. Everything is accessible by walking, bus, or inexpensive taxi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul5795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good noite.estamos pedados at the holiday inn in francisco.fomos pessimo atendindo are in the kitchen by the attendant. Our request did not come right and we were complaining that they were giving charão coup, unlike the pay for a product that not comenos by reason of not sending the attendant who asked not too thick to notice the order right. outside the room of the hotel and a dust headwaters are paid by the hotel that has a filthy room .. and it really bad to the hotel and a pen that happen at the hotel this size.

Room Tip: Good night, have to choose a room but clean dust free ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CINTIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear CINTIA F,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the over all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,826 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3,892 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing