We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/location for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #86 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife, kids (7,5,2) and mother stayed here over MLK weekend. It was a great location and a very nice hotel. The staff, from the front desk to the maids, really go out of their way to be kind and helpful. The hotel has an above-average breakfast and is centrally located for all Fisherman's Wharf activities as well as a short trip to GG Bridge or Union Square. Wi-fi in the lobby but only hard-wire connection in the rooms (info is misleading on company website) so don't expect to connect your phone/tablet in the room. Also, my only other complaint would be the $45/day parking. They also don't advertise this information on their website and don't tell you about it until the day you check out. In hindsight I checked the local area and other parking options and you are basically screwed. There are no better options but the hotel should do a better job of explaining that your $135 room rate is really $180 after parking. If you can avoid having a car, that would be the best choice. Also, this hotel is close to a 7-11 and Walgreens so anything you forget or need is not more than two blocks away.

Room Tip: We had two 4th floor rooms, tucked away. Lady at front desk offered putting us in a quiet area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casinorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have to say I was REALLY disappointed with this hotel. We checked in and told that we were not in the main building but another building a block away. They claimed there was a bell boy that would take our bags there (we waited forever, none came) and we ended up walking with all our luggage in the rain a block away. There were many other who were also making the same walk that were just as upset as we were. I don't understand why they just don't call it a different hotel all together?? Internet was pathetically slow, I ended up finding some free internet somewhere and used that instead. The front desk said it was slow and were working on it. I had called technical support and asked and they said our internet connection was fine, the hotel just had a slow connection. Having said all that I will admit it is a great location. You are right at fisherman's wharf and everything is very close.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Marty889,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our location.

However, I am disappointed to hear that you have to transfer from one building to another. I understand the discomfort this has brought you and as such, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be used to consider future improvements. We all hope that you give us another chance so we can show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you've been to Vegas, you know about the long walk to your room: You walk through the casino to hotel registration, get your key, and then walk through the casino some more to get to your room. It's always a long walk to your room. I thought of those long walks while walking to the room in this hotel.

The lady at the front desk said it was in the other building. There's no direct access from one building to the other. In fact, we had to park at the main one and hike down the block and across the street through an entrance to a Denny's. And there was the rest of our hotel. The hallways are depressing and have an old, forgotten look--well in need of an update. And our room--for some reason, I thought the lady at the front desk said we'd have a view of the fisherman's wharf, though my wife insists she said that this building (the one down the block) is just CLOSER to the wharf. It is very close to the wharf, which is very convenient. When I opened the window, it had a view of the homeless fella singing to the passers-by--and he wasn't sitting on Fisherman's Wharf; he was sitting in the entrance of the Denny's. So we have a lovely view of the entrance to the Denny's.

This part of the hotel (the one detached from the main Holiday Inn) is, for some odd reason, connected to the Holiday Inn Express. However, it's not Holiday Inn Express. No, that's a completely separate hotel.

Good luck with the in-room wifi. It's slow and of very low quality. It works, then it doesn't, then it'll work for a bit, and then maybe it won't. And just so you know, parking is $40 (plus tax) per day if you're idiotic enough to bring your own car (which I am).

I wish I could give this hotel 2.5 stars. It's too disappointing to be a 3 star, but not horrible enough to be a 2 star. And the location--it is admittedly great. With all the downers--ugly, worn furniture, crappy wifi, view of the Denny's entrance--we're at Fisherman's Wharf. It's right there. We didn't come all the way to San Francisco to use wifi and appreciate hotel furniture. We came to eat soup served in bread bowls and laugh at the other tourists. Where? At Fisherman's Wharf, that's where--and we're there.

Room Tip: When they offer you a room in the other building, make sure you don't care about the long walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Ryan M,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to these identified weakness.

I trust that the above issue will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really nice spacious hotel. The staff were so friendly and very helpful with transport, getting around, hailing cabs, attraction advise, dinner reservations etc.
Tea / coffee facilities in the room.
Only thing I did not like was that we were on the bottom floor so heard people chatting outside. In the early morn.
However we booked this last minute as horrific Internet traveller had set us up to stay in the metropolis hotel on mason street.....filled with drug dealers and takers, prostitution and homeless people. A tour we did warned tourists to stay away from there at night, so thankfully we managed to book the holiday inn as this was such a pleasant experience
Location is real handy. So close to pier 39 where you can go see sea lions and do bay golden gate cruise tours..
Yummy room service menu

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyoats1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, had a corner room which overlooked the busy intersection of Leavenworth and Beach. The receptionist noted it was noisy and asked if we would like to wait for a different room but we stuck with the room for early check in. It was noisy during the day, but after 10PM until 8AM we never noticed anything too loud to bother us. The rooms were pretty cold without the heat on, the age of the hotel shows by the cold air that creeps through the huge window in the room. But the heater kept up with it and the room was very comfortable temperature-wise. The bed was very comfy, the pillows seemed a little worn and could be updated. They weren't so awful that we had to ask for more, just noticed they weren't as fluffy as others. The bathroom was nice and spacious, updated shower heads helped the appeal of the otherwise unremarkable decor of the entire room. The big upside of the hotel, is the location. A walgreens store within walking distance, the main stop for the Double Decker bus is literally a stones throw away, several eateries and Ghiradelli Square are all within walking distance....(although some are more uphill than others) Overall, this is a great hotel for the price and a steal considering the location. If you plan on being in the hotel only for sleeping and spending most of your time out and about, this is a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for an interior room. The windows are older and not good barriers for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerainier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear aerainier,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry about the noise and the poor pillows during your stay. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent room. Quiet and close to everything! Excellent restaurant. Friendly staff! Clean room!

Giradelli square up the street.. Cable car turnaround close! Airport shuttle $17. Fisherman's wharf close.

Room Tip: Parking expensive, but expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryNiceJojnstownPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've stayed here a few times over the years and I absolutely love the location. One block from the main drag of Fisherman's Wharf. Very touristy area and lots and LOTS of restaurants and bars nearby. Hotel rooms are comfortable, with mini fridge in mine.
They have a gift shop, restaurant, and lounge.
Parking here was $40 per night, but I'm told that garages in the area are not any better. Still, that's a lot when added to the nightly rate.
Short walk to Alcatraz tour boats, to see the seals/sea lions on the wharf, to outdoor crab vendors, and the Historic Ships museum (which I only recently discovered but loved)

Room Tip: probably not a huge difference but...if you were on a lower floor near the alley, you'd probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilookforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,333 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#111 of 230 in San Francisco
4,193 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $131 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing