We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #90 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location. Close to the wharf, cable cars; we walked everywhere or took the city bus. One of the greatest "finds" we stumbled upon was the City Walking Tours" offered thru' the Library. We found the brochure at City Hall ( a great place and offers a free tour) and we took 3 community tours. The most memorable was the Painted Ladies.... our walking guide was a retired hematolgoist oncologist who was passionate about his tour. We even went into a completely renovated painted lady type home restored back to its original state, including the wall paper. It was amazing and the highlight of the trip. Older hotel (at least the section we stayed in) ...seemed to put a lot of Canadians in that building. Quiet and enjoyable...City view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    1,502
    815
    240
    127
See reviews for
998
1,193
95
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of my trip to the US and was able to fully relax in this hotel. I was happy with the room size, the bed was comfortable, pillow options were great, TV, fridge and microwave, desk and plenty of room for my luggage! The location was quiet, except for the wind that howled outside one night - the corner location on the top floor was not ideal for this but only one night and I was so tired, it didn't matter once I was asleep.
The location of the hotel was in walking distance to all the attractions of Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39, plus Ghiradelli Square and was close to the location of the cable cars, street cars and sightseeing buses for those who wanted to explore further. The concierge was very helpful in providing information about what to do and local transport options.
Check in staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the housekeepers were efficient.
There was a restaurant in the hotel, and was open extended hours, but I didn't eat there, preferring to explore food options outside. The food did look very nice and fresh however.
I was recommended this hotel by a friend and would stay there again, and have recommended to other people.

Room Tip: Corner room on top floor is noisy when it's windy outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
226 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location is excellent for exploring the city in a few minutes you can get to Fisherman's Wharf, or Ghirardelli Square, the Hotel is also very close to two terminals of cable cars. The hotel is not bad, the staff is nice, there is a large car park for a fee. Room is quite and clean even though the view of the inner courtyard is not exactly the best. The room price is quite high though in line with San Francisco prices. The wi-fi is free of charge while breakfast is extra. All in all our stay was positive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaITrAvEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyongah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a very basic hotel there was no fridge in our room and we had to be careful of the security when coming in and out it was in a great spot within walking distance from all the piers on the wharf probably wouldn't stay there again

Room Tip: Be sure and check out the position of the room before you check in because outside one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazwyongah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in November 2012. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and the check in process was handled efficiently. I agree with some of the comments regarding the furniture, but our room room was clean and tidy and quite spacious. Having a two cup coffee maker in our room would have been preferable (common sense to me if it is a room for two!). Fisherman's Wharf, and in particular Pier 39 is a very popular place and the hotel's location is perfect - a short walk and you are there! However, what you gain on one hand ....... I agree with the previous comment about the street cleaners - I, too, was woken up at approx. 2.00 am. Earplugs would be a definite advantage! That said, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: It is a busy area and the delivery drivers and street cleaners are out and about really early. Mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before and been satisifed. This time the guy at the front desk put me in the worst room on the planet. He called the Club Accesso whatever BS he gave me. From 2am until now (5am) there have been a parade of huge trucks parkiing and unloading right outside my window. 2 am was street cleaning. This is insanity. Who cares about anything else if you can't sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wunderlust2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you where unable to get a good night sleep. Unfortunately, this is not the first time guests at our hotel have been unable to sleep due the City of San Francisco's cleaning trucks. As a result we offer complimentary ear plugs and sleeping masks upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was a bit tired, beds were not very comfortable, furniture was tired and there were a few broken things in room. That said the rooms were clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was the major highlight, however I think you could get better value for money at another hotel in area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#28 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,740 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#102 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#52 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#56 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing