We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for visit San Fran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #89 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place for visit San Fran”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed this hotel two years ago and I realy liked it. This time I brought my family with me and stayed. This place is realy good for experience fisherma wharf. Just park the car at the parking and the tram station is 3 minutes away on foot. Also there are lots of restaurents in walking distance. Last time I walked to the restaurents area which is a block away and had really nice seafood pasta there. There are lots of nice restaurents and shops, good for haning around with kids. Also Pier 39 is not far away. If you are driving your car, Safeway is 5 minutes away so you can buy things when you need. Also you can drive to marina area, where you can see the alcardtz island and golden gate bridge, which is the perfect place to take photos. In the early morning before breakfast, I drove the car to the marina area, which is close to safeway and we watched the golden gate bridge when the Sun rose and it was fantastic. Please try it. I will definitely visit this hotel next time.

Room Tip: ask the upper levels~
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118hyejin118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    1,701
    919
    263
    156
See reviews for
1,184
1,349
109
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Staff was great, rooms were great and location was incredible!

I wished I could have stayed longer! I will definitely go back!

Our check in was smooth, they offered everything we needed. They help us to find everything we were looking for. I am a holiday inn lover, but this one was great.

We were in the Beach pavillion and the location was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascalelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I am usually patient with hotels, but as soon as we checked in we decided to cancel our remaining stay and move hotels. I will say that the service was not a problem and the location was great. However, it is VERY pricey for what you get. Obviously the location is the driving factor, but the hotel was incredibly outdated and felt dirty. The bed sunk into the middle as if we were at a cheap motel. For the price, we were expecting a little more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully next time you are in San Francisco you will give us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Lohberg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The last stop on our pacific highway journey from LA to San Francisco was in the city of the Golden Gate Bridge. We looked forward to Fishermans Wharf and ran the Golden Gate - by the way its a 15KM run from the Wharf and a brilliant one! So all in all a great city and a great stay... if it wer´nt for the Hotel we stayed at. The location is brilliant the rest... not so! The rooms were cold and damp. The beds felt as if plenty of Frisco Fans had already stayed there. The service - unfreindly and very standard operating process orientated! All in all very disappointing and not one of our favorites!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDynamicDuoLohberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon, at the end of our trip. We were very disappointed by the entire stay. We had expected a cool hotel, in a cool, laid back area of SF. What we got wasn't a cool hotel and certainly not a laid back area - it was busy, loud and full of tourists. Our fault for picking it perhaps but it doesn't excuse what we experienced at the hotel.

Waiting a while to check in, it appeared there was a problem with our booking as the lady disappeared to "check something", coming back a few mins later, seemingly relieved she had sorted our room. Despite booking a year in advance, had they not allocated our room correctly? We found our room to be average with nothing much to write home about.

That night, we asked the concierge for a cab into town. We got put into his "friends" taxi, which took us to town for a flat $20 rate. This cab turned out to be unmetered and the actual ride was never more than $12 when we did it again during our stay. We didn't feel the hotel should be using unsolicited cabs like this. Perhaps they benefited in some way from it...

The first night in our room was appalling with the air con in the room above audible through the ceiling all night and the noise outside in the street constant until about 3am. Of course the hotel can't do anything about the noise but perhaps double glazed windows would help minimize the sound intrusion and also modern air con units wouldn't be so audible?

We complained about the room and asked to be moved but were told it was too late in the day and no one was around to clean our room and offer it to anyone else. We asked what could be done for us and we were offered...earplugs.

Promised they would be brought up to us immediately, the earplus took two calls and 40 minutes to arrive and then...how can 2 people use 1 pair of earplugs is beyond me!

Overall we found the hotel to not live up to the other Holiday Inns we have been in and offered poor facilities and poor staff service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GTC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apology and know that your review will only help us improve on the service we provide. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Third time staying here. Knowledgeable friendly staff to greet you with a cheery smile. Spacious comfortable rooms. Good Coffee Shop to purchase meals including breakfast. Concierge was always available and very helpful. Great location to all amenities and the hotel has free computer usage for guests. Always popular with families and usually busy.

Room Tip: Ground floor always busy with young families, the higher you go the quieter it seems to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uksunseeker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having read a lot of the TA reviews, I was not too sure about this hotel.
However, the price (about 120 $ a night) was excellent compared to other hotels.

We arrived quite early 1PM, but we were allocated a clean room immediately. We had to go to the Beach Building (separate part) for our room. However, this building has a reception and a restaurant, so it is not a problem. The room was Holiday Inn standard: Roomy, clean, all amenities you could wish for.
Previous reviews mentioned noise and thin walls a lot, I did not notice this at all.
Now for the even better aspects:

The hotel is right in the middle of everything: 2 cable car stops within 200 meters,a streetcar stop in front of the hotel, Fishermans Wharf area one block away, and the Hollywood Cafe (the number 1 rated restaurant in SF on Trip Advisor) is around the corner.

We had breakfast in Denny's (inside the hotel) during our hotel, and this was really quite good. It is an old-fashioned diner, with superb service, and large and varied amounts of breakfast. Prices were reasonable with about 10$ per breakfast.

The Holiday Inn arranged us a towncar to oakland airport for a good rate, and it was on-time.
All in all, an excellent place to be.

Finally: Lots of people complained about the speed of Wifi. I checked in on-line for 2 different flights in about 5 minutes, no problems!

If I come back to SF, I will stay here again. Well done Holiday Inn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mvanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 229 in San Francisco
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing