We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmington, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would not stay there again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the third floor, were given a room with furniture and furnishings from the 1970's, scrapes and tears on the wallpaper, dings and scrapes on bureau, beds were very comfortable and that is probably the only plus of the entire room. Our view was of some back alley . Nothing is free at this hotel, we didn't even get toothpaste. I don't think we would stay there again. Even the parking was outrageous...$40.00 per day? Breakfast at the hotel costs a minimum of $15.00 PER PERSON it was actually higher than many of the dinner entrees. The concierges there need an attitude readjustment course as well. The only nice and friendly people were Helen in the Gift Shop and the Bell Hops as well as the silver hair guy who worked the restaurant take out area and made excellent coffee lattes. Not what I expected of San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    1,644
    894
    257
    148
See reviews for
1,134
1,302
107
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barkhamsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very convenient location for a short visit. You can walk to the piers, restaurants, and shops at Fisherman's Wharf or get on a trolly just around the corner. Continental breakfast was good, the staff was courteous and helpful. Parking a car can get expensive ($45 per day + taxes) so leave your car somewhere else if you can. Our bathroom was on the small side but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVCCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stopped at HI for 4 nights 9-13 sept before flying onto Las Vegas it has two buildings the main and just around the corner the annexe which is where we stopped the room was very clean and tidy we did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that but we had no complaints on our stay.

It is close to all the tourist attractions though you would have to get a bus to the golden gate pier 39 you can easily walk and its a flat walk unlike the rest of san francisco! if you are a beer drinker there is a great bar minutes away called jacks bar which sold over 40 draught beers.This was our first holiday in the USa and we absolutely loved san fran and will return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived in the early afternoon. We were met with a pleasant receptionist, who took our holiday voucher, issued keys and offered advice as to the hotel and local area. We found the room clean with a very comfortable bed, with everything provided which we needed.
That evening we chose to eat in the resturant. The food was good, the service fine. At the same time we checked the breakfast menu, which we thought expensive, choosing instead to eat out.
The major issue was with the WiFi. It was so dreadfully slow, even if you use the in house computers they are equally slow. So slow in fact that by the time the page has filled the screen the responding wb site has timed out. So its, start all over again. Patience becomes very short very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are two sections to this hotel and they put us away from the main building but because we only had room only did it matter, no! So we can't say anything about the facilities in the main building because we didn't go there. Rooms were old fashioned, could do with modernising, bathroom was big but it had no shelving to put your toiletry bag, but generally ok. It's main feature is how well it's placed to get around San Francisco, there was a coffee near to have breakfast or a drink when you wanted, next to the trolley car stop that went around the city so easy to get back to, right next to Fishermans wharf that hosts plenty of restaurants, the hop on hop off tour buses start only two roads away, this hotel was a great base for our trip, if you want to relax then no but then who wants to relax in such a wonderful city, also a good feature for our block was a 24 hour Resturant that can be accessed via the reception, it was a Denny's so the food was good. Would I book this hotel again......yes!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ur travel agent booked us into this hotel for our only night in San Francisco. We were really please with our double queen room - lots of space & comfortable. We were 10 mi utes from Peir 39 & Girardelli's Square - both places we wanted to go. We took at vantage of the 12 noon checkout to have more time in the area. Rooms were clean, staff friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Book early, good value places in Fishermans Wharf can be hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for Fleet Week and it is nearly a perfect location. No real need for a car as taxis are plentiful as are buses, trolleys, etc. There are more restaurants of every ethnicity within 10 minutes walk than you could eat at in a week. My issue with the hotel is they told us that they offer no rollaway or beds for kids. They advised that if they were small enough they can curl up on the seat and ottoman that is offered but that was it. We opted to have our child build a fort and sleep on the ground. The staff was very helpful in providing extra pillow, blankets, etc. Overall the staff was very good, the room clean and spacious, a quick serve food outlet in looby was also helpful as we were on the run quite a bit. I would stay there again without kids but not sure I would with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbshkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing