We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay he if you need Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #90 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay he if you need Internet”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This has got to be one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. They advertise free Internet - very important to my husband for work purposes - the first time we asked if there was anything that could be done to increase the speed from 5 minutes to load one page, the staff told us that it was free - what could we expect - we were happy to pay for any service that worked but after three days of being pushed from pillar to post, including the manager - we left and checked into the Marriott across the road.
We waited for 15 minutes at Denny's for someone to take our food order and eventually left to get pizza from a fabulous street vendor close by.
The staff at this hotel couldn't care less - unless you don't need Internet access and are happy to stay in a dated hotel with terrible service, avoid this one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank leesavflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFWharf, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our complimentary internet service does have its limitations. We are in the process of upgrading it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    1,703
    921
    264
    157
See reviews for
1,185
1,355
109
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Upon checking in, we were told we were across the road at "beach"hotel.
The gym and pool are in the main location.
We were offered a porter though to carry our bags.
Room was ok, clean and a good size. Quiet with views over the street.
The gym was disappointing, just a rack of weights, not very heavy with no bench and no weights machines, just a few cardio machines. I booked this hotel on the basis it advertised a fitness suite. Trade descriptions should look in to this.
Upon checking out, the receptionist and the porter in the beach building were really helpful. He stowed our bags while we went for breakfast and sightseeing and organised a car to take us to the airport at lunchtime.
Location for Fishermans wharf is great, Dennys is in reception if you like that for meals, t he staff were friendly and the rooms clean. We were only there for two nights so it served a purpose but I would want a bit more from a hotel if it was my main holiday location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Fisherman's warf area is like a tourist trap from the 1980's - cery strange area. Hotel had a Clean room and Very friendly/ helpful staff. Could do with an update form the 90's to the current century... Wireless Internet was very flaky - I couldn't work at all (not even check e-mails) from my room. I would not recommend to business travelers. Overall an average stay with above average staff - but didn't seem worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear SJS_YVR,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with our Wireless Internet connection and any inconvenience may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here late last autumn.booked it through another site.Seems if you book through non travel agents you end up in the beach building across the road.Initially you feel like a second class citizen as you are asked to book in at the other building.
On booking in we had to give our credit card details incase you use the pay per view tv etc in the rooms.We have been to the states before and always paid up after our stay.
Hotel room was clean and tidy no worries there. Beds comfortable bathroom but dated otherwise adequate as your on holiday and really most of the tine should be spent outside the hotel.
No noise at night or in the hotel.
Denny's restaurant in the beach building was ok
but as for a better selection you have to go further downtown.
Location is fantastic for the wharf and surrounding tourist attractions.
Take the castro cable cars 2$flat fare to get downtown etc.
hop on bus route is 2blocks away.
Did not find the weather a problem as we were from Scotland but if you go to see the golden gate bridge perhaps take hoodies as the weather changes every 5yards on the bridge. A good way to get about is using the bart system
Very fast and frequent service through the whole of san francisco and even over to Oakland to see the raiders or Oakland As play.
one tip is buy the ghirardelli chocolate from wallgreens as it is considerably cheaper than the shops

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It's a Holiday Inn, so expectations were measured.

The location is the main draw here - ideal for Fisherman's Wharf, Alcatraz, etc - just don't expect opulence. The staff seemed professional enough and there was a Denny's near-by should you need something quick and easy to eat.

The rooms were acceptable and clean enough.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel very average. Rooms showing signs of wear and tear. Location great. Very short walk to Fishermans Wharf and Cable Car. We were upgraded to a room with a Bay view (just) as I'm a gold Priority Club member. Restaurant average. Didn't like flies under plastic cover over breakfast pastries. Worst feature has to be the cost of parking your car. $47.50 + tax. That was more than the daily rate for our rental Mustang. By far the most expensive parking of all the hotels we stayed in during our California road trip, and that includes the Venetian in Las Vegas and the Loews in Santa Monica both of which had Valet parking for less.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDG424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived here for 3 nights after leaving the bellagio in Vegas.

The check in was smooth and very friendly. The room was average but very clean. The bed was so so comfortable. Awesome location to where we needed to be.

The only complaint was on our last night before a long flight to New York, there was a party next door which kept us up. But as soon as I complained we where moved which I was fine with. And we had our last night in one of their suites, which was great.

Fantastic customer service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alenney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 229 in San Francisco
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing