We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #66 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Quick and friendly check-in with business level accommodations. My room was across from the executive lounge which made it a little noisy, but since I get up early, it wasn't a big deal. I would stay there again, just in a different room.....

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CRoth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. Let us know ahead of time, call us! We will block out the room that you want. We appreciate that you submitted this review, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    1,249
    654
    209
    115
See reviews for
625
1,022
201
1,163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was a Priceline reservation. When I looked at the location on a map, I was afraid that the hotel wasn't really close to anything significant. Boy, was I wrong. It turned out to be an ideal location. It's right on the edge of Chinatown, just a block off Chinatown's main street, Grant Avenue. It's only a 15-minute walk from the wonderful Ferry Building. The Little Italy section of North Beach is 15 minutes or less on foot. Union Square is about 20 minutes away, and the closest BART station, Montgomery Street, is also about a 20-minute walk.

The hotel was generally excellent. The room wasn't huge, but it was perfectly comfortable and quite clean. On the high side, our room overlooked the rooftops of Chinatown, which was really charming.

I had two minor gripes. The breakfast buffet was nearly $25, which is probably typical for big city hotels, but was annoying nonetheless. (On the other hand, because of the hotel's near-Chinatown location, they had a number of Chinese dishes on the buffet. Having all-you-can-eat dim sum for breakfast was great.) More annoying, however, was Hilton's policy of charging a daily fee for WiFi acess in the room. It's not unique to this hotel, and it's a bad customer service policy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for submitting this review. Managment strives to improve upon the service and accommodations. Your feedback will further assist in this effort. Recently, we upgraded the hardware for the wifi. While there is a charge in the guest rooms, the wifi is complimentary on the Lobby level. Breakfast is, indeed, priced comparably to the local hotels in the area. Still, we understand how this affected your stay. Our team hopes that you will still choose to return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location and helpful check in staff. We booked a room on the top floor as balconies were only available on this floor - the view over the bay is stunning!!! I will stay here again though I don't feel this hotel reflects the hilton standard. Rooms are in serious need of an update - furniture is battered and worn and looks like it's been there since the hotel opened. Colours and decor are outdated and unwelcoming. But..... The balcony is fantastic and the staff are great - very pleasant and efficient. We had a great stay but I would have been saddened had we had a room without a balcony - if we had the executive standard, I worry about the rooms that aren't considered executive.

Please update - it's a great location but needs some improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emersyn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for submitting a guest review. Our team is thrilled that you enjoyed the service and the views from the top floor which are priceless. Management is reviewing your feedback with the Engineer and Housekeeping team to further inspect and correct the issues that you experienced. Thank you for the generous scores and kind remarks, especially in light of the issues noted. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Awesome two night stay on the 27th floor at Hilton (Financial District) in San Francisco. Best balcony view in the city! Room was clean and comfortable. Only issue was that we couldn't turn off the fan in the bathroom...which contributed to some background noise. Otherwise, a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank zcounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words and generou scores. The view from the 27th floor is priceless! I assure you that our team is correcting the issue noted with the fan. We hope that you will return to enjoy the view again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location. We've stayed in many Hilton properties over the years and this is among the best. Service was exceptional, room was big and clean. Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was well above average. Can't go wrong here, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
It is great to hear from one of Hilton's best guests. Thank you for the perfect score and very kind comments about the service and accommodations. We look forward to your return. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great location, as some people have mentioned the rooms are somewhat small but we didn't really spend much time in our room. At check-in, the desk attendant Elmer was very friendly, asked if we'd prefer Bay or City view. After unpacking, we went to the front desk and asked for walking directions, a different (female) staff member told us about Union Square having their tree lighting ceremony that night and gave us walking directions. Every staff member we interacted with was very nice and smiling. As some people have mentioned, they have a lounge for Hilton Honors members, this lounge was very nice but yes, they did have trouble stocking everything (they were out of espresso one morning) and the hot appetizers did go fast and the single attendant did have their hands full both days we went. Still overall a very nice hotel, great location and very friendly and helpful staff. (very comfortable beds as well). We did not use the in-room coffee maker or spa or fitness center

Room Tip: Parking across the street is $27 a day compared to $50+ to park in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Our team strives to deliver the Hilton Brand Promise, which is to ensure that every guest is cared for, valued, and respected. It appears that Elmer and the team delivered upon this promise. I assure you that our management team is recognizing Elmer for capturing the spirit of our hospitality. We look forward to your return. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I cannot think of one negative for this hotel. Granted that we we we on the executive floor with view of Chinatown, free expanded continental breakfast on the 26tg floor, and free yummy snacks and honor bar there every afternoon (saw some folks pile their plates so high with the chicken skewers that it was clear it was to be their dinner). Staff throughout the hotel gracious, with special compliment to Eric at the front desk who eased us after our car had been broken into blocks away at out dinner restaurant. Hotel parking expensive, but the city Portsmouth parking is right across the street at $27 for 24 hours, actually inexpensive for SF. Hotel clean, didn't hear neighbors or cleaning people. Great!

Room Tip: If you want a bay view, ask in advance. Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesui P, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
This is perfect news! Thank you very much for the perfect score and kind comments about the service, namely Eric. I assure you that we will recognize Eric for the kind service that he provides to each guest. We look foward to your return. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,026 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Property: Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing