We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #72 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed so far”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was rated 4 star and we were hoping to get away for a romantic Valentines weekend. We ordered a king size room. When we checked in the front desk employee said "sorry we see your reservation is for a king size room but we are giving you two SINGLE beds". And these are truly single beds. The room feels like a college dorm. I don't know who would call this a four star.

They also told us it was because tomorrow night was too booked - so that means that they are booting us to single beds for our entire stay so someone else can have our king bed room tomorrow night. They tried to compensate us with free wireless (which goes in and out) and breakfast, but I would much rather have the room I reserved and paid for. Oh well. Now we know not to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyross7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent holiday trip. We strive to accommodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    1,337
    710
    236
    128
See reviews for
708
1,096
213
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Hilton is one of my top flags that I use, but this hotel is just tired. Location is okay, but on the fringe between financial district and china town. Okay hotel, but needs renovation.

The elevators are horrible - long waits. I have stayed here a few times, and that is typical for me.

There are better options in San Fran.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are saddend that our service and accommodations fell below our standard. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. We hope that you will return to our hotel and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Buried in Chinatown but just two blocks from the heart of things: a really excellent Hilton, with marvelous beer & wine selection and quite excellent food - in the dining room or at the bar. Very helpful personnel.....and great Chinese restaurants (e.g., R&G Lounge) and coffee bars (La Boulange) nearby...as well as Old St Mary's Catholic Cathedral.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the generous scores! We are very happy that you enjoyed the location, service, and accommodations. We appreciate you! Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We always get our own room when we travel but a friend talked us into sharing a room on this trip. Big mistake. The bathroom doesn't have a real door, it has a sliding door that sits several inches away from the wall so there is a big gap between the doorway and the door. Worse yet, the doorway is wider than the door so you're always on public display and if anybody opens the door into the room then anybody walking down the hall can see right into the bathroom. I really don't understand why the hotel management thinks this is an acceptable situation. If you are not intimately acquainted with someone, don't share a room with them at this hotel. On the plus side the staff was very friendly and helpful and the view was like a postcard. It's in a great location but I shouldn't have to use the bathroom in the lobby just to get some privacy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We thank you for your kind score, especially in light of the issue noted. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for the inconveniences caused. I assure you that we are closely monitoring the feedback of our guests. We hope that you will return and give our hotel another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a two-night business stay at this hotel. The location was great, centrally located to great shopping and many places to eat. The food at the hotel was very good as well, and the servers were very helpful. The beds are comfortable, but there is some noise outside as is typical in a city. The biggest drawback to this hotel was that the elavators seemed to not be working quite right during my stay. The room itself is small but adequate space for a person or two, with a nice lounge chair and desk area for working. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Would suggest higher level room...on 17 i could still hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate you. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I got this Hilton Hotel by Name Your Own Bid on Priceline. I have never been to San Francisco and so Financial District meant nothing to me. I like seeing as much of the city I am visiting as possible so I opted to take the BART to Montgomery and walk to the Hotel. Unfortunately, my GPS had other plans and took me all the way down Market Street and then up California St. I had to call the Hotel for directions which were to walk up California and make a right on Kearny St. Once I turned on Kearny, I was apprehensive as the street did not look like it was part of the Financial District but instead Chinatown. I finally saw the hotel which was decorated with Red lanterns and pagodas framing the doors marking the beginning of the Chinese New Year festivities starting the next day. Check in was a breeze, wi-fi is not free in the room (why??) but computers are available in the lobby. My room 621 would be considered small but I loved it! The large windows afforded an expansive view of houses on the hills and the bay. The bathroom door slid closed allowing for more saving on space and the wall to wall desk facing the windows was aesthetically pleasing. The bathroom was small as well and dated which was the one blemish in the room. The hallway carpets are lumpy but the windows afford one great views of Chinatown. I think this Hotel is more in Chinatown than the Financial District but the location was great, the service friendly and so I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miicha04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for submitting a survey for our hotel. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in December and booked on the executive level. Room on top floor had amazing view and the room was large and comfortable. The lounge had a very good breakfast and nice afternoon happy hour. The parking attendants were especially nice and whenever we called them our car was always waiting for us when we walked outside. The location is simply outstanding!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
This is very unfortunate news to hear that one of our best guests will be staying elsewhere. Our management team will further review our offerings to our best guests. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for any inconvenience this caused. Should your travels bring you back during the weekend, please contact the Front Office Manager on duty to assist you with other options for the appetizers in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
2,383 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 229 in San Francisco
4,411 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Property: Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing