We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #68 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Cruz CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed over a Saturday night in SF - got a good deal on this hotel through Expedia, $123 for a nice room on the 18th floor.

Check-in was easy - and after reading other reviews we asked for a room away from the construction. The check-in rep was very nice, even said "welcome back," as apparently we stayed here a few years ago, but I could barely recall that stay.

We arrived about 2 p.m. and the room wasn't ready, but we had already parked in the hotel garage, so we decided to just walk around the neighborhood until the room was prepared. They gave us a 3 p.m. check-out for the 24 hour parking ($45) the next day, which was nice.

Room was very spacious and clean. We especially liked that the whole wall of the room was one huge window with great city lights view once the sun went down. The window actually opened to let in fresh air. King bed was very comfortable. We never heard any noise from other rooms or from the hallways; city street noise was slightly audible, but that's a part of being in the city, isn't it?

Easy walk to many areas .. we took the bus to Pier 39 to meet friends, but easily walked back. We were meeting some other friends for dinner, decided on a restaurant in North beach and walked there and back. Never felt at all uncomfortable in the neighborhoods. The next day we walked to Yerba Buena Gardens and the MOMA, and also wandered along Mission Street toward the Embarcadero and back ... lovely.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trencita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    1,271
    660
    210
    118
See reviews for
637
1,036
202
1,181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We went online with the Hilton website and reserved a room for the executive floor with valet parking package. We ordered the Welcome package to have Sparkling Wine and Chocolate covered Strawberries in our room upon our arrival, scheduled at 16:00. The room was reserved for 3 people, so we had requested 2 queen size beds with extra pillows and extra towels. We also opted for a bay view room for an extra $12.00, pending availability.

We arrived at 16:20 and were asked to wait 20 minutes for our room. Silly me, I thought it was to prepare the room with our special order. As all of this was a surprise for our friend, you can imagine our disappointment when we found our room without Sparkling wine, without chocolate covered strawberries, without extra pillows, with no towels at all, only 2 glasses and 2 coffee mugs, and no plush robes. I tried to call down to the front desk, but the button sent me to Zip Checkout. There were no codes for the different locations, only specific buttons. I tried Housekeeping and it did not answer. There was no ring tone at the Concierge. I went down to the front desk. They verified I was to have all that and said they understood that I was upset.

After waiting a long time, a maid brought 2 robes. I sent her back for a 3rd robe. I found a maid cleaning a room and got a clean glass and coffee cup (which in the morning I found had dried sugar at the bottom of the supposedly clean cup). She had no clean towels. Room service (I could have ordered room service upon arrival in the room, but we had wanted it waiting for us, not us waiting for it) arrived with the wine after over an hour, and with just 2 glasses. He took one from his other wine delivery. Our towels came later. We did not get a bay view.

In the morning we verified online what came with our room on the executive floor: continental breakfast, plush robes, and controled corridor access, among other amenities. We had no idea where the Concierge Lounge was. In some Hilton's it is located on the executive floor. We couldn't find it (and there was no controled access between floors and no special key to get to these executive floors) and I couldn't get ahold of the front desk or concierge. Housekeeping said it was in the lobby. We went down for breakfast, only to see that we needed coupons. The front desk (same lady as the day before) said we did not have free continental breakfast. Excuse me. She did give us three coupons when I didn't meekly say okay. It was like pulling teeth for everything that we were entitled to, for which we paid dearly.

As much as we like to stay at Hilton, we will AVOID staying at the Hilton Financial District Hotel again. The only positive experience was the Door Man "Pacifico". He was wonderful, helpful and always pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svraisondetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

I really like this hotel. Everyone we had contact with was friendly and helpful from the valet to the engineer who came to fix the thermostat. But, wow, the noise is maddening.

Our room was bright and clean with a desk that ran all the way across the room. The view was Coit Tower to Alcatraz and beyond. The thermostat didn't work and an engineer was there within five minutes of the call. Service everywhere in the hotel was beyond expectation.

But beware, it is one of the noisiest hotels I've ever experienced. The room to room noise level is bad. From 9pm to 11pm we were treated to the giggling and yelling of the family next door. Noise from outside was about as bad. We were on the 21st floor and it sounded like we were at street level.

Still, it is a very good hotel in a great location. I have to recommend it. Just bring your noise cancelling earphones.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had booked and paid for a room with bay views, and on our arrival on 10th July, they told us there were no one avilable until 11th. After one and a half our arguing with Mr. Ed [-], he finally offered us one room with bay view and applied a credit of 75 dollars to our account. This is not the way customers like to be treated when they paid already for the room, and the compensation sounds ridiculous after quarrelling such a long time for something that was our rigth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAVIERGS1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
211 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

First, let's talk about the location. It's not really in the financial district, but is in Chinatown. Which, for us, was fine, but a surprise. Being in Chinatown and a few blocks from North Beach, the restaurant availability was great. But pretty far from public transportation. Good thing we like to walk.

The service, however, was astonishingly bad. We went out on our first full day and ran around. We got back around 4:00 p.m. and our room had not been made up. We called houskeeping and were told that the housekeepers were leaving at 5 and if we had wanted an "early cleaning you should have asked"! Amazed, we spoke to the hotel manager, all smiles, who told us that his room had not yet been made up, and the hotel was very busy. No comped drink while we waited, no upgrade to full breakfast only, as W. C. Fields would put it, a "hearty handshake". We were not happy....

Then, the bill that was slipped under our door for express checkout, was incorrect. We had booked the room directly with the Hilton website, and had a confirmation (thank goodness we had it with us) noting the charges and taxes, and an estimated total. The bill we received had 1) one night's parking (we did not have a car) at $55, and 2) a daily "green fee" of $9.95. We were there for 4 days. We protested the parking charge ("did anyone come to visit you with a car"?_ and asked about the green fee. We had assumed it was some quirky California San Francisco environmental thing and just another tax. Well, we don't know what it was! They didn't explain, just took it off the bill. So it was certainly not a tax, and was an overcharge of some sort. Very peculiar indeed. And if they hadn't tacked on the parking fee it wouldn't have occurred to us to ask about the "green fee", since, being from NY, we are used to all sorts of oddball taxes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

1) noisy room - construction next building; unpleasant noise from next room throughout the whole night. I complained to front desk the next morning. Instead of switching me to a different room, I was told to stay one more night since my neighbor checked out. I later found a pair of ear plugs in the room, provided by the hotel, how ironic! I don't feel they care about their customers that much.

2) window was so dirty - I don't need to close curtain.

Location is convenient and free internet in room. However, it's definitely not a 4-star hotel. Will not stay here next time.

Room Tip: Very noisey room, very dirty window. Location is convenient. I was allowed to check-in earlier than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn_Huge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Very helpful staff.

Filled with lovely touches like the Cuisinart 2-cup coffee / tea maker. I went down the next block to Grant avenue and got some beautiful Chinese teas, and some of those red bean sesame pastries, and hosted my business meeting in style. :)

Fabulous views, windows that open, and a 10 minute walk to Union Square.

Quality experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUNANDGAMESTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#85 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#47 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Property: Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing