We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great benefits for Priority Club members”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #120 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great benefits for Priority Club members”
Reviewed November 11, 2005

While I agree that the quality of the rooms was a little below Holiday Inn standards, this hotel is OVERALL GREAT VALUE especially for Priority Club members. Free buffet breakfast !!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    466
    403
    104
    87
See reviews for
224
323
106
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2005

There were people screaming loudly with bullhorns every morning we were there for hours on end. Apparently this had been going on for over a year before we got there but management never said ANYTHING about it. If their employees are outside their hotel annoying guests, management owes it to the customers to say something!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Fresno
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2005

First of all,the negative reviews on here are not justified in my opinion. Maybe I went at a decent time or something. This place was very quiet and clean and very friendly staff. There were homeless people ouside but few and far between. I saw like 5 or 6 homeless in this area and that was over 3 days time. Some people on here left such bad reviews I was scared to death to go,after seeing it for myself,I dont see what those peoples problem was. Maybe they are from small town USA and havent seen homeless before. As for the area itself,it is dirty and very much big city,but everywhere in san francisco looked like that. Fishermans wharf area,also has homeless people and is filthy,so I dont see the area of this hotel being any scarier than the tourist area. I really wish I had not read the negative reviews before hand,it made me really scared. I urge people to make a decision for themselves ,if your a scaredy cat that cant handle a guy with a cup then you better not go to san francisco at all.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank ScrappinTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

I live in SF and stayed here in 2003 when we had a heat wave. Since residences don't typically have AC here in SF we sought refuge at this hotel, knowing it was cheap ($99) and had AC. Well, I was really suprised what a value this is. The area outside is a bit schetchy but it is very decent inside and the pool is actually pretty decent (most of the time in SF it would be too cold to use). The rooms have balconies too which was kind of fun.

The problem is you are in no mans land. You have a really long 5 big city block walk to the shopping areas and you have to walk through homeless central and all the strip joints. That's really a shame. But if you don't mind that it's a good deal. I would certainly not bring children, dainty women, or old people here. They would not be able to deal with that walk. You are only a block from Starbucks though so at least you can fortify yourself before beginning your morning hike through the homeless encampments.

Stayed June 2003
Helpful?
5 Thank sfchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We have travelled across USA building up the priority points and decided when we reached San Francisco to stay in a Holiday Inn. Well not what we have come to expect. For a start the reception staff are at best rude, thats when they bother to even acknowledge you are waiting. The room was good but noisy, I accept that if you stay in a city center you expect noise but this was on the thirteenth floor and was still more noisy than even New York. The restaurant was very poor again bad service and food quality was not great, we even had off milk at breakfast which I would think is one of the basics. The area was not great, although you do have good access to public transport, you have to walk past all the beggers to get to them. Although this appears to be a problem with the whole of San Francisco. If we stay in San Fran again I would stay on the Harbour side of San Fran near the piers a much better bet even if a little more money, its worth it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2005

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago on our first visit to San Francisco. I remember pulling up outside the hotel and immediately locking the doors while my mum and I waited in the car. We decided to 'dress down' when we first went out so we didn't look like tourists. We headed to a nearby burger place as we were really hungry and I remember there being a security guard on the door and the man in front of us in the queue was paying for his burger from his days takings in a styrofoam cup. As we ate our meal a drugged up/mental guy was shouting at people at random.

We then went to walk up to the nearest cable car stop. I was physically shaking because I was so scared. Everyone seemed to be high on drugs and homeless (however, the day we arrived it was a really hot day so maybe its not normally like this) We were so concerned we stopped a police officer further down the road to ask if this area was safe to walk around. He simply laughed and said 'as long as you don't venture up there at night' pointing towards our hotel!!! Maybe he was joking!!

We had a city tour booked for the following day and as confirmation (as if we needed it!) the guide as we drove through the civic centre area said 'ok, this is an area you don't wanna be!!" We were grateful to be leaving the following day.

It was such a shame really because the hotel itself and the staff were really quite nice its just the location that lets it down. For this reason I really would not recommend this hotel to anyone for that reason only. Its also because of the location of where we stayed that we now have a low opinion of San Francisco and its our least favourite American city that we would never return to. I'm sure if we'd have stayed elsewhere we'd probably have a different view.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadamMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andra-Hoech, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2005

The hotel is great and the staff was very helpful. But the location is not very good because of many homeless people at the street.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerhardp0sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#175 of 229 in San Francisco
2,994 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#137 of 229 in San Francisco
300 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#101 of 229 in San Francisco
541 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#161 of 229 in San Francisco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing