We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Holiday Inn - Civic Center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #126 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn - Civic Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here in early June 2014. Rooms are clean but not 5 star quality. The air conditioning is a floor unit which is very noisy when it is on. There is also very little to do around this area. However if you are driving, there is a secured car park within the hotel which is very convenient. Since this area is outside the normal tourist area in Union Square, would not recommend walk around at night. The charges for car park is daily and can be charged to the room. Overall this hotel can be considered a 3.5 star, but very clean.

Room Tip: Take a high floor. Also be aware that the location is not good for casual walk abouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLTan-Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Civic Center for your stay in San Francisco. Currently rated as a 3 star hotel we pride ourselves in exceeding our guests’ expectations of quality by providing a great and modern hotel, in a central San Francisco location, at a very competitive price. We are within walking distance of museums, music venues, and some of the most up-and-coming restaurants. Located a half block from a major transportation hub, all of San Francisco is easily accessible.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    430
    384
    96
    84
See reviews for
204
303
103
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I agree with other travelers about the neighborhood. It's pretty sketchy around the hotel, but the location is central to everything you need to do or see in San Francisco. The staff is great and the facilities themselves are clean. I had a nice room on the top floor and spend some time in the restaurant and the food was OK.

Access to the BART and the airport is a great feature for the hotel. It is right off of the UN Plaza station and is a quick walk to the hotel.

Room Tip: This is a busy area of San Francisco - a higher floor room is definitely better for the noise factor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawerence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our location and took advantage of it for your sightseeing! Our staff strives to maintain a beautiful building while also concentrating on service to our guests. It’s nice to hear when we have succeeded. Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Civic Center and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.
Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I would give this hotel a lower rating if I judged it on 'area' but for 'location' and the hotel itself it was ideal. The hotel is very close to the Bart and only a 10 minute walk to Powell so is easy to access everywhere in the city but without the price hike you get from the small boutique hotels in Union etc. The rooms in some areas may be noisy and you are provided with earplugs by the hotel so take that as you will! From my point of view our room was opening onto a back street and we were on the 14th floor so it was generally the usual city noises you would expect. I did wake up (due to jet lag) and hear shouting but in general the noise did not wake me. You do have to be careful where you walk , especially at night, but it is as you would in any other city and there are plenty of travel options - it's $12 from the wharf to here so not extortionate.

The rooms themselves are clean and a decent size and beds comfy after a long flight and the security is good as you have to use a key card to access the lift etc. Coffee making facilities were available and a Good choice of coffees etc

Staff were friendly and helpful and it was generally a good value for money stay.

Room Tip: 1410 was quieter and less traffic noise etc to disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy your enjoyed our location and took advantage of the nearby shopping and local attractions! We are very glad that you were able to enjoy our hospitality. Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn; we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zeland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Pool wasnt clean. Situated in not so good area which we didnt realise with being travellers.
The rooms were small and of average standard. We didnt really expect this from Holiday Inn as most of the ones we have stayed in elsewhere have been very good value for money. We had a weirdo outside our room knocking and trying to get in. Rung security they got him out of the building but didnt ring us and tell this so were on edge for the night. Couldnt work out how he got in there. Outside of hotel alot of homeless frequenting the area.

The guy at the Hotel bar (Gary) I think was great and the service good. The restaurant provided a very good meal and the service was good.

The woman who checked us in was great and very helpful. She was not on duty when the guy was lottering around outside our room.

Room Tip: Dont think i would stay here again due to the guy hanging out in the corridor and the homeless peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to share your praises to our Front Office staff and with Gary in our lounge. Our staff is a proud reflection of our brand standard to embody great hotels guests love, and we are grateful to hear they met your needs. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and for not having our Security Manager follow-up with you. We appreciate the opportunity to grow from your comments in our continuous efforts to uphold our brand reputation for creating great hotels guests love.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was due to participation in Push America's Journey of Hope event. At check-in, we were greeted cheerfully and expertly by Mark, and the process was quick and easy. He also took the time to assure a follow-up reservation we had for our daughter for the next night was also taken care of. We were given all the information we would need for public transportation including the cable cars as well as other attractions. Our room was pleasantly appointed with all we expected. It was clean, the furniture very comfortable, and the usual noise from the air conditioning was absent. I happened to have a follow-up question as we were leaving the facility and talked to Darrin, a very pleasant doorman/porter. He was helpful but most impressive was he remembered me and my family during our whole visit. We had breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed the buffet, it being complete with everything from eggs, sausage & bacon to fresh fruit and cereals, juice and coffee. While all this was above expectations, we found the area of the hotel to be in a less than favorable area with homeless encampments on nearby streets, people with appearances and actions which could lead one to believe they may not be in a safe area, and access via a one way street that if you don't know the location, you may find it difficult to navigate to. And while there is on-site parking for a fee, which compared to other areas is reasonable, don't come and expect to fit a large SUV or other oversize vehicle in the garage. While security seemed very adequate, notices are posted to advise not to leave valuables in vehicles. Over all, we would stay at this hotel again when in San Francisco due to the staff, service, and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Choose a north side room above floor 9 and room numbers above 25 (odd) to avoid view blocked by near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay for your Push America’s Journey of Hope event! Thank you for your kind comments regarding Mark and Darrin. Mark and Darrin aim to support visitors in making the most of their stay and they will be happy to know a guest appreciated their service. Please know they will be recognized in our next staff meeting. We are glad you were satisfied with Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center’s consistency in our brand’s commitment to comfort and cleanliness. Being in the heart of a highly-populated urban city, we are located in a diverse community. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your stay in San Francisco and hope to welcome you back to should you find yourself needing future hotel accommodations.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel. Staff is nice. I am a Gold Member and the person in front of me at the hotel was also a Gold Member and got a free upgrade. I wasn't offered that, so that bothered me. Not sure how they go about picking and choosing. Parking is $42 at the hotel. There is a parking garage next door for half that amount, so I recommend that. The hotel is in a decent area, however there is some riff raff. A few blocks up it gets nicer. Hotels are more expensive as you move up towards the water though, so if you can compromise walking past some ruff street people, then its worth paying a little less. It's still expensive, but still less than other hotels. There was also garbage under my bed and a mans sock.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to GM at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Gold IHG Rewards Club Members are highly regarded as loyal advocates for our brand and Holiday Inn Civic Center continuously seeks to reciprocate that dedication. We apologize for this momentary setback as well as if you felt you weren't offered a free upgrade. If you would like to discuss this with our Front Office Manager, David Camacho he will ensure you are taken care of. He may be reached at 415-626-6103 or david.camacho@ihg.com.

Being that parking is limited in the middle of bustling downtown San Francisco we do have to charge a comparable rate to guests who need the additional accommodation. However, we apologize if the parking fees were an unexpected expense. We do our best to provide the most value to our guests as our parking lot is secure, permits 24 hour access, and allows in-and-out privileges. Many other local parking facilities enforce limited operating hours and/or no in-and-out benefits, but depending upon your needs with car access they may be a considerable option.

Gold IHG Rewards Club Members are highly regarded as loyal advocates for our brand and Holiday Inn Civic Center continuously seeks to reciprocate that dedication. We apologize for this momentary setback as well as if you felt you weren’t offered a free upgrade. If you would like to discuss this with our Front Office Manager, David Camacho he will ensure you are taken care of. He may be reached at 415-626-6103 or david.camacho@ihg.com.

Being that parking is limited in the middle of bustling downtown San Francisco we do have to charge a comparable rate to guests who need the additional accommodation. However, we apologize if the parking fees were an unexpected expense. We do our best to provide the most value to our guests as our parking lot is secure, permits 24 hour access, and allows in-and-out privileges. Many other local parking facilities enforce limited operating hours and/or no in-and-out benefits, but depending upon your needs with car access they may be a considerable option.

Our Central Market location is in the heart of the very exciting San Francisco changes with culture, entertainment, history, technology and government all coming together along with vibrant new housing and restaurants. We greatly apologize about the garbage under your bed; our Housekeeping Manager has been informed and will ensure this should not happen again. Thank you for your feedback in our continuous efforts to learn from our guest experience. We hope for the opportunity to have you back with us and earn your loyalty once again.


Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Holiday Inn Civic Center is on the same block of a BART station which make its a convenient place to stay. I would suggest staying at the executive or club floor which have the newer or updated rooms. Balconies has a great view of the classic Ophelia theater. The hotel is also within walking distance to coffee shops and convenience stores but a lot of homeless people in the neighborhood which may make it seem unsafe at nighttime. Rooms are clean, Beds are fairly comfortable and has the traditional holiday inn pillow menu. Overall a decent stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expl0rerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to GM at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Public transportation is most travelers’ means of getting around town and we are pleased you found our location to be convenient for this need. The Central Market location is in the heart of the very exciting San Francisco changes with culture, entertainment, history, technology and government all coming together along with vibrant new housing and restaurants. As safety is always a first priority for our hotel, we do implement security measures to reassure guests with confidence and comfort. Holiday Inn seeks to give guests a sense of value, comfort, and reliability and we are pleased you felt Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center was reflective of the brand’s reputation. Thank you for your feedback and enthusiasm, we look forward to having another opportunity to host your stay in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#153 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a AAA 3 Diamond, full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco s Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the Jubilee Restaurant/Conversations Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $29 per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing