We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlikely to try this hotel again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #121 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unlikely to try this hotel again”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was average, but the area was full of homeless/drugged people. The gym did not have weights and pulley systems. Only a couple of treadmills and crosstrainers. I liked the balcony attached to my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do have an in-house fitness center for guests, but we also have a partnership with local gym, Civic Center Fitness, where our hotel’s guests have complimentary access for the duration of their stay with us. The gym is only one block from our hotel at 37 Grove Street. We apologize for not making this information readily available upon your stay. We are currently composing signage to better communicate this partnership to our guests.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    450
    396
    98
    86
See reviews for
215
312
106
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed there for five days and enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel was fairly good although there seemed to be a lot of street people in the area, but they weren't a problem. Catching local transport was fairly easy and we were able to make our way to any area we wanted with no problem. Their breakfast menu was varied and quite reasonable in price. The rooms were clean and a good size. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biskitabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It is an honor to receive such positive feedback from a guest of our hotel. We are pleased you found the location to lend itself to easy public transportation as it is one of our best attributes. Clean, spacious rooms and helpful, friendly service are a hotel’s highest priorities and we are happy this was your experience. We thank you for staying at Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center and hope to welcome you back to San Francisco upon your return.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a good hotel: staff very friendly and helpful: even provided us what needed first night as our luggage did not arrive at the airport. Room was spacious and clean, with balcony and nice view. Breakfast was very good and a really continental breakfast: eggs, sausage, bacon...and so on. Only concern is about the area where it is located: not far from the city center (10 - 15 mins walking from Union Square) but it is really in the worst district of San Francisco. Civic Center is really full of drugged people. We had a couple of walks coming back during night/evening and it is very scary. Though they are not dangerous (at least apparently, even they notice you are a tourist and sometimes come to ask for money) it is really NOT NICE walking in that area even during the day.
So, good rate for hotel but very bad for location. I would not come back there but only for the area where it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEB983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your compliments on our room and dining quality. We feel we offer an exceptional product and it is with great pleasure that we hear your experience reflected such. We are glad our staff was able to meet your needs having gone without your luggage the first night and that they were friendly and helpful. Our location is in the midst of a very diverse community being downtown. We are excited for all of the innovative transformations taking place in the Civic Center/SOMA districts bringing about more positive community involvement and presence. Thank you again for your feedback.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have an issue with our hotel room. Due to the fact that we had a connecting door to another room, we were disturbed by an noisy party in this room and we could hear everything as it was took place in our room. We went to the reception to ask for a room change. Front desk woker was not able to decide anything, he called his manager on duty. The manager was telling us that here is not any other room available (neither one!), after some arguing he revealed that they would not like to make up the room. We argued that room was clean, he sent somebody to check it and that we received another room (suddently available!). In this room were broken balcoon doors, so it was really cold there and bathroom doors could not be open from inside!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. While we can't necessarily control the behavior of the guests in your neighboring room, my staff should have immediately resolved the problem to your satisfaction. I find my staff resisting moving your room over concerns about cleaning the room unacceptable and will be addressing your complaints with them.

Thank your for your feedback. It will help us do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

baltimore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this room because it was one of the only hotels in the city that had smoking rooms.Knowing we would look forward to coming back to our room in the evening,relaxing in or room with a cocktail and cigarette made it a perfect ending to perfect but taxing day in san francisco! The part that made it even more perfect was the balcony great for panoramic views of the city day and night.I was lucky enough friday night to watch amazing fireworks from our balcony!I would definitely stay here again if I was lucky enough to get back to the bay area. The reason I didn't give it five stars was the though the location was central and transportation plentiful the area surrounding the hotel was pretty sketchy and could be a little scary for some.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your four star rating! The best part about having balconies in every room of our hotel is enabling guests to experience the beauty of San Francisco without the barrier of a wall or window. We’re so glad you enjoyed this unique feature. We appreciate you taking the time to review Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center and we look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to the city.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed in many holiday inns so know what to expect. The location is not great especially as its surrounded by building sites. The area has a large homeless population so be prepared for begging. The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful. The first thing to greet you is the parking charges $42 per night parking!!!!the beds in our room were distincly uncomfortable although we did sleep well just woke up with back ache. The laundry is excellent and so is the pooland the resteraunt is very good although a little pricey. We probably would not come back to this hotel but would not be negative about it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get rooms on higher floors its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickydicky666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Our staff strives to bring satisfaction to our guests and we are pleased you found them to be friendly and helpful. There are exciting new developments taking place in our neighborhood as the SOMA/CIVIC Center district is undergoing a major transformation. But with transition sometimes comes construction and we apologize if this was disruptive to your stay. Parking rates in San Francisco can be an unexpected expense for some new to traveling in the city. There are some nearby paid parking lots you may consider the next time you are in town, however they do not allow in-and-out privileges and close after a certain hour. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here as a platinum member on a 4-night reward stay. Stayed on the 14th floor on exec floor. Location on 8th and Market is perfect for me...10-15 minutes walk or so to 'the shops' and the streetcar on Market is 60 seconds from the front door. A great welcome and upgrade. Stayed here 2-3 years ago and it was very 'miami-vice 80s' dated (best analogy I could think of!) The rooms are now of a very good standard. Firm mattress (Nice), Good TV, safe and bathroom. (No fridge..not sure if that's a fair expectation?)

Jessica on the bar was very friendly and served my friend and I our complimentary priority club drink (Pina Coladas for the boys! and a welcome reality break!) and Mark Wood on the front desk was kind enough to print off plenty of my paperwork (again many thanks Mark).

In terms of IHG properties, you can either stay at Fishermans Wharf (No thanks!), The Other HI but it's up a bloomin hill! Or the IC on Howard but the rates can be steep...this place on points is perfect as a base between the shops and Castro in terms of the streetcar. 60 seconds away is a BK if that's your thing along with Sams Diner around the corner on Market (Not bad as an alternative to the $23 in-house full brekky). Deffo my choice in SF...thanks again to Mark and Jessica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdanielmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed our renovation! It is a great compliment to be considered a top choice for a guest, especially a return guest. We do offer refrigerators in rooms at an additional charge, just let the Front Desk know you would like one and they will make one available to you. Thank you for such great feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#140 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#164 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing