We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reluctant personal if problem with room occurs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #120 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Reluctant personal if problem with room occurs”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have an issue with our hotel room. Due to the fact that we had a connecting door to another room, we were disturbed by an noisy party in this room and we could hear everything as it was took place in our room. We went to the reception to ask for a room change. Front desk woker was not able to decide anything, he called his manager on duty. The manager was telling us that here is not any other room available (neither one!), after some arguing he revealed that they would not like to make up the room. We argued that room was clean, he sent somebody to check it and that we received another room (suddently available!). In this room were broken balcoon doors, so it was really cold there and bathroom doors could not be open from inside!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. While we can't necessarily control the behavior of the guests in your neighboring room, my staff should have immediately resolved the problem to your satisfaction. I find my staff resisting moving your room over concerns about cleaning the room unacceptable and will be addressing your complaints with them.

Thank your for your feedback. It will help us do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    454
    397
    98
    86
See reviews for
215
313
106
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this room because it was one of the only hotels in the city that had smoking rooms.Knowing we would look forward to coming back to our room in the evening,relaxing in or room with a cocktail and cigarette made it a perfect ending to perfect but taxing day in san francisco! The part that made it even more perfect was the balcony great for panoramic views of the city day and night.I was lucky enough friday night to watch amazing fireworks from our balcony!I would definitely stay here again if I was lucky enough to get back to the bay area. The reason I didn't give it five stars was the though the location was central and transportation plentiful the area surrounding the hotel was pretty sketchy and could be a little scary for some.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your four star rating! The best part about having balconies in every room of our hotel is enabling guests to experience the beauty of San Francisco without the barrier of a wall or window. We’re so glad you enjoyed this unique feature. We appreciate you taking the time to review Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center and we look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to the city.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed in many holiday inns so know what to expect. The location is not great especially as its surrounded by building sites. The area has a large homeless population so be prepared for begging. The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful. The first thing to greet you is the parking charges $42 per night parking!!!!the beds in our room were distincly uncomfortable although we did sleep well just woke up with back ache. The laundry is excellent and so is the pooland the resteraunt is very good although a little pricey. We probably would not come back to this hotel but would not be negative about it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get rooms on higher floors its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickydicky666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Our staff strives to bring satisfaction to our guests and we are pleased you found them to be friendly and helpful. There are exciting new developments taking place in our neighborhood as the SOMA/CIVIC Center district is undergoing a major transformation. But with transition sometimes comes construction and we apologize if this was disruptive to your stay. Parking rates in San Francisco can be an unexpected expense for some new to traveling in the city. There are some nearby paid parking lots you may consider the next time you are in town, however they do not allow in-and-out privileges and close after a certain hour. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here as a platinum member on a 4-night reward stay. Stayed on the 14th floor on exec floor. Location on 8th and Market is perfect for me...10-15 minutes walk or so to 'the shops' and the streetcar on Market is 60 seconds from the front door. A great welcome and upgrade. Stayed here 2-3 years ago and it was very 'miami-vice 80s' dated (best analogy I could think of!) The rooms are now of a very good standard. Firm mattress (Nice), Good TV, safe and bathroom. (No fridge..not sure if that's a fair expectation?)

Jessica on the bar was very friendly and served my friend and I our complimentary priority club drink (Pina Coladas for the boys! and a welcome reality break!) and Mark Wood on the front desk was kind enough to print off plenty of my paperwork (again many thanks Mark).

In terms of IHG properties, you can either stay at Fishermans Wharf (No thanks!), The Other HI but it's up a bloomin hill! Or the IC on Howard but the rates can be steep...this place on points is perfect as a base between the shops and Castro in terms of the streetcar. 60 seconds away is a BK if that's your thing along with Sams Diner around the corner on Market (Not bad as an alternative to the $23 in-house full brekky). Deffo my choice in SF...thanks again to Mark and Jessica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdanielmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed our renovation! It is a great compliment to be considered a top choice for a guest, especially a return guest. We do offer refrigerators in rooms at an additional charge, just let the Front Desk know you would like one and they will make one available to you. Thank you for such great feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Hotel is ideal for a stopover short stay,or business people, location is not so good, but not far to walk to the centre, Bart is just a 5 minute walk and this makes the location good for travellers from the airport.
The rooms we had was large, clean and very comfortable,with free wifi, the restaurant and food was very good with a reasonable selection,staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would come again.

Room Tip: we had top floor, non smoking overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for rating us four stars! It means a great deal to us when a guest says they would return to our hotel as it lets us know we are on the right track. We are pleased you found the room and the restaurant was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you as a guest in the future.


Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a holiday inn hotel with basic amenities, such as a pool, gym, parking, restaurants etc. The lobby is new and recently renovated. The rooms are spacious, but have started to wear down, particularly the curtains and the carpet. The staff is nice and accommodative and the stay was fine. The place is about 7 blocks to Moscone and about 8 blocks to Union square. The civic center area is not the best neighborhood, particularly late evenings. Although, the Civic Center Muni and BART stations are within a block, which make sit convenient for travel to airport.

Room Tip: upper floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We’ve renovated much of our hotel and are excited for additional planned upgrades, including new carpets! We are pleased you found the staff to be nice and accommodating. We hope to have another opportunity to host your stay upon visiting San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the pier where the farmer's market is located. If you don't want to walk, there's an "F" line cable car that runs completely down market street and all the way to the fisherman's Wharf for only $2.00 (exact amount). The hotel has all the usual amenities. The room was very comfortable, hot water, newspaper in the morning and fresh coffee in the room. The front desk was very attentive to all my needs. Check-in was prompt. The staff was very knowledgeable of the city and where to go for various entertainment.
I was there for a culinary conference. If your not familiar with California cuisine, it's all about sustainability and freshness of ingredients. I love this way of thinking when it comes to food and what goes into our body. I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for your culinary conference in San Francisco. Our city is at the forefront of the food movement and our hotel is lucky enough to be in the middle of the action. We’re happy to hear your stay was comfortable and the staff knowledgeable about local entertainment. We hope to welcome you back upon returning to the Bay Area.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#137 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#160 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing