We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #120 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Hotel is ideal for a stopover short stay,or business people, location is not so good, but not far to walk to the centre, Bart is just a 5 minute walk and this makes the location good for travellers from the airport.
The rooms we had was large, clean and very comfortable,with free wifi, the restaurant and food was very good with a reasonable selection,staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would come again.

Room Tip: we had top floor, non smoking overlooking the city
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philmacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for rating us four stars! It means a great deal to us when a guest says they would return to our hotel as it lets us know we are on the right track. We are pleased you found the room and the restaurant was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you as a guest in the future.


Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a holiday inn hotel with basic amenities, such as a pool, gym, parking, restaurants etc. The lobby is new and recently renovated. The rooms are spacious, but have started to wear down, particularly the curtains and the carpet. The staff is nice and accommodative and the stay was fine. The place is about 7 blocks to Moscone and about 8 blocks to Union square. The civic center area is not the best neighborhood, particularly late evenings. Although, the Civic Center Muni and BART stations are within a block, which make sit convenient for travel to airport.

Room Tip: upper floors are less noisy
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We’ve renovated much of our hotel and are excited for additional planned upgrades, including new carpets! We are pleased you found the staff to be nice and accommodating. We hope to have another opportunity to host your stay upon visiting San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the pier where the farmer's market is located. If you don't want to walk, there's an "F" line cable car that runs completely down market street and all the way to the fisherman's Wharf for only $2.00 (exact amount). The hotel has all the usual amenities. The room was very comfortable, hot water, newspaper in the morning and fresh coffee in the room. The front desk was very attentive to all my needs. Check-in was prompt. The staff was very knowledgeable of the city and where to go for various entertainment.
I was there for a culinary conference. If your not familiar with California cuisine, it's all about sustainability and freshness of ingredients. I love this way of thinking when it comes to food and what goes into our body. I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for staying with us for your culinary conference in San Francisco. Our city is at the forefront of the food movement and our hotel is lucky enough to be in the middle of the action. We’re happy to hear your stay was comfortable and the staff knowledgeable about local entertainment. We hope to welcome you back upon returning to the Bay Area.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pretty typical Holiday Inn hotel. The only complaint we had was that the cleaning staff was only leaving three towels each day for five people. It took three calls the first day to get two extra towels and then we had to call again each morning we were there. The area around the hotel is not exactly the best part of town, but there is plenty to do within 3-4 blocks (shopping mostly).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postman_0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are happy to hear your family found plenty to do in our central location. Easy access to a variety of activities is one of our best features. We greatly apologize for your experience with the towels and have passed your feedback on to our staff to ensure we are continuously improving. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to say this is one of the nicest, if not the absolute nicest Holiday Inns I have stayed in. The room was very clean and updated. The bed was luxurious, the bathroom was new and spotless, and the décor was upscale and more in line with a Marriott or a Hilton than a Holiday Inn. The down side is that the neighborhood is not at all good, unless you want to buy heroin or hang out with homeless people right outside the hotel room. Seriously, the neighborhood is not at all safe. I felt very safe in the hotel, as it is secure and the staff keep out the shady elements, but I would think twice about staying here if you are alone or plan to walk pretty much anywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found our hotel to be comfortable and our recent renovations to be one of the nicest Holiday Inns you have visited. Being located in the heart of San Francisco with a diverse population, our location is undergoing a transformation with new housing, cultural institutions and corporate offices making for an exciting renaissance.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great hotel, sharp modern decor, super clean rooms, friendly staff, knew the answer or looked it up to verify, secure parking, few steps from BART/MUNI station and bus stops. Supplied earplugs since a building was being demolished across the street, it was stopped at night and on Saturday. There were homeless people out front, as there are with every hotel in this city, no big deal, you can hear them at night but its nothing some music wouldn't drown out.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank missinghood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your five star rating! Cleanliness, service, and location are all key factors in choosing an ideal hotel and we are pleased to hear you are happy with your experience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for using BART transportation from San Francisco airport. Exit Civic center go around the corner and you are there. The cheapest way for traveller! Sight seeing is easy you just enter either the Metro, Tram or bus at the station around the corner and go either direction Union Square or Castro. Public transportation only cost 25 Dollar for 3 day - so just to recommand. Hotel staff is friendly. Wifi free of charge only downside is you can not enter free of charge the Internet from the business center.

Room Tip: Last floor is most quiet. floor at the pool not recomanded!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. Public transportation in San Francisco is one of the most convenient and affordable ways to travel so we’re glad you were able to take advantage of our location. It sounds like you enjoyed your visit to the city and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 230 in San Francisco
3,070 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#134 of 230 in San Francisco
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#170 of 230 in San Francisco
161 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#138 of 230 in San Francisco
302 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $168 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing