We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Area not safe!! Stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #119 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Area not safe!! Stay away!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night. I am from the East coast and thus I am not familiar with this area. If I know how bad the neighborhood is I wouldn't stay at this hotel. They charge parking and the hotel is old. To me safety is the most important when you travel. Stay away from this hotel and this area!! I would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campertwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Safety is a top priority for our hotel and for all travelers coming to San Francsico. Our central urban environment is undergoing exciting changes with a dynamic mix of new high-rise housing, shopping, cultural institutions, museums and theatres offering unique places to explore with easy access to all parts of the City. In addition, our parking prices are on the lower end of the scale for a convenient 24 hour access, secured, indoor garage.


Sincerely,

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    460
    398
    101
    86
See reviews for
219
319
106
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband came for a mini vacation to visit the city and decided to stay here at the Holiday Inn for two nights for only $328.00 .can't beat a deal like that...right...but then upon arrival the lady told me at the from desk that there would be a charge for parking...I thought ok maybe 10, 15,20 dollars....wrong.... it was $42.00 a day..
And on top of that an extra $100 for incidental fees...so I ended up having to pay almost $600.00 for 2 nights!!! Then the room was so small and the restroom...
No microwave or fridge. If u want them it's extra $ . The guy at the from desk was a jerk!!!! And our key to get in and out of the parking garage wouldn't work...I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Barajas M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your experience. Our parking rates is a good value compared to other downtown San Francisco secured, indoor garages with 24-hour in-and-out privileges. The $100 deposit is required only if guests would like to charge incidentals to their room without a credit card and is fully refundable upon departure if not used. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.


Best Regards,

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

san diego,California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel operator as rude as can be, obnoxious to the point i hung up on him in mid sentence. Mold in the bathrooms, no fridge in cupboard meant to have a bridge. They want to nickle and dime you for to have a fridge which is supposed to be there in the first place.
Housekeeping is a disgrace.
Outrageous fee for parking, The only reason I chose this dump was for business as it was close to the Moscone Center.
Holiday Inn, you have a serious problem with the joint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jondavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you took advantage of our location close to Moscone Center. It is of great concern that you were not satisfied with the service and accommodations you received as customer service and cleanliness are of an utmost priority for our hotel. Our parking pricing is comparable in the downtown area with indoor, secured, 24 hour access and apologize if this was an unforeseen expense for you. We will use your feedback to help improve on our overall guest experience.

Sincerely,

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I am not a big fan of giving bad reviews to places I have been to, but at the same time I am not big fan of lies either. When it is stated that this hotel has complimentary High Speed Internet, I believe that they are saying the truth. No, they're not. Internet is absolutely useless. You will be quicker sending your emails with pigeons. Now comes the room: it is very simple, furnished in style of cheap sea resort, poorly illuminated (just few lamps) and with very mediocre bed. It seems they didn't really care about design. But not everything is that bad. If you are fan of long walks, this hotel is just 30 minutes from Golden Gate Park and 20 minutes from Piers. In the hotel area there are many eateries, few of them are more or less good; there is also Wallgreens. Hotel is very close to Symphony Hall but I doubt if after listening to some beautiful concert in such great hall you will be willing to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Raul F,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am pleased you appreciate the location of our property. We apologize for falling short of your expectations with the internet connection and room accommodation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I were in the city celebrating our wedding anniversary and it was getting pretty late. So we decided to get a room in the city, it's a little after midnight we are driving around looking for a place to rest our heads. After looking for almost an hour we stopped in at the guy at the front desk was so nice and gave us a really good deal (at this time it's closer to 1:30am). He gave us a room on the 6th floor and a check out time of 2pm for $109! Can you believe it! Wow, very pleased with the service, the cleanliness, and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasleenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed there New Years Eve. they were very expensive for that night, area isn't the best part of town, but I was Ok with it. we had an event close by, but if I was going just to sight see I'd stay elsewhere

Room Tip: Get south facing room 5th floor or above great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irishrovers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Irishrovers1,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel was nice and staff was nice. It was quiet. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would stay here again if I needed to stay around that area. Parking however is expensive, $40+ per night. Close to diners and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasjve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 228 in San Francisco
2,947 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
1,025 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
294 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
524 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#159 of 228 in San Francisco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing