We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #120 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff was excellent”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at this property for one night September 25th, 2012. The staff, upon check in, were excellent. We are priority club members and they had upgraded us to an executive floor. The room had modern decor and was very clean. I loved the pillow choices! While we were checking in a large group arrived and still time was taken to answer all our tourist questions. We recieved maps, directions and were given advice on the choices of transportation to Fishermans Wharf. The area is a little sketchy and I would certainly use caution during the evening but daytime was fine for walking and is really just a couple blocks from the Union Square area. The property has construction going on nearby so tended to be a bit noisey in the morning. I would recommend and stay at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    452
    397
    98
    86
See reviews for
215
313
106
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here on business as there were no other hotels with rooms.
The area isn't great, I was on business and could look after myself, if I had my kids I would be nervous especially at night.
That said the trams and busses run very regularly for 2 dollars 50 meters from the door and takes only 5 mins downtown
If you end up here it's not too bad. Room was quite good......but avoid any rooms by the lift very noisy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here at the begining of September whilst visiting San Fran for the 1st time..

Hotel - exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn ! Clean and reasonable price

Neigbourhood - we read the reviews before hand and were a little concerned to be honest ...However... we walked home at every time of the day (and night) and yes there are homeless but we never had any problems... just say 'no thanks' and walk on by..... The Tenderloin area of SF is renowned for the homeless as a local taxi driver informed us, thats because of the climate and San Fran look after the not so fortunate, Tenderloin atracts the homelss as the city provide for them....
Location - just about 10 mins walk to Union Square and a $18 from the Piers, we walked for miles in san fran and the hotel is close the the 'Hop on Hop off' bus stop so was always handy...

Overall - OK !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
500 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here last night and a number of times in the past. It's clean, has parking and a good restaurant for breakfast. Free wifi. Not the greatest neighborhood. You'll find many great neighborhoods to visit and walk. This isn't one of them. We usually drive from here to other parts of town but a taxi is reasonable too. e.g. $10 to Chinatown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a week ago. I was a bit dismayed when I saw the neighborhood - very seedy, and I felt uncomfortable walking to the trolley station around the corner on Market Street. I will say that check-in was quick and easy, and the staff were polite. Our room was OK, but the beds were very small, and the mattresses were uncomfortable - we all awoke with backaches the next morning. We also had to contend with the noise from the busy streets below - even though we were on the 9th story. What really upset me, though, is that we had a function to attend before checking out on Sunday and not wanting to leave our belongings in our SUV (did I mention that parking is $43 a night!), we left them with the front desk, who said they would be safe in a room right off the lobby. I guess I should have taken the time to check all the bags before we left, because when we got home, I discovered my Kindle and a charger for my iPhone were both gone from my bag. We immediately called the hotel to report it, but of course were told no one had found anything. I didn't expect anyone to own up to it, but they could have at least pretended to have cared about the missing items. I am extremely angry and disappointed to have experienced this with a well-known hotel, and I will definitely not stay here again. If you do, make sure you keep your valuables close at-hand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalulahBellle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TalulahBellle,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a decaying Holiday Inn. The lobby looks great but beyond that, this hotel has a lot of physical problems.

I am an IHG Priority Club Platinum Elite member. We booked two rooms for this stay over Folsom Street Fair weekend 2012, 9/21-24. We also stayed at the hotel last year at the same year. A year made for a lot of changes in the quality of the upkeep of this hotel.

We booked a King with Sofa Bed, received the same. Also, booked a second room, Two Doubles Smoking, received the same.

Rooms are being poorly maintained. For the second room, my friend who was occupying it had to change his room 5 times over two days. First room had the strongest smoke smell I have ever enountered in a hotel room. Second room smelled like a locker room, terribly musty. Third room had an overflowing toilet (and toilet was not properly cleaned at time of entering room for the first time). Fourth room was not cleaned despite being given by front desk. Fifth room had huge stain on carpeting but was the best overall (and also had a sink drain problem). As for the first room, it is just getting old. Big stain on the sofa. Still has an 80's look to it with a flatscreen tv as the only updated addition (as well as a funky electrical outlet center next to it so as you can plug in multiple electrical devices...an odd inconvenient place for it).

Good:
Fast free wifi.
Hotel bar - Asian female bartender is the greatest!
Hotel front desk staff very nice.
When requesting extra towels and other items, they were brought very fast.
Free drink coupon and 2 bottles of water for each Platinum check-in (I had 3 one-day back to back reservations and they gave us this daily because of this)

Bad:
Hotel can't merge back-to-back reservations. Had to re-key and re-check-in with paperwork daily.
Rooms vary in quality from somewhat up to date to refreshed 80's.
Very few tv channels. No more than a dozen cable channels plus some local channels.
Construction nearby. Don't expect to sleep past 7 am Monday-Saturday with the high rise construction on both the southeast side (8th street at Mission - NE corner) or northwest side of the hotel (9th Street just south of Market - East side of street). This is VERY loud and even over a noisy a/c unit, you will hear it. Not their fault but this would certainly steer me away from this property even if it was in perfect shape.
Beds are on the hard side.
Dust bunnies will be sleeping under your bed.
Parking is $42+ per night.
Very small bathroom. Noisy plumbing.
Thin walls. Could hear squeaky bathroom door and noisy plumbing from next room.
Air Conditioner would not cool to temp. selected. You can put it down as low as 60 but it will still turn off at 70.
Maid threw away over $20 in my partner's toiletries - most expensive being brand new never used 4-pack of razor blades - and hotel replaced with just standard cheap 99 cent store crap.
$2 for wash, $2 for dry in their laundry room on 4th floor (2 washers, 2 dryers). Don't use dryer on left of two. One load took $4 just to dry. Free soap at front desk.

Used points. It was decent value at 20K points which I booked but has since gone to 25K points.
NOT a chance that we would EVER return (which is too bad as I do like most of the staff). They would have to do a major remodel to the rooms for me to ever return...I'll be staying at another IHG property in San Francisco from now on...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear CalItalian,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am delighted to know that you had a good experience with our staff and found our Internet service suitable for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with our room accommodations and noise levels at the hotel. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here as part of a prebooked Fly drive holiday.
Basically what most other reviewers say is pretty accurate. The check in staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. Our room was fine, the free wifi was fast enough. We had one evening meal at the hotel restaurant and it was one of the best caesar salads I can remember having. The price was reasonable and service was quick and efficient..
But...... the area is awful, apart from the problem of homeless people hanging around the street the hotel is on, it takes a good 30-45 minutes on the crowded tram to get down to Fishermans Wharf. This only cost 2 dollars though, and for that you can ride again if you keep your ticket (within a four hour time period).
There is a starbucks just round the corner at another hotel. The map showed another one a little way away, we started to walk to it but quickly felt that we were heading into an even worse part of the area, so we abandoned the walk.
Parking was expensive but convenient. There is a tiny shop in the hotel foyer but it only sells the basics.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#137 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#160 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing