We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tiny Room but Big Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #51 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tiny Room but Big Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that is within walking distance to so much around the harbor this is the place. The rooms are very tiny but clean and come with full bathrooms. There is so much to do and see in San Francisco that you shouldn't be spending much time in it anyway. When you are at the hotel though make sure to take in there wine reception every evening and try a local Steam Anchor beer. The people working at the front desk are amazing and helped us with every request. We even had one gentleman that had to try and explain to some of the local sports bars what the CFL and Grey Cup were as our home team was playing and we wanted to find somewhere to watch the game (thank you). Make sure to get up early enough and enjoy a complimentary cup of coffee and step outside and watch the sunrise over the Bay View bridge. Also, take in the farmer's market at the Ferry Building if you get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    398
    98
    38
    31
See reviews for
78
525
106
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san Francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This has been favorite hote for many years.....What Happened? Doesn't feel the same, feels cheap now. It feels less posh and welcoming. Still a great location but is the best aprt. Not sure I will come back anytime soon but I will try it again, other hotels hotels in teh area seem like a better deal now.

Room Tip: You can ask but they didn't seem to want to do anything for us
See more room tips
Green Features: should be good! They have cut back on everything in sight, ca't say I really observed anything
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joebobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly -- upbeat and genuinely engaged in our best interest. We really enjoyed all the hotel perks -- fresh ice water with option of fresh orange or fresh lime, 24/7, a long bike ride on hotel provided bikes, healthy and tasty happy hour, warm chocolate chip cookies on offer before tucking in for the evening. All in all every aspect of our stay was FAB.

Room Tip: We had plenty of space with an excellent East side view of the Bay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Yoga mats in the closet. WOWOW!! That's, for sure, environmentally-friendly...my well-being.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked this as it was my partner's birthday and assumed that the price I paid of £253 ($425) for the night, would give us something above the average. Sadly It didn't even match what I had paid £65 a night for in various motels on this trip.
The view wasn't bad but the room was small. The fully mirrored wall did nothing to change the size or the perception. The window frame was broken and the AC control box was detached from the wall and only hanging on to the wires dangling out of the wall. When I mentioned this I was asked if I'd raised this with anyone. My answer was why didn't they know already? Were their staff that uninvolved with the company?

The next morning we left a do not disturb sign on the room, went out quickly and came back to find somebody had been in and left a breakfast tray in there. This despite being told they would knock and leave it outside. Not a major issue, but another example of left and right not knowing each other.
We asked for some sort of tea / coffee maker to be bought up, as there was not one in the room. We were told 10 minutes. An hour later a percolator and one cup appeared - for the 2 of us. Fortunately we had been travelling with some spare mugs and used one of them. That disappeared when we turned our backs and the breakfast tray was taken away.

The swimming pool is next door at the YMCA. They wanted $65 to park the car. 50 yards away there was a secure multi story park that cost us less than $20. Meals were in rooms. The whole thing felt like a charade. We spent the next 3 nights in a luxury apartment overlooking this hotel. It cost a third of what we paid for this place and felt 100 times better.

There' s a fair chance we will not return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mrdeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stay in San Francisco over a dozen times a year. There are some really great values, but Harbor Court is one of the best. For a small hotel, there is a nice lobby for relaxing, having the free happy hour wine and morning coffee. If you can get a room on the east side of the hotel, the view across San Francisco Bay is spectacular. The rooms are well kept and staff are very service oriented. My sole quibble is that there is not a rest room in the lobby area. Guests must use the rest rooms in a neighboring restaurant, which is a problem when it is closed. The location is a bit different, about two blocks from the Ferry Building, but it is close to Bart and MUNI. Its location makes it an excellent place for a walk or run about the Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking SF Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here on June 7 as we were in town for a Giants game. First stay at this hotel and will not be the last!! AWESOME staff, clean rooms, fun hotel with many perks! It was my birthday I got a card from the entire staff, a bottle of champagne, chocolates and a cupcake....left as a surprise in the room. The continental breakfast was really good.....fantastic croissants and coffee . The fruit bowl was fresh and good. EVERYONE we came in contact with was friendly and welcoming. A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a view go with a bay view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed to see this hotel in person. My room was very, very small. The bathroom looked like it had been partially remodeled several years ago, but the shower base looked as if it was original, and it looked dirty. There was mildew growing at the shower door jamb. The one thing that was good about this hotel was it's location, being only 1 or 2 blocks from the bay. But given the low quality of the facility, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#25 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#59 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#55 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing