We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bay view rooms really do have amazing bay views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #50 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Level Contributor
260 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Bay view rooms really do have amazing bay views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really wonderful historic (1926) hotel; I've been wanting to stay here for awhile based on all the positive reviews. Great location, right across from the fabulous ferry building, and the bay view rooms have amazing up-close views of the bay - you feel like you're almost on the water. Apparently, before the 1989 earthquake, the view was just a wall of cement, but after the Embarcadero Freeway was torn down, it now has a beautiful view of the Bay Bridge.

The room was cozy (i.e., not very large), but just fine for 1 night w/ super comfy bed, animal print bathrobes (fun), and practical desk. They have free WiFi, free happy hour wine, and evening cookies, and free coffee in the morning starting really early (nice touch); also use of the top-quality YMCA next door w/ huge swimming pool (thought it was free, but it's $10). Definitely recommend, especially if you can get a bay view room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    391
    94
    36
    30
See reviews for
73
514
106
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I would like to preface this by saying that this is an excellent hotel and I would stay here any time again. I highly recommend it to people who are not narrow minded.

San Francisco has a reputation for being easy going about people's personal choices. This is something that I find to be a great reason to love San Francisco.

However, I do have to say that this was perhaps the wrong hotel to bring staid Japanese colleagues to stay at! The hotel is next to the YMCA and the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. However, they were also clearly not hetero. When I got to my room I found two
leopard pattern bathrobes in the closet as well. My colleagues were clearly taken aback.

One negative is that the rooms are quite small and stuffy. This is the main draw back to the hotel.

But the hotel has a lot of pluses including but not limited to the location. The staff were really friendly and efficient. The hotel had a wine tasting for free in the evening and there were also chocalate chip cookies when we got back to the hotel during the evening. This is the kind of small touch that differentiates a hotel from its peers and kudos to them for doing this.

Parking was much easier than I expected and the location was excellent.
This is a really fine hotel execept for the size of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during my time in San Francisco, and have to say its the one redeeming feature of my trip, after enduring the endless beggars that clutter San Francisco, it was nice to come back to my room with the view of the Bay Bridge and relax.

The hotel is brilliant, ive read reviews that say the rooms are too small, well, for a Brit, the room was big enough, with a wardrobe, desk and wall mounted TV, bedside cabinets, I had upgraded to a room with a view of the Bay Bridge, so if you are a cheapskate, then yeah, the rooms, maybe small, pay extra and you wont be disappointed.

The Bay Bridge has thousands of LEDs and at night they play a fantastic light show that I watched from my bed, it stops about 2am.

The hotel doesnt have a restaurant, but there are plenty within walking distance, but does provide complimentary coffee in the morning, including take-out cups, theres free wine and beer between 5 and 6pm, and warm chocolate chip cookies at 9pm.

The staff are really friendly and accomodating. They have safety deposit boxes to put things like your passports in.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, and if I ever go back to San Francisco, I would definitely stay here again.

If you are planning on a trip to San Francisco however, be prepared for thousands of homeless beggars, it did my head in, that i couldnt walk 100 yards down the street without being accosted for money, the same goes for travelling on public transport. my tip would be take a taxi from the hotel to whereever you want to go.

Room Tip: upgrade to a bay view room, large, brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telecoms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I travel to San Francisco often for work, and this hotel is where I choose to stay each time I visit the city. Having spent a lot of time (and money) in some of the larger hotel chains, I'd grown accustomed to their (high) level of customer service, most times. This, and other Kimpton hotels I've stayed at, blows them out of the water when it comes to customer service. I continue to be impressed with the warmth and attentiveness of the staff, who take care of any issues that come up quickly and with a smile on their faces. The location can't be beat, either - it's a 2 minute walk to the Ferry Building. If and when my family and I come to San Francisco for vacation, this is where we will stay. It's not even a question any more.

Spring for a bay view room. It's worth it.

Room Tip: Get a bay view room is you like daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyottley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. It has such a wonderful location right next to the SF Bay bridge and directly across the street (Embarcadero) from the bay itself. So you can go out the door and be on the waterfront walk. The building is old, but very well maintained. The only complaints I have are that the windows are too small to get the full effect of the view. While there is no restaurant in the hotel, the japanese one next door (Ozumo) is very good and offers room service. Other than that there are no less than 3 other restaurants in the same block as the hotel: Boulevard (one of my favorites), Perry's Nice for breakfast, Chaya (see my review).

What I especially like about this place beside location? This is a dog friendly hotel which I love even if I don't have my dog(s) with me. Wine in the afternoon and coffee in the morning in the lobby. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Absolutly get a bay view room. If you are driving check out the package including parking. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesweims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for a few nights for our first trip to San Francisco, and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are indeed very, very small, but clean and with a comfortable bed. The view of the Bay Bridge from our room was beautiful, especially with the light show running during our stay. It is definitely worth the extra few dollars to upgrade, especially if it's your first trip to the city.
On Easter they even did a little egg hunt, leaving chocolate eggs in the rooms and throughout the lobby. It was such a nice touch! The staff were all wonderful to deal with as well.
My only complaint about this hotel is regarding the parking (valet only), as it is located on a small, one way road and there are very few spots to pull into to register. It made our arrival a little stressful, but the rest of the stay made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleywhite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We like this hotel. It is worth your while staying here for a number of reasons but let me start with the things you need to know.

It has an affiliation with the restaurant next door which is well worth a visit. However, as it does not have its own restaurant, that means that if you want breakfast, you will have to order it to your room and a hot breakfast is not available. The rest of San Francisco is available to meet that requirement if it is important to you.

The rooms come equipped with a mini bar but if like me you need your water complimentary, they serve it near reception, flavoured with cucumber or orange and you can take it to your room. Coffee and tea is available in the lounge in the morning and the coffee is REALLY good. Between 5pm and 6pm, wine and beer is served in the lounge, again compliments of the manager but try the milk and cookies served at 9pm. The cookies are still warm from the oven but don't expect them to be there at 9.15pm. If you need and like what the chain hotels provide, this is not for you. If you like something different, try this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#19 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#62 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#22 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#59 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing