We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #49 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor Court for 2 nights during Labor Day weekend. First of all, I know that boutique hotels in San Francisco can be on the small side and in older buildings, so I always keep my expectations in check. Here are pros & cons:

Cons
- The room was a little on the worn side (nicks on furniture, scuffs on wall, etc.), but not gross or anything just needs a little "freshening up".
- We had an interior room that had no view, so it was really dark during the day.
- If you leave the lobby and turn left, be aware that there are a lot of homeless sleeping on the street. This is probably due to the fact that the small triangle area between the hotel and the Gap building is currently being used for construction staging.

Pros
+ We booked a king size bed & I thought the room was going to be very cramped, but was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.
+ The bathroom was nice & was stocked with quality bath product (can't remember the brand). Also, nice that they have a little menu of complimentary items that you can get delivered to your room (i.e. - shaving cream, toothpaste, etc.).
+ The Kimpton Hotels always has nice extras at their hotels (i.e. - coffee in the morning, wine reception in the afternoon, cookies at night, bikes to rent, etc.). Also, if you have a kid w/ you, request a free Kid's Backpack, which includes a deck of cards, bottle of bubbles, yoyo, etc.

Overall, this is pretty nice hotel in good location on the Embarcadero. It is kinda pricey for what you get, but you are in a great, central location & they do make up for it by giving you extra amenities & perks.

By the way, you can get away w/ not paying for hotel parking on the weekend if you park just a few blocks away on Folsom Street. Parking meters in the area are free after 6p.m. and don't start up again until 9am (Mon-Sat) and 12pm (Sun).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

A fantastic stay in the apartment
Wow great views slick service immaculate room
Great location lots of bars & restaurants around close to everything walked to most places jumped on trams & rail bus fishermans wharf a must take a bike over the golden gate then ferry back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magesimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We checked into the Harbor Court at 8:30 PM on a Sunday night for a four-night stay. The room we were given was barely adequate for one person for one night, let alone two people for four nights. A double bed that almost filled the room, no closet, mini-fridge, view of the airshaft. Sad and disappointing all around. To top it off, the uncooperative MOD wouldn't change our room and offered us a better room the next day for a significant upcharge. An email to the excellent hotel manager, Melinda MacFarlane, changed everything. We were moved to a magnificent room with sweeping bay views and all the amenities including a lovely treat of wine and cheese. From then on, it was just perfect. A great base of operations for the Ferry Building, many great restaurants and America's Cup Park, all on foot. Nearby public transit is available as well. So thanks Melinda, for a great stay!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a bay view room at all costs. And if you really want the VIP accomodations, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

At the bay front with the business district right behind so good for work or pleasure.

I like Kimpton Hotels because they edge towards opulent while managing to feel comfy at the same time.

My (double) room here was very compact, unusual for the US. Also, there's no bar or restaurant on site. Plenty of options round about, though.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilesPerGallon1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights while attending the America's Cup races. The hotel is clean as a whistle, rooms a bit small but not uncomfortable. Great bed, helpful staff. Pay extra and get a room with a view of the Bay Bridge so you can lie in bed and watch the beautiful light show at night. A very short walk to the Ferry Building and right on the Embarcadero, you have so many choices for fantastic food. Fresh cookies and milk offered in the lobby every night, that was a nice touch! A short walk to Giants AT&T Stadium and right on the tram line and close to the cable cars. Just fantastic.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room with a view of the bay. You are in San Francisco after all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidaValeMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for the 2nd time this july, and it was just as great as our first. Easy and nice. Such a wonderful location, a spectacular view and the room was clean and not too small. They still have those awesome leopard bath robes! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilledk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at HC for 4 nights. My company put me up here as my office is a block away which makes things very easy! I didnt pay for the hotel room but if I did there is no way that I would pay $320 a night to look at a wall and drainage pipe. Also my room was the size of a postage stamp. My advice to you is to ask at check in if there are Bay View rooms for sure. Since I wasnt going to be spending hardly anytime in the room it wasnt a big deal. My co worker who checked in the next day got a bay view room which she relentlessly made fun of me for :)

The hotel is in a great location for touristy stuff. there are tons of bars and restaurants right outside your door. The sushi restaurant on the ground floor is very very nice but you can drop some serious coin here. Plenty of cabs right outside hotel to get you where you need to go if you do go to other parts of the city

The people at Kimpton though do go out of their way to make sure you stay is enjoyable. Always nice and you feel like you get personalized service the whole time. Managers hour with complimentary wine is always good after a long day.

My bed was very comfy and everything was in working order. Did have a couple of cobwebs up in the corner of my room but no biggie.

Like I said, my company put me up here so I can't talk about value for your buck but do whatever you can to get a bay view room if you are visiting and paying for it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
825 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $189 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing