We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Gem of a hotel in the Best location in San Francisco!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #54 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a hotel in the Best location in San Francisco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our stay was so pleasant at Harbor Court that I want to stay there again the next time we visit San Francisco. The room was small but so comfortable! The bed was a dream to sleep on. And the view of the bay and the bay bridge from our room was just amazing. The decor in the hotel is very appealing and I love that it is pet friendly. There were many people there with dogs and I had occasion to meet 2 very sweet pooches.

Staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. I never got the chance to participate in the wine event each evening because we were out and about at the time it was held. But would have loved to do that. Also, the room was very quiet. I did not hear any noise from the other rooms which was very nice!

The only downside to our stay was that the cost of parking at the hotel seemed pretty high - $45 a day plus taxes. But I have been told that parking is expensive everywhere in San Francisco so it may not be out of line. It was my first trip to San Francisco so I'm not familiar with what is considered normal for parking costs.

The weekend was made perfect by having such a wonderful hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbupibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    421
    107
    40
    34
See reviews for
85
564
110
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location of the Harbor Court Hotel was great. We were right on the Embarcadero, had a view of the Bay Bridge, and felt safe. The staff was nice. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary, so they had some treats waiting for us in our room when we checked in. We rented bikes while we were there and they stored them overnight for us. (They had 4 bikes that we could have borrowed for free, but we didn't want to hog them by taking them all day, or plan on using them only to find that they weren't available.) The cookies and milk at night was fun, and it was refreshing to always have iced lemon and orange water available when we came through the lobby. We had a view room with a king bed, which we found a spring special price for on their website. The rooms are kind of small especially when the king size bed takes up so much of it, but we didn't need anything huge. We didn't use the YMCA next door, but apparently that is available as an exercise option. We preferred to go walking along the piers, jogging, and biking out to the Golden Gate Bridge for our exercise. One drawback to the view rooms is that the traffic can be noisy in the mornings, but we would definitely stay here again if we are in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bountiful5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Kimton gets customer service. This is the second Kimpton property I have stayed at in SF and it was great. From the valet, to the housekeeping staff, to the front desk, everyone we encountered was a delight. I love the fact you can walk out the back door of this hotel and you are right on the Embarcadero and just a block away from the Ferry Market Building. Super close to transit as well.

We had an interior queen room, and, while it was small, it had everything we needed and was very clean.

I appreciate that they allow pets, with no extra fee and no size restriction. Our dog enjoyed her visit as well and there is a little park spot right on the Embarcadero for quick pet relief.

Be sure to sign up for their InTouch membership so you can get free WiFi and a $10 minibar credit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CailTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I used to stay in this hotel all the time, in fact it was my preferred hotel in San Francisco. First couple of trips I got a lovely room on the top floor with view of the Oakland Bridge, then it all went downhill. Fifth trip I got a tiny room, I forgot to pack my cat otherwise I could have told you if there was room to swing it. I doubt it. The view was of the roof and scenic air con unit and the noise! San Francisco in June is hot. If you can't open the window because you need industrial earplugs then it is even hotter. So, I dealt with all this, for $239 it seemed like a bit much to shoulder, but I did it.

Then they left my room door open. Obviously the maid forgot to take the snib off when they cleaned it. When I got back at 11pm I found my door open I immediately checked everything and yep, some stuff was missing, notably stuff that was near the door, some new trainers, a coach purse and ironically $20 that I had put in an envelope and put in the drawer ready for the maid.

They were apologetic and took it seriously, but then when I tried to claim it back, the trouble started. They wanted receipts and basically would not make any recompense until I produced those. I sent what I had (only one for the sneakers) a couple of times via email and then after a couple of calls to them to check the progress and having them tell me 'we will call you back' I gave up and vowed to never stay there again.

Hotel itself is patchy. Some rooms are gorgeous with amazing views, some are small and dingy. Location is not great (about 20 minute walk from Union Square) and expensive for what it is. Much better hotels in SF.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filmbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. One of the best times I've had traveling anywhere. We got upgrade to a Bay View room and that was amazing. The views are awesome. The location is great, across from ferry building and on the water. the staff was excellent. From their recommendations to their friendliness, overall they were all great. The nightly wine hour was fun and the morning coffee/tea was great. The room was nicely updated and clean. the bed was extremely comfortable. We slept very well and it was quiet too. I definitely recommend staying in the Bay View rooms.

Room Tip: The best rooms have to be the bay view rooms, they are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballgirl659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I returned to the Harbor Court in November 2012 for the first time since 2005, and my stay was as good as the first time around. I can't say enough about the service. There are little things that make your stay fantastic - the cookies and milk, and wine hour - and the fact that they have coffee out super early for those of us on East Coast time! The rooms are on the small side, but very comfortable. The location is easily walkable to the Ferry Building. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galilayo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My son stayed here while he was on a recent art-school hunting trip to San Francisco. It was his first trip by himself with his girlfriend, and he really loved it. He said the service was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great too. It was right on the Embarcadero, so he could take public transportation wherever he had to go, which it wonderful in San Francisco with the horrible traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#59 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing