We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, by the bay”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #52 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty, by the bay”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I used to travel to San Francisco for work pretty regularly, and the Harbor Court became my go-to hotel. It's close to the Embarcadero BART station, a few minutes' walk from the Ferry Building, just blocks to Market Street, and the Bay Bridge is just out the front door. My memories are nothing but fond.

The rooms are on the small side, but they've got everything this business traveler needed: a comfortable bed, nicely sized desk, and a clean, well-lit space.

I stayed at the Harbor Court probably six times over the past two years, always in a Queen Guestroom. I never splurged for the bay view, but I made sure to walk out the bay-facing door each morning, and that view was spectacular. I can't imagine the view out the window would be any worse.

I never managed to be there for the evening wine tastings, but I did help myself to their chocolate chip cookies most evenings. It's the little things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetbippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
All that time and you never made wine hour? Let me know if you do one of these days, I would love to say hello! Thank you for loving us after all these years! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    439
    118
    44
    40
See reviews for
95
606
113
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is pet friendly and while I don't have pets I really enjoyed the staff bringing in their pets. They were very sweet and a bit if stress relief after a long day of work since I was there on business. Loved the cookies and milk in the evening and wine hour.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I couldn't agree more! I always look forward to getting a little love from our employee's and guests dogs on the random days they're around...an easy smile for sure. I'm happy to hear you enjoy them as well! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel was excellent! Rooms were nice and clean. We got a room with a view to the harbour. Happy hour with good vines in the beautiful lounge was great! Warm biscuits served in the evening made you feel wellcome as well! Would defenitely stay again! Staff was helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Ask a room facing to the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here because of easy access to route 80 and 380 to get to golf courses, but then enjoy dinner in the city. The hotel more than met our expectations. Although it technically doesn't have a restaurant, there were plenty of food options. We had breakfast at the Ferry Building which offers whatever you want starting at around 6:30AM.

The rooms were very clean; the staff was wonderful, effective and friendly. The parking setup was very convenient and efficient. The rooms are on the small side, but very functional and comfortable.

Great place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Bay king rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellow1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Isn't the Ferry Building the best? It's one of my favorite spots in the city, and feel so lucky to have it right across the street! We do have a restaurant called Ozumo, it's just not managed by Kimpton, but it's fabulous! Definitely give it a try next time you're here, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a boutique hotel. Outstanding views. The rooms are small but very well appointed and comfortable. Internet is free with Kimpton membership (all hotels). Lobby is spacious with fireplace, newspapers, coffee, tea and wine hour. Staff are very helpful. Parking is half price most of San Francisco hotels. Nearby restaurants for all tastes. Ferry Terminal has hundreds of shops and a farmers market. Getting there and getting out is easy once one figures out the one way streets.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a waterfront view. It is a few more dollars but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck33907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice comfortable hotel. Unpretentious without meaning a lack of creature comforts. On the contrary, all one needs without the big hotel chain nonsense. Perfectly located. Quiet comfortable well-appointed rooms.
Cute to have wine tasting at 5 and milk&cookies before bed, for free.
Great place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Exceptional stay at the Harbor Court Hotel! Rooms were a little small but very nicely furnished. The location and view of the bay bridge were awesome. Staff was great. Parking was easy, with several garages close or street parking if you can find it. Walked to Giants Stadium and caught a baseball game! Loved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Please do come visit us again for more Giants games, we're so excited for baseball season, and have created some special offers and packages in honor of our World Champions! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
760 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
1,994 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing