We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and location”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #52 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service and location”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

To start the staff was great, very friendly and professional, the hotel has a lot of personality and has a lot of unique features.

I really wish the offer free internet, $11 a day is pretty price for internet access in my opinion.

I had a great experience, hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONYX808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    439
    118
    44
    40
See reviews for
95
606
113
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wading River, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stay at the Harbor Court whenever we come to SF. Honestly, Kimpton hotels think of everything, but if they miss a detail, the staff will do its best to provide. We love the fresh thick sheets and down pillows (my personal request), luminous views of the Bay, wine hour, milk and cookies in the evening, delicious coffee and hot chocolate in the morning, and now a complimentary chair massage if you're lucky enough to be there on Thursday.

One morning before five, I was restlessly counting the minutes until coffee service, when Vaughn (working the front desk) offered to go downstairs for a cup of coffee for me, and he brought up not just a cup of coffee but four crisp apples. What a place! Everyone goes out of their way to be helpful, and they offer great recommendations for restaurants and places of interest, clear directions for negotiating mass transit, and genuine warmth and charm.

If you enjoy swimming or the gym, the hotel connects with a clean, spacious YMCA. The steam rooms there are divine!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room and the glorious Bay Bridge will be your nightlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
"An apple a day...", right? Just imagine if you have four of them! :) This is great! I'm so happy to hear how Vaughn went out of his way to exceed your expectatiojns, and then some! You are welcome anytime...and we will have oodles of luminous views, fresh thick sheets, milk and cookies and all the rest, waiting for your return! Thank you, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton to San Francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay at many Kimptons accross the US but always default to the Harbor Court when in SF. They truly make me feel at home and I get the best night's rest without fail. Rooms are definately "boutique" but I'm/your'e not here to spend time in your room, so room size has never mattered to me. The service, firendliness of the staff, wine reception, and compfort, keep me coming back and enjoying every stay.

Room Tip: Rooms close to elevator may be a bit noisy. The elevator is quite old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidyup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
10 years straight! That's some loyalty right there! Thank you so much for that... Please say hello to me the next time you're here, and let me know if you have any ideas on how we can keep things fresh and fun for you...unless you would prefer that we just keep on doing what we're doing...Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Went for one night, not my first stay. Everything was wonderful and Rose was awesome. Delivered my breakfast in the morning and made sure I had everything I needed. Thank you Rose for all you did. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I agree wholeheartedly...Rose is truly amazing...we love her too! I will share this review with her, thanks for taking the time to compliment her! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit worried about the location of the Harbor Court since its away from Union Square, but we loved our stay. The hotel is in a quiet location, very close to retaurants and the ferry building, and we were able to walk to fishermans wharf. The city tour bus stop is right outside the door, which was so convenient!

The room was on the smaller side, but very quiet and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There were so many cute amenities like the TSA quart size ziplock bags, leopard print robe, water in the lobby, free wine reception, luggage tags, etc. customer service was excellent, staff was so helpful and patient. The valley actually ran down the street to hail us a cab quicker.

Only downside was that the room was slightly rundown, no free wifi, and the shower wasn't the cleanest, but overall, I would love to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the Harbor Court on Steuart St. mid-January 2013. Location is right on the Embarcadero, so if you get a view room, try to get up on the 8th floor. The windows are small, but the view is spectacular of the Oakland Bridge and the entire bay. First thing you need to know about the hotel is how excellent the staff is. Alexa checked us in, and took a personal interest in every aspect of our stay, for the entire time we were there (4 days). Everyone that works there is friendly, helpful and 1st class. The rooms are a little small, but I have yet to stay in a San Francisco hotel where that was not the case. They are very quiet, clean, and well appointed, good storage, and well lit. Beds are very comfortable with lots of pillows. They serve complimentary beer and wine every evening for an hour, and the coffee bar in the morning is delicious. While the location puts you on the outskirts of the action in town, it is much quieter, and cleaner, and only a 10 minute walk to the hustle and bustle of the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a "King-Bay View" room on the 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the shout out to Miss Alexa...Isn't she the best? L.O.V.E. her...If you enjoy the microbrews we serve at our wine hour, stop by this week! We will be offering a selection of local brews from the Bay Area for our guests to enjoy as a special treat for San Francisco Beer Week! Thanks for the feedback, hope to see you next time! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Intimate and cozy, we enjoy this location for its proximity to all the Ferry Building has to offer. In addition, if you are a walker, it is a short walk to Union Square for shopping and a terrific stroll along The Embarcadero then up through a variety of neighborhoods to return to The Harbor Court. Near the ball park, train and bus stops that take you everywhere in the city. No need for a car! Take BART into town from the airport and exit at the Embarcadero, up the stair to Market street and in 5 minutes, you have walked to this gem of a hotel. Evening wine...always local and good...plus an array of coffee and tea is available in the morning. Not only that but recently on a December morning, hot cocoa with house made marshmallows was offered......YUM! If you are comfortable with a European hospitality and vibe, you will enjoy your stay.

The rooms are well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable. A very good use of space with easy functionality. The rooms are modern but can be viewed as small if you are used to a more contemporary chain of hotel atmosphere. We prefer the unique and personalized essence of this hotel over a large cookie cutter approach. We consider our stay here as our home away from home.

Room Tip: A corner room over a mid hallway position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback, I love it! And I am so happy you enjoyed the special artisan marshmallows, I was waiting to see if anyone noticed! Please say hello next time you're here! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
759 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
1,993 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing