We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a hop, skip and a jump to the Ferry Building!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just a hop, skip and a jump to the Ferry Building!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Intimate and cozy, we enjoy this location for its proximity to all the Ferry Building has to offer. In addition, if you are a walker, it is a short walk to Union Square for shopping and a terrific stroll along The Embarcadero then up through a variety of neighborhoods to return to The Harbor Court. Near the ball park, train and bus stops that take you everywhere in the city. No need for a car! Take BART into town from the airport and exit at the Embarcadero, up the stair to Market street and in 5 minutes, you have walked to this gem of a hotel. Evening wine...always local and good...plus an array of coffee and tea is available in the morning. Not only that but recently on a December morning, hot cocoa with house made marshmallows was offered......YUM! If you are comfortable with a European hospitality and vibe, you will enjoy your stay.

The rooms are well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable. A very good use of space with easy functionality. The rooms are modern but can be viewed as small if you are used to a more contemporary chain of hotel atmosphere. We prefer the unique and personalized essence of this hotel over a large cookie cutter approach. We consider our stay here as our home away from home.

Room Tip: A corner room over a mid hallway position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback, I love it! And I am so happy you enjoyed the special artisan marshmallows, I was waiting to see if anyone noticed! Please say hello next time you're here! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    434
    109
    41
    36
See reviews for
91
588
111
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cat Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice 4 day stay. Close to all major down town spots. Easy to find when driving in from airport. Good reception. Small but well laid out room with all the nice touches one would expect from a boutique type hotel. A/c could have been better but all in all a nice stay and I would stay again next time

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose6Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Definitely come back for a leisure stay when you have time. Everyone here is an expert in various local insider tips, and we would love to share them with you...you'll have a blast! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I travel to SF often for business and was looking forward to trying this hotel. I understand the rooms are all different; the one I got was super tiny and the window faced a wall, increasing the closed-in feel. I only stayed one night so maybe they keep these rooms for one nighters--makes sense. I can't imagine a couple staying in that room for more than a night.

The bed was very comfortable with a firm mattress, but room was a bit stuffy. Clean room; would describe decor as minimalist masculine. Functional stall shower, small bathroom.

The downstairs lobby is very pretty and staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It sounds like you were pretty "cozy" in your room! Please let me know next time you visit the city and I will do my best to get you a room that's a little larger! melinda.macfarlane@harborcourthotel.com Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
679 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The boutique hotel experience in SF has, I think, gotten a little threadbare since the global economic collapse. I had enjoyed staying here a few years go and was looking forward to returning. Got a good chance to soak it all in during an 8-night stay. Pros: Staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, quirkily dog-friendly, adjacent to the "Y," complementary wine and nice lobby for hanging out or working. Cons: Rooms are small, if you're on the airshaft, they are gloomy; furnishings are a bit battered; no restaurant or business center.

The hotel is convenient to SOMA if you have clients there, as I do, and it's a good location both in its own right and for the fact that it's convenient to all modes of transit.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, ask and I reckon it would be spectacular. Rooms on the airshaft are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for highlighting what we do best...delivering great service and having fun with our guests! I would like to note that we indeed do have both a restaurant (Ozumo), and a business center. The latter is situated in our living room, and we also offer complimentary wireless. Thank you for staying with us during your long business trip! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the Harbor Court for a four-day vacation to San Francisco, largely on the strength of reviews from TripAdvisor. We were so glad that we did!

The Kimpton in general, but this property in particular, clearly is of the mindset that your room may not be the biggest, but your common spaces will be spectacularly appointed and you will have a wonderful overall experience.

From check in to check out, the staff at the Harbor Court was THE BEST. Our room was ready for early check in as requested when we arrived on our early morning flight from the East Coast. The staff clearly took the time to remember faces and every time you walked through the lobby, you were welcomed with a smiling face and asked if you needed assistance with anything. They were there with restaurant recommendations, travel tips, and anything else we needed. One night when we returned home at 8:30 clearly exhausted, they offered to have the complimentary cookies and milk that were going to be put out in the lobby at 9:00 (get to that in a moment) delivered to our room!

We were fortunate enough to get upgraded to a Bay view room. Frankly, likely because it is quiet season. I say this very rarely about upgrades but if there is the choice between a Bay view room and a non Bay view room and the difference in rate is not that much, pay for the upgrade. The Bay view room is SPECTACULAR. Yes, you're not in the room that much. But it is an amazing view directly out over the San Francisco Bay and to the Bay Bridge. Beautiful sunrises over the San Francisco Bay. Terrific views of the boats going by. Truly not many hotels in the city can compete with these views. Only downside of the bay view rooms is that the traffic noise from the Embarcadero can be a little noisy (especially when they are doing road construction and cars are honking because lanes are cut down). Rooms are spotless, bathrooms are exactly what you need (nothing more).

The rooms are quite small. We had a queen room. There was a desk, a queen bed, and a wall-mounted flat screen TV. Floor space in the room is even more compromised because instead of a closet, each room has a free-standing armoire. It did get a little cramped with two large suitcases and gifts purchased. But again, if you do San Francisco right, you're not in the room that much.

The amenities are wonderful. Free Wifi for Kimpton In Touch members (free membership). Coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar area in the morning. Free wine/beer/spiked cider reception from 5-6 each night (watch out for the delicious cider laced with bourbon!). Water and apples in the lobby all day. Milk and cookies in the lobby each evening at 9. Free newspaper in the morning (NY Times, Wall Street Journal, or SF Chronicle), which was great to read by the fireplace in the lobby with a few cups of coffee from the coffee bar.

Location is terrific. A block to the Ferry Building where we caught our ferries to Sausalito and Vallejo (Napa) and where there are some amazing places to eat. On the Embarcadero, so the Muni light rail line takes you directly to Fishermans Wharf. Just blocks from the California Street cable car turnaround. Tip -- buy a MUNI visitor pass at the airport for unlimited cable car/light rail/bus rides. It's an easy way to get around, as cabs are pretty damn expensive in San Francisco. Walkable to Chinatown and the Financial District.

Lots of business travelers in the hotel, fewer vacation travelers. We'd recommend it highly to anybody and would stay here again in a heartbeat if and when we return to San Francisco! Great job, Kimpton, and props to the staff of the Harbor Court.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay the price of the upgrade, strongly consider the Bay view rooms. You'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoCoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your detailed and very sweet review! This is the stuff that we live off of...really, thank you for taking the time to showcase what we do here. I'm thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our quirky, fun and tasty offerings...we come up with new ones all of the time so, let that be motivation for your speedy return! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October at the start of a 2 week trip around Northern California. We booked a "Queen Bay view" room and what a view !! looking right across the bay and the amazing Bay bridge, seeing the sunrise behind the bridge is an awesome sight.
The room wasn't the largest, but was plenty big enough for a few days stay. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries and a powerful shower. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean.
It was my wife's birthday on the 2nd day we were there and the hotel management surprised us with balloons and streamers, sparkling wine, cupcakes and chocolates and a personalised birthday card - making it a truely memorable stay - it's the little things that can mean a lot.
The hotel offers a complimentary wine and beer reception at about 5pm each evening, which we made use of on the first evening, it was the perfect start, having only just arrived in the city following an 11 hour flight.
The hotel is in a perfect location, a five minute walk from Embarcadero MUNI and BART station - with direct trains to SFO airport. The F line street cars which run from Downtown to Fisherman's Wharf stop a block away by the Ferry Building and the Cable Car turntable at Market and Powell is about a 15 walk away (also on the F line if you don't want to walk). Plenty of eating places nearby for grabbing breakfast.
Overall we would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay at this end of San Francisco.

Room Tip: High floor with Bay view are well worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in January for 2 nights on business trip to Google. I was lucky to get a room upgrade to Bay view suite. The view was amazing. Rooms were small but it is an older building and to be expected.

The cocktail hour and coffee in the mornings.

It's very close to the embarcadero BART station so was very easy to get to airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bullyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#34 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing