We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Value and Service”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #52 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I am a member of many hotel chains and this was my first visit to a Kimpton and will def. return and try to book other Kimpton hotels when traveling. My room was on the 8th floor and looked just like the pictures on the internet. I did not have a room with a view but the view from the hotel is beautiful. Location is excellent, a three block walk from the Embarcadero Bart station and an easy scenic walk to the Wharf. Staff was very polite and helpful. They have a wonderful happy hour each day and in the evening milk and cookies and a coffee bar in the am. The price was very good for a hotel on the water and a holiday weekend. This will now be my number one hotel choice in San Francisco

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelor1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

i am a picky hotel guest and this hotel was just outstanding. from the views from the bay view rooms to the great gathering area to the helpful front desk staff, it was all very impressive. we were a group of 8 - 3 generations of a family. we were celebrating my mother-in-law's 90th birthday and the hotel gave her a special recognition without any of us asking. the $42/day parking is steep but not unusual for the area and they quickly brought our car around. wish there were a few snacks with the morning coffee and that the 9pm cookies were warm .. but, we were very, very happy with our stay. they could also improve the online/phone reservation clarity - rates seems to change all the time. also to use the computers in the lobby (except for printing boarding passes) you have to pay - even if you have free internet in the room be being a in-touch member (free to join) - this is a little frustrating if you want to print something out relevant to activities while you are there. Ferry Building is great fun. Perry's next door is good - 1/2 price burgers on Monday nights! while in SF, you must go see Beach Blanket Babylon show in North Beach and eat at a small Italian spot while you are there. the location of this hotel is perfect - you couldn't pay me to stay at Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: get a bay view room if at all possible - worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stay exclusively at Kimpton's Harbor Court when we are in the SF Bay Area. The views of the Bay and the Bay Bridge are priceless. Each guest room is very comfortable. The hotel is located on the Embarcadero across the street from the Ferry Building and near very nice, affordable restaurants. It's the place to stay if you're visiting SF to attend a Giants' game. Be sure to enjoy the 5pm Wine Tasting. The YMCA is co-located to the property so a world class physical fitness facility is at your disposal. Ms. Sophia Gomez, the Night Manager, has worked there many years and always makes us feel very special. If you need anything, ask for Sophia - she makes it happen and represents the hotel in a very professional manner. Sophia and her puppies make us feel very much at home.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Bay and Bay Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed one night in September for business.

Positive: Super friendly front desk staff, received a complimentary room upgrade (from full to queen) as part of the loyalty plan, room was clean and nice, great location for walking on the Embarcadero.
Neutral: Wireless internet OK but not great (sufficient for email but not fast enough for streaming video).
Negative: None.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a charming boutique hotel near Mission street and the Embarcadero. I stayed here on a business trip, and found my room rather small. There was not much floor space beyond the king size bed, and there was no closet (there was a separate armoire, but it was not tall enough to hang my valet bag in it). Also, I was evidently assigned a wheelchair-accessible room, and I found the low shower nozzle difficult to navigate. The price of the room was high for a room of this size, but this may just be San Francisco. On the plus side, the service was outstanding (quickly brought to the room needed dental floss) and the staff at the front desk were very polite. The location is first rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintLouisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor Court for one night on our way out to Napa. Our friends traveling with us stayed for two. We all had an excellent experience at the hotel. The rooms are small, but the beds are incredibly comfortable, and the room is immaculate. We took the BART from the airport and the station is right around the corner. The hotel is about two miles from the touristy area which we liked (that we were not in the thick of it). We strolled down there for the afternoon. The staff at Harbor Court could not have been more accommodating. This is my first stay in a Kimpton, and I will certainly be checking out their hotels in NYC, DC and Boston when we travel there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been staying at the Harbor Court Hotel for many years now and continue to love it! The former manager, Jason, and present manager, Melinda, go above and beyond for their guests. This is also the case for each and every staff member regardless of their duties. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable as is the entire hotel. The views are an added bonus. You can walk to everything and are close to public transportation. We can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveItalyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
825 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $188 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing