We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #53 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for 11 nights on holiday from uk, absolutely loved our stay. The lobby is fantastic and staff very friendly always helpful always smiling. Nice coffee in the morning, nice cookies at night and nice beer and wine between 5-6 which is all free. The rooms are small that is true but I really didn't care about that they were big enough for me and I'm 6 foot. Very clean, nice mini bar (free $10 tab if u sign up to membership) generally anything I needed I could get. Newspapers in lobby. We were disappointed we dIdnt get a room with a view but it wasn't a problem. Bathroom was good and all in all this has to be one of the best value places in San Francisco. AT&T park home of the giants is walking distance as well

We loved San Francisco and would definitely go back there although very pricey more so than new York I think, be prepared to tip for everything as it is kind of expected in USA even if it's someone pouring you a drink, we knew that having been elsewhere in USA but more so here. Fishermans wharf is great for food and drink, pier 39 as well. Alcatraz is a must and the golden gate bridge.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wolvesfc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

From the friendly staff to the welcoming lobby with fireplace and organic drinks, Harbor Court makes for a home away from home hotel that also is a perfect launching pad for San Francisco area adventures. You can even bring your pets! The hotel is very clean and quiet, with views of the Bay and waterfront. Several good restaurants just doors away. BART, ferries and Muni all within easy walking distance. Reasonably priced versus other SF hotels. I look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: I just had an upper level side room, but it had a nice view of the Bay and waterfront.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday weekend, and everything went right. This was our second stay at a Kimpton hotel, and I must say this was even better than our first. (It didn't hurt that they upgraded us to a bay view.) The staff is very helpful and friendly, and greeted us warmly whenever we came back from our city jaunts. Front desk even graciously helped us with small change for Muni.

The view, if you get a bay room, is nothing short of lovely. I would have left the shades up all day and night if not for wanting to sleep in! While the room is a little small, it's not any smaller than other SF hotel rooms, and the cleverly planned layout and stylish decor more than makes up for it.

To me, the pleasure of Kimpton is in the small touches. the $10 minibar tab is a nice gesture for members, as are the complimentary beverages in the lobby. We never got around to social hour or morning coffee, though. On a side note, I think these little touches all combine to make a convival atmosphere, and it is reflected in the guests - we saw a couple relaxing in the cosy lobby in bathrobes! And unlike many other hotels that we've been to, guests here seem to be a lot friendlier, saying hi and making small talk. (To be fair, I didn't see this at the other Kimpton we were in, so this might just be an SF thing, or the softening influence of the Bay...)

Location-wise, it's difficult to get much better. With the ferry building (and its great eateries) right across the street and handy muni stops within minutes, it's pretty easy to get around.

All in all, this was the best getaway I've had bar none. I've stayed at fancier hotels with much less atmosphere and warmth. Of course I'm always partial to the bay, but the hotel helped a lot in making this a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pleasant staff and a good location made this property. Literally a few steps across the Embarcadero to the Ferry Building and only a twenty minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and with good views across the Bay and of the Bay Bridge itself. San Francisco is an expensive destination and hotels are notoriously overpriced, but the Harbor Court was better than many alternatives. One thing though is that the hotel rooms are absolutely minuscule! Any longer than 2 nights and I think we would have been stir-crazy, but it served its purpose and we enjoyed our stay. The evening wine-tasting hour was an added bonus and I have to say the staff were attentive and friendly. Parking in San Francisco is an issue and with valet parking at this hotel for $40 a day, this is no exception. However, there are better deals for self parking on neighbouring Howard Street or on the next block up on Spear Street. Both of which are within very easy walking distance of the hotel and about half the price of the valet deal. Having said that, the valet parking here does compare favourably with other hotels in the area. The restaurant did not float our boat. A bit too specialised for a hotel in my opinion. Some of us don't like Japanes food and guests should be given a more eclectic choice.

Room Tip: Aim for a Bay View - These are slightly larger rooms. But there really isn't that much in it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was my first stay at the Harbor Court Hotel and I was very impressed with the service and the location. I loved my stay at the hotel and will be back everytime I am in SF.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We loved looking out over the Bay Bridge, but despite booking a King room it was still small. No room to store 2 suitcases for example. The bed was comfy and the view great. So I would say overall it was adequate. There is no breakfast but they do offer free coffee till 9am. The gym next door at the YMCA (extra charge) was excellent. So is the Japanese restaurant attached.

If Kimpton did it up - as they have the Argonaut - it could be fantastic. Decor felt very 1980's.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiggyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

When the Harbor Court found out it was our honeymoon, they took great care of us - champagne in the room, kind note welcoming us, gorgeous views of the Golden Gate Bridge... That said, most of what we enjoyed staying there would have been true, honeymoon or not. They have great staff who each have a quirky SF specialty: "book collecting", "thrift stores", etc. - just check below the name on their ID badges. The location couldn't have been beat. The rooms were very comfortable. Not spacious, but we didn't need much space. All around, this spot gets two big thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
806 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 229 in San Francisco
4,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $204 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing