We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have stayed at Harbor Court about 5 times in the last year. We often head to SF for leisure and this is usually our choice hotel. They have reasonable rates, an awesome location, and great service. We have never had a bad experience and the rooms are always immaculate. Fair warning though, the rooms are not huge, but unless you are traveling to sit and enjoy the interior of your hotel room, they are perfectly spacious enough. AND parking is pricey, but expensive parking is a fact of life in SF...no getting around it.

Harbor Court is a great home base to walk everywhere, even more so if you enjoy long walks with great scenery...close to BART also, for those who don't enjoy walking. I have stayed in several hotels (including the very low and high end ones) throughout the city and believe me there are many hotels that are super expensive and well worth the money, but there are also too many that are decievingly mid-range priced as a nice place only to find out it's run down or just disgusting. If you want cleanliness, value, and great service without an unbelieveable price tag, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bridge from your room...it looks magnificent at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROXY6997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    433
    109
    41
    36
See reviews for
91
588
110
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have stayed at the Harbor Court at least 3 times in the last year or so, and have never had a bad experience. While the rooms (and bathrooms) are small, the beds are very comfortable, the building is quiet, and the staff is helpful and friendly. Best of all, the location is great. It is convenient to many bus lines, BART, cable cars, the Ferry Building with its farmers market, and the financial district. Most of the time, the rates at the Harbor Court (at least on weekends) are as good or better than any comparable place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter, but those on the embarcadero side have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiRobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a great hotel for its location. I took the ferry to work to Sausalito and the hotel is right across the street. It is also near a cable car connection (Embarcadero) and Union Square for shopping. There are so many hotels to choose from in SF so I'm not sure I would recommend this if you are coming for a first time visit. It was still in the pricey range for what you get. Some bonuses: there is a free wine/beer hour in the evenings and the hotel is adjacent to a couple of nice restaurants. Downs: the staff are not terribly helpful or bright. There is no store or place to get juice, etc. other than your mini bar. Another plus - the Embarcadero YMCA is next door and is an awesome gym! The hotel provides $10 day passes. Our room was very quiet however, and we got great sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have been meaning to write this review for sometime and had a meeting cancelation so this gets it off my to do list. I had business in SF on sudden notice. Working for a NFP cost is always a factor and a friend recommended the Harbor Court. It was close to the meeting location and more affordable than the large hotels in the area. What a surprise! The Harbor Court is now my favorite venue in SF. The staff was delightful and went the extra mile to be helpful; they hold a wine reception in the afternoon before you go out to the great restaurants next door. The rooms are small but in fairness, the place was built in the ‘20s. Location cannot be matched, right on the Embarcadero across from the ferry building. My only regret was my trip was too short, I will be back for pleasure many times to come.

Room Tip: Free wifi, pet friendly, great wine reception (free) easy to get to by BART and trolley. Bay views c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is beautiful. The location is right on the water, close to downtown, restaurants and shopping. The service was friendly and professional. There is a complimentary wine hour each night. If you can, book a room with a Bay view!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Arrived to friendly service, unfortunately rooms not available before 3pm. A little tough on people arriving on long haul flights so keep in mind.

The rooms are tiny but newly refurbished and kept very clean. Water pressure at times a little weak, but generally fine. Hair dryers supplied are the type that singe rather than dry hair, so bring your own or buy a cheapy (if yours won't work properly on US power supply) from the Walgreens a block away as I did.

Unless you enjoy looking over air-conditioning ducts, ensure you book the more expensive bay view room type.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. If they don't have an answer, they look it up on the PC whilst you wait.

The location is fairly nice - a few minutes walk from Embarcadero BART so you can get there very easily and cheaply from the airport. Being at the far end of the financial district means it is nice and quiet with little or no street sounds. Plenty of cafes and restaurants about as well. It's about a 20 min walk to Union Square or walk 2 mins to Market and jump on a tram (cable car).

All in all, a nice, quiet, clean place to stay. I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We live in the Bay Area and decided to have a short weekend trip to San Francisco. We chose the Harbor Court not only through reviews from Trip Advisor travelers, but also the bonus "free parking" that Trip Advisor had going on at that time. We booked our room and then upgraded to the King bed with Bay Bridge view. We were not disappointed. As other travelers have mentioned, the rooms are more on the small side, but efficient. The view of the bridge was beautiful! A couple times in the night I woke up, sat up in bed and saw the glowing lights of the bridge right outside the window. The Happy Hour was very fun and we enjoyed a nice glass of wine after running around all day. The location was wonderful...away from the hub-bub of Fisherman's Wharf, but right across the street from the Ferry Building, walking paths and numerous excellent restaurants. The staff was excellent! The staff was more than willing to assist with questions and they all seemed very happy about being with Harbor Court. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Bay Bridge is really nice. Keep in mind that the windows are not extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mops1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#34 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing