We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Look if you're coming to SF on vacation to stay in your room the whole time this probably isn't the right place. The rooms are really small but they tell you that on their site, they give you the sq ft for each room, and when they say 164 sq ft they mean it. Our room was tiny but it didn't matter. We were only paying like $150/night in SF, that's a steal. We were mostly only in the room to sleep or get ready. If you can't find other stuff to be doing in SF, then get a life or pony up the extra scratch and book a luxury hotel. The Harbour Court nails it's demographic, young, hip, adventurous, budget conscious travelers looking for some amenities but nothing overwhelming.

My wife and I had a great time. The location is the embarcadero which is great if most of your activities are up north but with all the public trans in SF it turned out to be easy to navigate the entire city from there. The staff is extremely friendly and were as helpful as they could be. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. If you stay here and don't like the staff, something is wrong with YOU, trust me.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend based on Trip Advisor reviews. They were on the money reporting the super friendly and helpful staff; small but stylish rooms and great location. I will stay here again next time I am in SF as I feel I got value for money.

Wifi is supposed to be an extra $10 a day but they provided this for free--they give you a print out with the monthly passcode so I suspect this is a general frieebie if you ask. Note that phone signal from my room (509) overlooking the airconditioning units and fire escape was very weak, so if you require calls to your mobile for business purposes you might want to upgrade to a harbor view room. The hotel has two computers in the lobby you can use to print out boarding passes (free) or surf the web (charge).

The hotel doesn't have a healthclub but you can buy a pass for $10 a day to use at the YMCA next door (a door from the hotel lobby leads right into the YMCA). The YMCA isn't open 24 hours a day, but the benefit is you get to use a much better range of equipment than a hotel would normally have.

I didn't do the cocktail reception, late night cookies or morning coffee, but did like the ice tea and orange and lemon water juice in the lobby, as well as the fire they had going there. Even in summer it gives a cozy touch.

As others have mentioned, the Farmer's Market is a five minute walk and is a great place to get breakfast on Tuesday and Saturday and be part of the SF scene as you mingle with locals. Margaritaville is an SF institution and people line up for their freshly made Mexican food and eggs first thing in the morning because it gets too popular at lunch time. Opposite is an organic breakfast place that does great oatmeal and fresh fruit juices.

There are loads of good restaurants around the hotel (the Embarcadero Towers boast several upscale Asian and Indian eateries) and it is a 20 minute walk to Union Square.

The hotel has carved out a niche for itself by being pet friendly (they even offer guided dog walks!) and over the weekend, about 15% of guests have pets. Yet the hotel is immaculately clean and the rooms don't smell.

I highly recommend this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Harbor Court Hotel in San Francisco is perfectly located! Close to trolley lines and buses. As well as many wonderful places withing walking distance. The Ferry Building across the street has an amazing farmers market on Tues. , Thurs & Sat. You can walk right out the back door and be right along the water! You can catch a ferry to Sausalito right there without having to go to the crowded Fisherman's Warf. The hotel is contemporary, comfortable & just really, really cool!!! :-) Great complimentary coffee in the morning, a free wine & beer happy hour at 5! and milk and cookies @ 9 :-) Loved everything about this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristadmiscevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The hotel was nice with a friendly and helpful staff. Our room had a view of the Bay Bridge. The room was a little small but had enough room for two of us to move around. They have a nice wine and beer happy hour in the evenings. It was close to the Ferry Building. Which has a fun Saturday and Tuesday Farmers Market.

Would stay there again when in SF.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShariJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Yes, the rooms at the Harbor Court are on the small side, but I have stayed at many different hotels in downtown San Francisco, and most tend toward the smaller side if they're in a historical building. The Harbor Court is a great value for its convenient location (there's something waiting for you at The Ferry Building every day) and wonderful service. Pet friendly, complimentary coffee (and iced coffee) each morning, wine happy hour each evening, a stay witg Kimpton comes with so many bonuses. Take advantage of those Kimpton InTouch benefits (mini bar and hotel restaurant credits) to make the stay extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The regular rooms are tiny. After placing two bags on the floor, you have essentially no open floor space. As a current resident of NYC, I am used to small spaces but this room is just too cramped. The other main complaint is the quality of the bed linens - every time I moved, it sounds like I was rolling around in a stack of newspapers. The location is great since you are near the Bay Bridge, ballpark, and some nice restaurants/shops along the Embarcadero. As with Kimpton hotels, you get the free lobby happy hours, so that is always a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was our second visit to Harbor Court, and this time we stayed 4 nights (the first time we stayed one night). It is a wonderful place to stay, located near so many of San Francisco's sites. The staff is helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed visiting the Farmer's Market on Thursday and Saturday mornings, just across the street.

Harbor Court is clean and quiet, our two top requirements. We love the location, it is within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, cable cars, Ghirardelli's Chocolate Company, AT&T Park, and the Bay Bridge. We also enjoyed the nightly wine hour as well as the delicious morning coffee each day. This time we splurged and went to the YMCA next door for a workout, it overlooks the bay. Working out with a view was a pleasure.

Overall, we highly recommend Harbor Court. It makes visiting San Francisco a double pleasure, living in a comfortable hotel as well as being within walking distance of so many popular attractions. Check it out and I'm sure you'll agree.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedandBreakfastFan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
855 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#63 of 230 in San Francisco
3,689 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,646 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $166 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing