We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Well located and comfortable”
Reviewed August 11, 2006

We had a pleasant stay at the Handlery Hotel. Management were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the hotel was well-located close to Union Square. Only downside - it was a long way from reception to the the rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,715
    603
    185
    80
See reviews for
987
1,596
127
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

The Handlery is truly a great place to stay. Just spent 6 nights there with my family - wife and two teenage boys - and we enjoyed the hotel, the room, the balcony, the great view from our balcony on the 8th floor (facing O'Farrell Street) and the pool, of course.
But we were disappointed when we arrived - we had booked a double queen Club Room 4 months in advance - but the hotel was not able to give us the wanted room "Because the hotel is fully booked", we were told ... so we had to put up with one double bed and two extra beds which meant that we had almost no free floor space in the room. The next day we could have had another room, but decided to stay in the smaller room because by then we had already unpacked and were busy exploring this truly great and hospitable city. Moreover it was disappointing that we ended paying the same amount for this smaller and not so comfortable room - but this is something I intend to take up with the hotel after our return to our home.
Another disappointment was the hotel's outrageous rate for Internet access ... we had expected that a hotel like this as the most natural thing in the world would provide free Internet access to their guests, but no such luck.
But aside from this we had a great stay - and nothing beats the Handlery's location right next to Union Square with easy access to the downtown section, Chinatown and easy transportation opportunities to all other parts of the city.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — confusion about reservation
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure to get the room type you want
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Henrik22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Spent two nights in the Handlery. This is an older hotel but you wouldn't know it from the interior. Very nicely remodeled. The hotel was excellent---great service, very clean and quiet, and right in the middle of all the shops in San Francisco. Plenty of great places to eat nearby. The trolley to Fisherman's Wharf and other locations was a few steps away. I got the Internet package that included parking. Parking is at a premium in SF and is very expensive. Driving around SF is not a pleasant experience so park the car and leave it. Also, be prepared to tip. The hotel has a bellman, valet parking, a concierge, etc. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Fender57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

Myself and some coworkers stayed at the Handlery during the Builders Convention and just loved the location. It was a few block walk to the convention center but, as long as it was not super hot, the walk was great. Unfortunately while we were there a heat wave hit the city and it was very hot and humid, but our rooms did have a/c.

I had a standard room and the decorating was newer and nice. The rooms are great, I had 2 double beds in mine and they were very comfy. I had no problem sleeping except for the family next door with the screaming baby at all hours of night and day. But other than the screaming baby I could not hear talking or tv from other rooms aside or above/below.

The room had a fridge to use, a coffe maker, nice tv with remote, plenty of lighting. I even had this nifty bench/chest of drawers in addition to the tv armoir. The closet was huge, almost a walk in size. It had a safe, lots of hangers, iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows, etc.

The bathroom was roomy and nice. The faucets were Grohe and regulated the temperature of the shower nicely when someone flushed the toilet in another room. The flow was good and strong enough to wash conditioner out of your hair. The Bathroom also had plenty of lighting and mirrors.

We did eat lunch our first day in the pub inside the hotel and the food was very good. I would recommend it. A tad pricey but well worth it. I also had room service the first morning and the eggs benedict left something to be desired and the potatos were cold but I was hungry so it didn't matter.

The location is perfect, you are right at Union Square. Shopping is a stones throw away. The club Ruby Skye is 1/2 block up and over. You are just in the middle of everything. Parking is at the hotel and our rate was about $20 or $18 per day since we were staying there.

The only thing I was dissapointed in was the front desk staff. I know we were there during a convention but some of the front desk staff were either not adequately trained, or were just not good at multitasking and working with group bookings. Some staff were excellent and all requests and issues were handled very well and quickly. Other staff, were bewildered looking and very slow.

I would definitely stay here again - the rate and location is too good to beat!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Untrained or confused front desk staff
  • Tips/Secrets — A standard room is great, you don't need the executive room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RumRunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Handlery. Staff very accomodating, and Jeff on front desk especially helpful. Great central location, within walking distance of great shops and restaurants. We stayed in a club class room - enormous! (see photos). Good size fridge in room. Lots of places to eat breakfast locally at a much more reasonable price than in the hotel's own restaurant located off the lobby. Good value for money. Also, close to the main hire car companies on Union Sqaure.

  • Liked — Great location.
  • Disliked — Breakfast not included.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a club class room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Handlery Hotel is all about service! From the time I pulled in my car was taken by valet, my luggage to my room and our front desk women was the best, SHIRLEY we love you! She gave us a wonderful room, corner room, with a view out both windows. She also sent us a fruit basket, which my son and I loved. Our Club room was a very good size and a very nice look, I booked this room under family plan which works great for this single mom on a budget, free parking, free one day transportation pass, free ice cream sundaes. I recommend this hotel highly to families and anyone. It has a great location, super clean rooms and wonderful service, like you are staying in someone's home! Macy's is just next storl, with The Cheesecake Factory Restaurant on top floor. Other great restaurants all around, the sales at Macy's and Old Navy were awesome. Wonderful shopping all around, union square just across the street, 3 starbucks in a few steps distance. It was "Spare the Air Day" both days we were there, so busses, cable cars free, but a bit crowded. I will stay here again and again, can't wait to go back, did not want to leave.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank cinderella4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Stayed at the Handlery following reviews on Tripadvisor. Great location in Union Square, and recommend stayimg in the Club rooms, as had a room on the 8th floor with a balcony overlooking the pool, and views of the city skyline. Room was large, well appointed and clean. The hotel has an excellent restaurant/diner attached 'The Daily Grill', which has a good menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really friendly, efficient service and steaks! Overall a great place to stay in Union Square in the centre of SF.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,530 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,380 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing