We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Our hotel of choice the past few visits to San Francisco has been the Handlery in Union Square. After trying out a couple other areas, we have found Union Square to be ideal for us: near to many museums, art galleries, fine restaurants, quaint neighborhoods (short walks to Chinatown, Nob Hill, North Beach, the Embarcadero, etc.). The rooms are decently appointed, but nothing special. We used the pool & the business center. The concierge was helpful. Main drawback was expensiveness. True, it IS summer tourist season, and we did stay on the weekend, but we never paid so much for a hotel....OR the parking. Considerably more than we paid in NYC on our 2 visits there this year. Would return here again, but not on a weekend.

Room Tip: You might not want to stay near the elevators or vending/ice machines. Noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbackBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    1,507
    523
    162
    72
See reviews for
847
1,393
116
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

we stayed here when we arrived in san fransico and at the end of our holiday . this hotel is very clean very good rooms and the staff are very friendly.the hotel is located right next to the square very central. there is a bar a few doors away called lefty's its a well known bar good entertainment Frank plays the keyboard at the weekend and always has a crowd around him very funny and welcoming . if you continue to the right you come to the main shopping part turn right and walk to the bottom where you can catch the famous cable cars they take you right to fishermans warf . when you come out the hotel to the left and left again you will find all the car rental companys 5 mins walk all in all a great hotel and perfect location we will stay again

Room Tip: we were given a front facing room you could hear if there were a happy crowd but nothing to concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

If you're a first time visitor to San Francisco and don't mind to spend a little bit extra. It's close to everything! Shopping, transport and landmarks.

The reception staff, concierge and bellmen are always so friendly and incredibly helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and well worth the price. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alecia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We are a family of four (kids are 13 and 10) and we stayed here for 4 nights in August. Before booking we found it hard to find a decent looking hotel in SF and finally booked this through the British Airways website.
We got the BART from SF airport and then it was about a 10 minute walk to the hotel.
Location: in a word amazing! I don't think we could have picked anywhere better. Union Square is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. You are also right in the heart of the shopping district and close to Macy's, Westfield, Walgreen's (handy for drinks, snacks and lovely fresh fruit) and all the other shops. We walked to most places, but did take the tram to Fishermans Wharf. We also had tickets for baseball and walked down to the AT&T stadium, which took us about 20 minutes.
Our room: we were in a room with 2 queen beds in the old part of the hotel. The beds were lovely and comfy. The room itself was quite small with not too much space for our clothes. We also had no view at all, just a frosted window that faced a wall. However, we don't go to hotels to sit in the room, so it was fine for what we needed.
Breakfast: we had breakfast for 2 included in our price. We were given vouchers, so we just used them for the whole family until they ran out. The breakfast was very nice and service was good. We also ate dinner in the hotel one evening and that was very nice. Again, the service was excellent.
If we were going back to SF we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week road trip around California/Arizona/Nevada. The hotel's location is perfect and very close to cable cars and buses. We had a pleasant surprise upon check-in when we were given vouchers for free breakfast. We had 2 interconnecting rooms in the 'historic' section. These were beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. We requested a rollaway bed and this arrived promptly with no extra charge. The pool is lovely and this was a real bonus in a city centre hotel.

It's the staff that make this hotel really stand out. They cannot do enough for you and special thanks to bellmen Hermie and Victor who looked after our luggage for a few hours after we checked out, and arranged a good deal for us in a Mercedes back to the airport.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the historic section have 2 windows so are very bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We chose the Handlery Union Square for our first visit in San Francisco in august 2014.
The location was perfect to explore SF by bus, by tram our with our legs (even with children) ... and relax even if the weather was pretty fresh ;-)
I just would like to highlight the huge Service oriented mindset of the staff and the Management of this hotel. That's part of the rare place where an important issue for you can find its solution smoothly.
Congrats and thank you again for our pleasant stay among you.

Room Tip: Côté rue (Geary St ou O'Farrell St)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lderhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonner_ward@msn.com
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

An excellent small hotel, centrally located near Union Square, major and minor specialty stores, and good restaurants. The prices, services, internal dining, and rooms were all satisfactory. We had not anticipated having either a swimming pool or fitness center, but the hotel had both and both were well-used. We strongly recommend getting a room overlooking the pool to avoid the street noise on Geary Street which is one of the busiest streets due to its function as a thoroughfare and proximity to theaters. We travel to the City frequently to visit friends and family and, if we don't choose to stay in Tiburon to avoid the traffic and parking problems of the City, we will certainly return to The Handlery. Oh, the highlight of the hotel is its concierge desk, could not be more helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#73 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#37 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#40 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#51 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing